Colossus Neutral Newbie August 3, 2008 Share August 3, 2008 Hey hey... cool here... I test drove two cars before buying the GT. A few yeses Yes you r right, FD2 is indeed a better car with better engine to gear match. Yes Lancer is loud and noisy. Yes Lancer start off 0-40 is slow Yes Lancer is more sturdy than FD2 Yes Lancer has more trim than civic Yes Lancer is slower than FD2 So enuff for pple not to buy GT? I doubt so... I suggest anyone to go and test and feel the two cars before making a choice. To me, price to level of trim is the most important factor at this point of time... so what's yours? But I have also seen a long thread on complaints for the FD2. forgot where but enough for me to worry about should I even consider the FD2. Why I got the GT? $$ and level of trim as compared to FD2. Even my friend who is driving a markX is envy with the number of "stuffs" in my GT(inclu sunroof). I don mind the 1s delay. If I want a fast car, these two cars will not even be in my list. Cheers ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Watwheels Supersonic August 3, 2008 Share August 3, 2008 which is faster? I know the answer shld be FD2....but really is that so? Why? Does reaching your destination 1sec or 1 minute faster win u a trophy? Or is it your ego at play? What's the point? There's always a faster car. U can see in the news young drivers suffer the consequences for driving fast, in return we everyday drivers also suffer on increases of insurance premiums. Thank you very much. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Drive_carcar Clutched August 3, 2008 Share August 3, 2008 I was torn between FD and Lancer EX GT for a time. In the end I bough the FD because of the flat floor for rear passenger. But then I do believe I would be equally happy with either. And I'm glad for you too, that you got the ride that you really want... your's is the GT manual right? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Wrex Neutral Newbie August 3, 2008 Share August 3, 2008 (edited) which is faster? I know the answer shld be FD2....but really is that so? Strange, you comparing a FD2 (CTR) with a Lancer EX GT? though both are 2Ls but are class apart. Edited August 3, 2008 by Wrex Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Drive_carcar Clutched August 3, 2008 Share August 3, 2008 It's not about reaching destination 1 sec or 1 min faster to win a trophy. There's are some situations that I find having a faster car is all good. One such situation is filtering into the expressway. Having enough power helps to merge into the traffic successfully with less stress, and probably safer, and without disrupting the flow of traffic. Another situation is it helps to avoid being trapped beside a speeding heavy vehicle. In the expressway, the only safe option is usually to overtake it as soon and as quickly as possible, and as soon as the road straightens up, you want to get up and go. So although speed isn't all important, having that little bit more speed certainly doesn't hurt in the abovementioned situations. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Xspace 1st Gear August 3, 2008 Share August 3, 2008 Welly unporfessional wor... At least, my sibei-chio SE still tell the truth, etc... foo foo sound? i heard a whirring sound when i floor the pedal during the test drive... very irritating. when i ask the SE, so unprofessional 'the car is like that one when its new' den when 1 of my passenger commented not very powerful(torque) considering its a 2L car, SE replied 'cuz got 4 adult passengers mah, heavy' wah liao wanna kena slap mannn Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Xspace 1st Gear August 3, 2008 Share August 3, 2008 Ur is 2.0L? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Patience Clutched August 3, 2008 Author Share August 3, 2008 no la....the reason why i started this thread is becuz i'm curious why will two 2L cars have such a big (dunno wats the actual diff amt) difference in performance. for a newbie like me...i will expect all 2L cars of the same category to perform equally. That being said, i expect fd2, lancer GT, M3 2.0, sylphy 2L, bmw320 etc to have equal performance.... so i'm trying to find out the ans and NOT trying to boost my ego. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Patience Clutched August 3, 2008 Author Share August 3, 2008 so whats the truth? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Drive_carcar Clutched August 3, 2008 Share August 3, 2008 No lah.. it's a 1.8L... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Espire 1st Gear August 3, 2008 Share August 3, 2008 The answer is no loh. Jus like laptop... Even laptop using exactly same CPU with same bus speed but from different companies perform differently. Not to even mention cars have different engines for different make. Hope that clear your doubt. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Xspace 1st Gear August 3, 2008 Share August 3, 2008 1. Caused by the CVT, muffler, and reeving... 2. Yes, it's heavy No-Duck and str8 forward answer from a very frank SE (plus Chio) Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Xspace 1st Gear August 3, 2008 Share August 3, 2008 Okays... Seriously, I prefer to drive a Civic... Especially the 2.0L one Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Drive_carcar Clutched August 3, 2008 Share August 3, 2008 Oh yah... the 2L is And if you get the manual... Drag all the way up to 5k rpm... then you know what is power. Even with 1.8L, dragging all the way up to 5K is quite an experience.... BTW... mine is a good old fashion manual lah. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Xspace 1st Gear August 3, 2008 Share August 3, 2008 yeah man... I test drove the 2.0L Manual and harper on the tot for welly long time... Even before I churn out the full power, I have finish that stretch of road... Damn shioks... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mzrmazda3 6th Gear August 4, 2008 Share August 4, 2008 You said: "Another thing to note is that FDs pricing is always more or less at the same range but for Lancer Ex, it seems to fluctuate a lot " Since about end of last year, KM seems to have adopted sales strategy of having published list prices which are fairly steady, although there are fluctuations in COE prices. Then they offer a "promotional" discount, perhaps from $1k to $3k or more, which amount depends on changes in COE prices in previous bidding exercise and the popularity of the specific models. This actually makes it less transparent and more tricky, and may imply possibility that a buyer may be quoted different actual list prices by different SEs! So potential buyers better ask a few SEs what is the actual list price before discussing discounts for bank loans, insurance, etc from that list price. See: http://www.mycarforum.com/forum/gforum.cgi?post=2466559 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mzrmazda3 6th Gear August 4, 2008 Share August 4, 2008 Dont waste time on FD2................straight to Civic Type Rer If my pocket allows, definately Mai Tu Liao Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Roythc Neutral Newbie August 4, 2008 Share August 4, 2008 Civic FD2 [laugh] Lancer EX2L ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...