Weiming 1st Gear October 20, 2008 Share October 20, 2008 You should write in to LTA with your poll result and see if they will listen to you. At the end of the day, the poll result here is based on a small sample population that is statistically inconclusive. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Patcheon Neutral Newbie October 20, 2008 Share October 20, 2008 (edited) The choices for the vote is bias. IT basically only allows people that agrees with "Yes" to vote. Other choices are either for the undecided or making fun of the "No" vote. Btw, I just cycled to LTA to pay my car's road tax. Also, don't assume cyclist are poor and unable to own a car, got a friend that properly owns more cars than most of us in our lifetime. (>15 cars) Yet he rides a $10k bicycle regularly too. Edited October 20, 2008 by Patcheon Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Boyboy 1st Gear October 20, 2008 Share October 20, 2008 YOu are?Wow... what color is your favorite spandex? Purple? sorry dude, black. got one which was ripped in an accident. sexy leh, u like? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Boyboy 1st Gear October 20, 2008 Share October 20, 2008 aiyah, he's trying to be a joker. don't fall into that trap. very wolverine-ish. but without the fantastic funny photoshop. this kind no standard. Napoot! go do some good photoshop gags with cyclist and contribute again Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Joajas Neutral Newbie October 20, 2008 Share October 20, 2008 I am not going to choose a YES or NO in this case. But I would like to share an incident that I came across sometime months back. I was driving that day, when nearing (~200m away) a junction, I saw a cyclist on a road bike, with his right hand out stretched indicating that he wants to filter to right turning lane to make a right turn. Drivers and motorcyclist started slowing down and let the cyclist move into the right turn lane. The cyclist make a point to turn his head to check every time he cross from one lane to the next. That is the only time when I felt that "Sharing the Road" is practiced by all road users. Hopefully one day everyone can see beyond the point of who pays road tax and who don't. If only everyone will take a point to look out and take care of other road users. If everyone has this mindset, we will see a drop in erp prices, drop in insurance premiums, drop in accident statistics and drop in fatal road accident rates. For now, I can only just HOPE. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Riceracer Clutched October 20, 2008 Share October 20, 2008 How naive for one to think that road tax contributions are enough to build and maintain all the roads in a country. Road tax is only one of the many taxes we pay to the goverment. Besides what make this joker thinks cyclists don't pay taxes. They are many high tax payers who are cyclists too. There are many cyclists who pay much more taxes in a year than many low lifes here pay in their life time. I wonder what these murtha f**k**s will ask next? A separate lane for motorcycle, trucks, cars >10yrs, cars <2L. I think they might as well ask for an apartheid society. keke.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Madsumm 1st Gear October 20, 2008 Share October 20, 2008 Nice one. However, there are as many black sheeps as those who are good ones. I for one is an X-country biker... not much for road as SG roads are not built for cycling. This is what I see... a lot of times: 1) I see a lot of "ang moh" riders who ride abreasts.. not 2 abreast..but 3! So in fact they took up about 1.5 lanes and weaving.... Goodness.. its only a 2 lane road lah.... 2) The overhead highway from Keppel to West coast highway is meant for heavy transport vehicles and other vehicles.. i see 2 riders frequently on it... btw.. there isn't much of a "spare" lane in either side of the highway plus there are huge trucks going there. For the above.. I can only say its suicidal... some more, these people are pretty "rude"... shout at you for being behind them??? think they though I'm "tailgating" them.. but in fact I'm trying to stay clear of them. Darn... really feels lousy looking at those butts and force to look at their butts for sometime.. Rgds Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Gadgeter 2nd Gear October 22, 2008 Share October 22, 2008 if their 'timing' top ride on the highway is constant. perhaps you should give uncle sam a call. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
inlinesix Hypersonic October 22, 2008 Share October 22, 2008 Pasir Panjang stretch is semi expressway. So, it is grey area. According to this fellow from Safe Cycling Taskforce (cannot rem his name), TP may/may not ask the rider to exit. Anyway, rider(s) riding on it is . Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Gbsm Neutral Newbie October 22, 2008 Share October 22, 2008 For radio, tv, pets a license is needed and many more I believe.. But how come a cyclists dont need anything! BIkes should ON the head lights all the time and helmet is needed, then why cant a cyclists then.. a) Should have atleast something registered with the Towncouncil as a "singapore valid registered cyclists". b) On Road, Should Should have blinking lights even in day time.. c) On Road, Should wear helmet. d) On Road, Should get down from cycle when they cross pedestrian crossing (Most dangerous) On pavements b,c,d may be removed.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Gadgeter 2nd Gear October 22, 2008 Share October 22, 2008 not trying to be bias, but most likely to be FT riding. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Curahee 1st Gear October 22, 2008 Share October 22, 2008 U mention health reason, Is it the air pollution in spore road? I notice when u all cycle along the road, those big truck will zoom past u all and smoke u all with the black smoke, every breath u all take is poisonous. i jog along the street at night, i also cannot take it, almost every breath is car exhaust smell. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
inlinesix Hypersonic October 22, 2008 Share October 22, 2008 U r not bias but spot on. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Scoots 3rd Gear October 22, 2008 Share October 22, 2008 (edited) To add to your list: e) Pass Basic Theory and have a valid cyclist license (so as to make sure that they know all traffic rules) f) Have the bicycle registered with a number plate (for unique identification) g) Required to buy vehicle insurance (in cases of accidents) Edited October 22, 2008 by Scoots Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
inlinesix Hypersonic October 22, 2008 Share October 22, 2008 The crux is there is no enforcement by the authority. How u heard any cyclist being fine $20 (d maximum fine under the sub-legislation)? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Scoots 3rd Gear October 22, 2008 Share October 22, 2008 (edited) If they want to be treated as road users, I think they should also be regulated with the same level of rules and punishments as road users... that max $20 is definitely not much of a deterant Edited October 22, 2008 by Scoots Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Gbsm Neutral Newbie October 22, 2008 Share October 22, 2008 True, Once I paid $20 for not using pedestrain for crossing.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Weesern Clutched October 22, 2008 Share October 22, 2008 on a few saturday mornings, groups of cyclists will be cycling on East Coast Park service road. And they love to cycle side by side. Once I horned at this guy, he looked back and continue cycling beside his friend!!! feel like knocking him over... All cyclists in this forum please teach your friends who cycle to know how to use the road... Cyclists are suppose to keep to the left of the road in one single file and dismount when crossing junction.. The Government do not want to do anything to this until more cyclists are killed... We can save a few by telling friends that cycle... ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...