Timberwolf Neutral Newbie November 30, 2008 Share November 30, 2008 Just bought this Meguiar's NXT Generation Tech Wax 2.0 when i read about it. First time washing my car myself (Been using the car wash near my place all this while), after i apply the wax and let it sit for about 10 mins i can't seem to wipe the "oily" layer off. Used alot of pressure still cannot Is it because i apply too much? Or i left it to dry for too long? I used the sponge that came with the bottle to apply the wax then after that i try to wipe it off with a dry cloth. The sun came out while i was washing the car maybe it got too hot and the wax dry up What is the correct method for waxing my car? Me noob at detailer got alot to learn from the bros here. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nicholas1986 November 30, 2008 Share November 30, 2008 the oily layer is fine. like those showroom car standard. it is the white stuff u see that needs to be wipe off Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Diamond2006 1st Gear December 1, 2008 Share December 1, 2008 Hi, I have been using Klasse AIO and SG for quite a while liao... but recently I feel that though Klasse SG is able to protect my paint, but it does not provide smooth/oily touch after application. And this is compare to my other friend's ride, whom he is using another brand (Not Meguairs) wax. Since my KSG is finishing soon, I am thinking of switching to either Meguairs #21 or its NXT G.Tech Wax. I have been using its Gold Class's liquid wax for my previous ride and it causesd my wiper to jump during raining days...thus I do have some concern on using Tech Wax... Which one is able to provide better protection, and yet provide a oily/smooth feel? #21 or Tech Wax? Will Tech Wax causes my wiper to jump? Can u advise me? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Davc Neutral Newbie December 1, 2008 Share December 1, 2008 If now you can apply Klasse and obtain good even results (especially the SG dry fast) I think you should stick to Klasse. If Singapore is out of stock and you want to order from USA I think we can share. Ha Ha. If you want to get a smooth feel on the surface, apply another layer of carnauba wax on top of the SG. If you ask me which carnauba wax to go for? At S$120-130 price bracket, you can get Swissvax Onyx or Zymol Titanium. If you are not going to spend so much, I have half a bottle of #21, can sell you cheap. Also the Hi-Tech Yellow wax #26 almost full. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Four4s 1st Gear December 1, 2008 Share December 1, 2008 (edited) Your wipers are jumping? I think this is normal if you wax your windscreen and the wax deteriorates over time. If you don't want them to jump, strip the glass of wax. which wax is your friend using? If you like how it feels on his car, ask him to provide you with a small sample to try... I should think he would oblige. And if you do like it, just get the same product lor.. seeing/trying is believing. Most carnauba waxes will provide some slickness (oily feel) after application, but that slickness only lasts around 3 weeks in our weather. Edited December 1, 2008 by Four4s Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hishercar Clutched December 1, 2008 Author Share December 1, 2008 hi how come when i use nxt after the application there is tiny lumpy feeling on the paint surface thanks Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Diamond2006 1st Gear December 1, 2008 Share December 1, 2008 Does u means Klasse will be a better choice than Meguairs in certain ways? Can u explain in more details? How much you are willingly to let go for #21? can PM me Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Diamond2006 1st Gear December 1, 2008 Share December 1, 2008 No. I did not wax the windcreen lah.... other ppl claim I wax the roof too think liao, thus the wax is being washed onto e windscreen... ..but it seems I am the only ONE who is having this problem... My friend is using amway wax...he is using lot of strength to wipe the wax and I sweat for him Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nicholas1986 December 1, 2008 Share December 1, 2008 the tiny bumps are dirt that has sticked onto your surface. You may want to try claying it out. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Maddriver 4th Gear December 1, 2008 Share December 1, 2008 Just bought this Meguiar's NXT Generation Tech Wax 2.0 when i read about it. First time washing my car myself (Been using the car wash near my place all this while), after i apply the wax and let it sit for about 10 mins i can't seem to wipe the "oily" layer off. Used alot of pressure still cannot Is it because i apply too much? Or i left it to dry for too long? I used the sponge that came with the bottle to apply the wax then after that i try to wipe it off with a dry cloth. The sun came out while i was washing the car maybe it got too hot and the wax dry up What is the correct method for waxing my car? Me noob at detailer got alot to learn from the bros here. I guess the oily you are referring to is streaking..There are few posibility that causes streaking..Not oily NXT..Most products do cause streaking if do not apply properly.. Since NXT is an LSP..You should have a cleaner before it..I believe the applicator given is foam rite..The surface may not be properly prep and NXT does not contain cleaning properties in it..Do a good prep first..This should give you the best result from NXT. Few tips for application.. 1) Use mf type of applicators for LSP 2) try to dam applicators with a bit of water before application 3) avoid hot surface..( Easiest way to get streaking) 4) Always apply "Thin" layers..As long you see hazy effect will do.. 5) Use a proper MF cloth to remove LSP.. If you have streaking ..either spray some water droplet or QD and wipe..This will help you to reduce streaking Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Davc Neutral Newbie December 3, 2008 Share December 3, 2008 At the same time you Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Davc Neutral Newbie December 3, 2008 Share December 3, 2008 (edited) The #21 still have abuot half a bottle. S$10 dollars I can sell it. Also have a lot of #135 you can refill we just pro rate it. NXT Tech Wax Spay almost full S$12 dollars can let go too. Have some left over NXT car wash if you buy my items above can give you as well. If interested PM me, I bring the stuff like garage sale. I have too many products now no place to put. For intermediate (more than quick detailer, less than total makeover) maintenance of Carnauba wax we have cleaner wax. In this way you remove the old wax, remvoe some light swirls, and then have a thin layer of wax. Then you can top up with whatever carnauba that you like. Easy and fast. But for sealants, say you want to remove it in one step like above mentioned step. Only Klasse AIO i see is one of the few that does it in one step, ready for the Sealant Glaze. Of course we can use a buffer with something like Swirl Free Polish #82 but in long term you might be removing too much clear coat. "Cleaner Wax" for sealant this is.....hence I say it is special in some way. So far I think it can never go wrong with Klasse + a layer of carnauba.....as good as you can get....but takes long time.....doesn't make sense to do it commercially unless customer willing to pay S$500-600 and above for one car and do it for at least one day (including prep). Not the material alone,.... the time.... Edited December 3, 2008 by Davc Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Wuluikia Neutral Newbie December 3, 2008 Share December 3, 2008 (edited) If I does not matters to you why post. Edited December 3, 2008 by Wuluikia Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Davc Neutral Newbie December 3, 2008 Share December 3, 2008 Some people prefers their wax to be ZERO abrasive because they have prep the surface very well already or they have very sensitive clear cloat which are soft. Spent so much time prep carefully you will not want to put anything that's suspected to have abrasive. But don't think Tech Wax will have a problem because I don't have a problem with the tech wax. It's just that AUTOGEEK mentioned about abrasive in the content, so I highlighted to the other guy who asked about difference with the 3M paste was which again autogeek says has no abrasive. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
The01 Neutral Newbie December 4, 2008 Share December 4, 2008 Sorry for the ignorance! I tot most, if not all waxes don't have any abrasive compound in their products. Could anyone kindly confirm. Cheers! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Westender Neutral Newbie December 8, 2008 Share December 8, 2008 Was at Carrefour today, offer on techwax 2.0 going for $32 and Ultimate QD at $18. Is is the price ok? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nicholas1986 December 8, 2008 Share December 8, 2008 thats quite a good buy. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Westender Neutral Newbie December 8, 2008 Share December 8, 2008 I intent to polish my car this weekend. Below are the stuff I have and the steps I hope is correct. 1. wash 2. clay 3. soft99 cleaner wax 4. autoglym super resin polish 5. techwax 2.0 Is the steps correct or too much lioa? ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...