S.T Dupont Lighter

Rochelle

hehs, i am just a social smoker~ i know still smoker, but i dont smoke alot, armoa no smoke one, just the smell. so still ok, good for relaxing and promoting better blood circulation.

Yours can still "tink" ah???

Mine has already gone "thud" along time ago. Actually quite dissapointed in it.... the gold colour can tarnish and become orangy in some areas. [sly] So much for its quality. [rolleyes]

Bro, if like that, I'm super Chow Ah Beng.

At one time, I had 4 such Dupont lighters , haha.

I still use it to light my cigars but usually when indoors as it's a soft flame.

I simply love the *tink* ....hahah

There are different methods in lighting up your cigar. More importantly, you should try to avoid the flame touching your cigar. The best way to light a cigar, is to lit the cedar spill first then you light up the cigar. Or, you can also use a flameless lighter to light up your cigar. Otherwise, you can use a butane lighter. Do not use gasoline lighters, as it will impart a foul flavor to your smoke. It you need to use a matchstick, wait till the sulphur burn before you light up your cigar.

-_-

77th street...a shop selling youngster's clothings...got sell zippo lighters and refills.

Can find in far east or jurong point. Me sua ku too, dun know where else got the outlets...only know these 2 places...

Yes Duponts can and are used to light cigars.

I prefer soft flame becos it is more stylish and requires more skills to light a cigar with. some peopl prefer jet flame. Dupont also has jet flame lighters. They belong to extend series.

I can tell you are no cigar aficionado.

One should never use a Zippo (liquid fuel) to light cigars.

Liquid fuel lighters will taint the cigar.

Butane gas lighters are used becos butane is odorless and colorless and doesnt taint the aroma or taste of a cigar. Dupont lighters are butane gas. same as Davidoff, Cartier etc...

agree, medium for the soft flame is still quite strong, not easy to be blown out, but for the 'tink' sound, the guy commented my lighter still sound solid, any way to maintain the solid sound?

You mean you prefer the solid sound instead of the tink sound?

The fact is Dupont lighters are not specially made with a tink sound at the factory.

That is why when brand new , some duponts tink sharply and others less or dont.

When you buy your Dupont, test out the one with the sound you like before buying.

This ensures 100% satisfaction.

Take note that despite the Dupont being so very well made, if you open and close it thousands of times, the pin will bend and worse, break. Also if you drop it on a solid surface and it lands at a point where it shouldnt, it wont close well or it may lose its "tink"

Enjoy your Dupont

I tot you can simply adjust the screw to tune the sound. I cannot remember already, as I gave up mine long ago.

When I started smoking cigarette in early 1980's, I bought a Dupont lighter; it looks exactly the same as the one posted by the thread starter. I like the sound of the Dupont lighter, but given up cigarette long time, albeit I now still smoke occassionally. I then switch to pipes, and bought a Collibri lighter. This lighter is cute, the flame can tilt towards the pipe. Then, I find smoking pipes very troublesome, as I got to clean the pipe frequently. So, I started cigars and that was more than 10 years ago. I bought a Dunhill cigar lighter. Then, I recently bought one of those flameless lighters from OZ. This one is also cute, enable to switch from flameless to windproof and to ordinary flame, and is cheaper than the branded ones. I can use this outdoor for cigarette and cigars, and in difficult wind condition, esp when I am playing golf under stress. Over the past so many years, I wasted so much money on buying lighters. Now, I keep them for souvenirs, but not sure where I kept them.

Yours can still "tink" ah???

Mine has already gone "thud" along time ago. Actually quite dissapointed in it.... the gold colour can tarnish and become orangy in some areas. [sly] So much for its quality. [rolleyes]

Yes mine can still "tink"

I am left with 2 dupont now after selling away 2.

One is silver (gift from wife) engraved with my initials and the other is an "antique" model from the 80s which is gold plated with hardwood. Very unique but doesnt tink as sharply.

Same as yourself.... I too started smoking in the early 80s.... bought my one & only Dupont similar to the pic posted but gold in colour. Now its in a box somewhere......

Nope, can't adjust the sound. I has the pin changed once to get the sound back... but it lasted only a little while so decided to leave it as that. (pin change was not cheap)

Think I paid about $280 or thereabouts back then.... which was a princely sum. Wonder how much they cost nowadays. The refill seems to have gone up. It used to cost like $3 a pop.

Yes, you can somewhat "tune" the sound by adjusting the screw although it's not meant for that purpose. but if it doesnt "tink" it simply doesnt "Tink"

Are you keen on a box of aged H. Upmann Monarcas. Box date is 1998.

from my personal collection. I'm letting go at only $750.....

i prefer it with the light 'tink' sound, and i want to maintain the sound, dint notice the sound until the guy pointed it out to me~ how sad! mine 'tink' sharply =) have yet to dropped it once, touch wood! my friend's dupont dont have my 'tink' sound! i guess i am the lucky one to have received it as it was in original condition, except some minor minor scratches. still keeping it well. addicted to the 'tink' sound now. hehs.

its butane gas, not sure if 77th st has it, because my first stop for the lighter, i found what i need, and its very cheap too! maybe 77th st sells more expensive, hehs. thanks thug =)

are those cigars? can we have an appreciation sexxion? i've never tried cigars! wonders how is it like. sifu throttle, can teach can teach?