40K - Service

Skoda_Man

Folks, I just did as the above mentioned..... YIPEE!!! Happy Man

Change the following

- Engine Oil & Filter

- ATF & Filter

- Spark Plug

- Coolant (change water) - Need just 1 Litre for the entire change.

Result - Wah lau, after the ATF change, gear change is smoother. Really happy.

Oh also, change battery also to MF type 55AH, at another location.

Only thing not change is my Brake Fluid.

Just to update you guys what kind of fluid to use, here is what i find out

1. Engine oil - Use whatever you like

2. ATF - Use Original VW ATF hor. But now i use Yacco, cause get from JTA.

3. Coolant - Use original VW coolant. R12.

4. Brake Fluid - Dot 4 ONLY.

5. Spark Plug - Anything as long as meet specs.

Did I miss out anything?

hi skodaman, where did u do the servicing? at Servo?

I am scheduled to do my 20k at CzechAuto next Saturday 0830hrs... anyone wanna come along?

Sir, on the battery, becareful about not getting the right AH. It's better to buy something of 60AH or better. Was told that by Servotronics. This was confirmed by the AA van. 55AH doesn't hold enough "charge".

Oh no... change liao....

I will monitor and see how. Maybe change after 18 months. Hope by then I got money to buy the Stinger battery.

Hi Skodaman,

What's with your battery?

Did you change because its time to change or the battery died on you?

How do you know it's time to change battery (by mileage, by duration or poor starting)?

regards

Greg

Hi Fabia man,

Mine is due too. CzechAuto is the new dealer from Exclusiv? How much they charging. Call Servo they mention S$108.

Regards,

hi skodaman, where did u do the servicing? at Servo?

I am scheduled to do my 20k at CzechAuto next Saturday 0830hrs... anyone wanna come along?

Me change battery because it is time to change. After almost close to 2 years with the old battery I decided to change it.

Lifespan of battery is about 2 years or so for normal usage. Faulty charging system and heavy ICE can kill it more easily.

Furthermore when I get my car I thought mine is MF, so never top up water until like 6 months later. Thus when I top up for the very first time, I need one and a half bottle of battery water!!!! Thus I guess my battery will be a little damage by then.

Hard to tell you how to to judge how the battery will die on you, likely is the poor start, I guess. Mileage have no guage on the battery life, if you always start the car travel very short distance, battery also over-work cause the start consume a lot of current and before it is full charged, you reach your destination and cut the engine.

My batt died 9 mths after collecting the car... not too steady huh?

Yes, bought a higher Ah then the stock.

Stock Ah is 60... I got a 66 instead [cool] ... didnt really fit the casing for the batt too well but at least can close the casing.

Best to get a higher Ah of course... but read somewhere too much higher is redundant. Most not get a lower Ah for fear of losing the battery earlier than expected.

For more info on Batteries:

http://www.mycarforum.com/forum/gforum.cgi?post=8542

Hi Peter Lee,

I dunno how much Czech Auto will charge me. To me, its a goodwill visit to get to know them better and hope they do a better job than their predecessor.

$108 is very cheap quote from Servo - that is if they follow the Mfrer recommended servicings for the 20k. Because following that guideline, JTA quote to me was abt $200 plus and probably $300 plus if I use their oils etc.... Look at the servicing manual for the items required to be done for 20k... quite a lot of things to do leh.

Hi Fabia man,

Mine is due too. CzechAuto is the new dealer from Exclusiv? How much they charging. Call Servo they mention S$108.

Regards,

Hi Fabiaman,

Appreciate if you could share how your servcing went at Czech Auto after it is done..... at the rate that my car is travelling up and down singapore, mine should be due soon as well ..... My current mileage is 18K plus plus already. Thanks heaps!

spotty!

Know what? Most Fabia lays in the port for a long long time before they are delivered to owners.

I came to know that at one time, almost all Fabias when collect from port will need another battery to jump start. Maybe that's why yours last nine months only.

Spotty, no problemo, I will post a field report here after Saturday. Better do this in the closed forum as Czech Auto should know by now this forum where Skoda owners have gathered. Sensitive things better keep it confi....

So far so good in my experience with them...

Tks SKodman... yes, i was aware that the Fabias was inthe port in Apr/May period when JTA launched it - ie. the 1st batch of 30 which Carbine, Peter Lee, myself and some of us got (w/o the central locks and rear hatch door "knob") ... those were probably the hay days of JTA where they brought in 30 Fabias just like that to keep stock and sell.... meaning that if you wanted a guaranteed COE Fabia, they will bid high so that you sure get it in ONE bid... since they already have it in stock...

However, I believe most of us only collected the car in July or end June, hence the weakness of the batteries - unless these people start the car occassionally to charge the batt.

you got to be kidding me. Do you think they bother to start it once in a while?

You were with me when they drove a Green Fabia to be delivered right? See how bad the condition is....

Heee.... yah lor, you are right abt that... thats why my batt died so early and somemore got to buy myself as JTA was half dead when my batt died.

know what piss me off??? KNN they are suppose to give me a MF battery but they didn't. Me forget to check when collecting my car. GGRRRrrrr!!!!!!

Huh.... MF battery? Special arrangement har? I would have imagined all stock car comes with common batt.

Anyway one of the supplier of batts to JTA bad-mouthed JTA when I went to them to replace my batt... the minute he saw my car, he told me I need not tell him the specs I need as he knows all abt the car.