How to protect car from thief that is seldom used

Mouse

HI,

Creating a post for my friend. She just registered and thus will not be able to start a new thread.

Thank you.

I am kinda of worried after reading a post about car missing in a MSCP. My ride is a OPC n I only drove it during the weekend. meaning that from Mon - fri, I actually left it in the upper decks of my MSCP which is quite far away from me.

Qns:

it will be too stressful n torturing for me to go to my mscp n check on my car every night.

Is there any ways (eg. equipment like wheel lock etc etc) that I can use to protect my car from thief?

Thanks in advance

I dun think those GSM/phone alerts type alarm is useful cos I have seen friends whom kenna false alarms quite a few times.

Edited by Trinity

2 way FM paging car alarm lor... a few car forum got group buys mah.. try fit jazz/ SG honda club lipsrsealed.gif

2 way paging tio si.. some1 molested ur car, it will light up and vibrate one time on ur transponder, car will flash signal lights twice warning.

2nd time kena (if u neber reset) tio si go into alarm mode.. signal light flash, siren sound.

-----

false alarm cannot b help one. loooo # 1, alway treat every alarm as a reel alarm.

loooo #2 - if it is false alarm, read loooo # 1

wat u do , the thief oso can drive away ur car . unless park infront ur house put few dog surr ur car . no thief is dare to drive away .

Ya cheaper by the years. Last time $400 - $500,now $2xx can get liao.

2 way is useless if u r far away from the car or enclose area whereby the frequency is dead.Or u go to work and leave the transponder at home.

False alarm can be a Harley, bassy exhaust. No need to rush down to check [laugh]

nvm one.. false alarm if u set as "mute" will only hv flashing lights to warn assailant. if not mute then siren will keep on gg endlessly.

obviously you hv not witness how cars r repossessed. steering locks r definitely useless. once the front wheels r lifted up and slide over a running pair of wheels, the car can be push out of the parkinglot and turned ard easily. then lifted over and clamped to the tow truck.

all done in under 30 mins.

why your MSCP so far one? walk 15mins might be further than walking to a bus stop..

maybe can buy a quick release boss-kit.. take our ur steering when not using =P

Not sure,maybe thief can cut portion of the steering to let loose the lock.

Mr Bean one better,take out whole steering [idea]

ok..maybe I have over stated my walking distance but it is definately more than 5mins +..probably about 10mins.

My car comes with a immobiliser..i heard that it is kinda of useless, am I right?

car is seldom used or thief is seldom used? [lipsrsealed][:p]

for rims, buy lock nuts

for car, get a huge steering wheel lock

keep all valuables from sight, if your HU (radio) can remove the faceplate, do so.

add an alarm system with a bright blinking red light to deter breakins

get solar films, as they are shatter proof

i guess, beyond that, don't wash the car and leave it dirty. [flowerface]

... once the front wheels r lifted up and slide over a running pair of wheels, the car can be push out of the parking lot and turned ard easily. then lifted over and clamped to the tow truck.

So there's no foolproof way to prevent your can from being stolen. [sweatdrop]

But there are ways to make it harder right? e.g. park head in first if yours is a front wheel drive and back in if rear wheel drive? Steering lock can make your car less attractive than the one next to it - for car thieves without a truck.

Anyways we all got insurance which covers some of the loss - unfortunately not all.

Maybe the best is don't own a car. (The second best is to own a car which is less attractive than the others e.g. rusting bonnet, dented boot or cracked windscreen [laugh] )

tat's wat the repossess BMW did. head it.. they just jack up the front will, slide trolley under it. then the rear ones. and soon, entire car can slide out of the lot.