Solar Turbocharged November 29, 2008 Share November 29, 2008 Wanna share this lobang.. mods, if this is deem an advert (i'm not affiliated with them), please remove this thread. received this AA highway mag (i'm member), was pleasantly surprised that there are 4x $3 off coupons for $50 spent. in addition, showing the AA card, i'm entitled extra 5% on top of station (ie. 10%) discount at caltex. (the mag didn't mention until when though) in addition, caltex smile points can be earned. so, if u use the dividend card (5%), u can actually get near 15% off your petrol for me i use my stanchart debit card which already 10% off petrol purchase.. so, in total will be getting near 20% off so, this saving in a way offsets the membership cost, and while i get the usual AA benefits.. (for the time being, i'll switch from esso to caltex, until the promo ends ) those AA members who have the mag, its on page 38.. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
BoneStock 5th Gear November 29, 2008 Share November 29, 2008 yes, I saw that too. Most probably i will pass the coupons to my friend as I dont pump caltex Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Verve 1st Gear November 29, 2008 Share November 29, 2008 the stanchart debit card should already include the 5% stn discount. and i doubt you can enjoy both promotions simultaneously i.e aa card and stanchart. best to clarify. if like that all of us can get 20 - 30 percent off petrol liao. i think it should be aa card 5% + stn disc 5% and from there if net net got $50 then $3 off and then the net amt use dividend card 5% rebate so effective disc if pump $60 is $60 less 10% = $54 then less $3 = $51 5% rebate on $51 = $51 x 0.95 = $48.45 the effective disc is 19.25% but leychay because you cannot pump more than $60 or else effective disc drop plus you need to wait for rebate and etc. i rather forget about it need to bring coupon and etc. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Solar Turbocharged November 29, 2008 Author Share November 29, 2008 (edited) no, its on top of the station.. i've been using the stanchart for months already and they got no coorelation with AA http://www.standardchartered.com.sg/deposits/xtrasaver.html to add, this card is like the citibank div card.. they don't care which brand u pump, what discount u already use.. they only see the amount charged to their card Edited November 29, 2008 by Solar Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mikeyeo Clutched November 29, 2008 Share November 29, 2008 (edited) Wanna share this lobang.. mods, if this is deem an advert (i'm not affiliated with them), please remove this thread. received this AA highway mag (i'm member), was pleasantly surprised that there are 4x $3 off coupons for $50 spent. in addition, showing the AA card, i'm entitled extra 5% on top of station (ie. 10%) discount at caltex. (the mag didn't mention until when though) in addition, caltex smile points can be earned. so, if u use the dividend card (5%), u can actually get near 15% off your petrol for me i use my stanchart debit card which already 10% off petrol purchase.. so, in total will be getting near 20% off so, this saving in a way offsets the membership cost, and while i get the usual AA benefits.. (for the time being, i'll switch from esso to caltex, until the promo ends ) those AA members who have the mag, its on page 38.. Hi Solar, It is mentioned on page 39 of the A magazine that the promotion is valid until 31 Jan 2009 Edited November 29, 2008 by Mikeyeo Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Verve 1st Gear November 29, 2008 Share November 29, 2008 if thats true and you can get stn 5%, followed by aa card 5% follwed by Standard chartered 10% followed by aa voucher, that makes it a fantastic deal. the most conservative estimate will work out to be 23.6% !for $62 fuel spend (you pay $48) not to mention the points which will increase the disc. wonder why the petrol companies now so kind and charitable. maybe i mountain tortse but the best disc i got so far was the bukit timah station war and this beats that. can anyone verify that its true then i will go pump liao. dont want to switch caltex unless price really different. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Solar Turbocharged November 29, 2008 Author Share November 29, 2008 oh, i thought the coupon only valid till 31 jan, but never mention the extra 5% for AA card until when leh.. but anyway, good enough for me.. switch back to esso after that.. not really a fan for caltex either Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Solar Turbocharged November 29, 2008 Author Share November 29, 2008 stn 5% is fixed.. aa card 5% and voucher is a promo from aa, so these can also be used. as for stanchart, it is standalone, meaning it don't care what u have above.. similar to the citi dividend card, u can pump anywhere and get the discount. btw, forgot to add, there're conditions tied to the standchart. i already attached the link above.. u can go take a look. those with heaps of liquid cash doing nothing, can potentially get 15% off, on top of all the discounts on petrol. (of me, i could only qualify 10%) Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Cybertech 4th Gear November 29, 2008 Share November 29, 2008 You want to know why caltex so good giving out vouchers - becos their points system s__k after they revised it !!!!! Many have switch to other petrol c/o including me Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Picanto 3rd Gear November 29, 2008 Share November 29, 2008 well, their techron suppose to make your engine super duper clean. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Atlantis80 1st Gear November 29, 2008 Share November 29, 2008 agreed. it used to be $1 1 pt. then they change to $1.25 1 pt. and now they change to 1 lite 1 pt!! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Pisces69 6th Gear November 29, 2008 Share November 29, 2008 yes, I saw that too. Most probably i will pass the coupons to my friend as I dont pump caltex ================ I also got those coupons. I dont pump Caltex too. Anybody wants? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Pisces69 6th Gear November 29, 2008 Share November 29, 2008 if thats true and you can get stn 5%, followed by aa card 5% follwed by Standard chartered 10% followed by aa voucher, that makes it a fantastic deal. the most conservative estimate will work out to be 23.6% !for $62 fuel spend (you pay $48) not to mention the points which will increase the disc. wonder why the petrol companies now so kind and charitable. maybe i mountain tortse but the best disc i got so far was the bukit timah station war and this beats that. can anyone verify that its true then i will go pump liao. dont want to switch caltex unless price really different. ================== I take those "discounts" with a pinch of salt. I use Visa to pump Mobil/Esso. I saw somewhere can get 12% discount but when I pump, I calculate only got 8% discount lah. Just pump at the best discount u can get but they purposely make it very complicated to confuse the motorists. Very non-transparent is the usual way of doing biz in SG. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Pisces69 6th Gear November 29, 2008 Share November 29, 2008 Add Persil or Dynamo better. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Southpark2000 Neutral Newbie November 30, 2008 Share November 30, 2008 stn 5% is fixed.. aa card 5% and voucher is a promo from aa, so these can also be used. as for stanchart, it is standalone, meaning it don't care what u have above.. similar to the citi dividend card, u can pump anywhere and get the discount. btw, forgot to add, there're conditions tied to the standchart. i already attached the link above.. u can go take a look. those with heaps of liquid cash doing nothing, can potentially get 15% off, on top of all the discounts on petrol. (of me, i could only qualify 10%) Not sure.... Alas my tank is quite full.... If can I will try.... - Stn disc --> 5% - AA Card -- 5% - AA voucher --> $3 - HSBC disc --> 5% - HSBC rebate --> up to 2% Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Solar Turbocharged December 1, 2008 Author Share December 1, 2008 u can try with hsbc.. it still has extra 7% on top of the AA+Stn+Voucher. times like this... can save, save lah.. for me, boh brand loyalty one.. i stick with whoever that can give me the best deal Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Solar Turbocharged December 1, 2008 Author Share December 1, 2008 well, their techron suppose to make your engine super duper clean. i read somewhere that the techron although supposed to clean engine, the concentration/proportion from the pumps isn't enough to clean.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Wanderer Clutched December 1, 2008 Share December 1, 2008 I pumped Caltex in SG and JB. The thing is that the petrol in JB gives me a better mileage though it's 97, compared to 98 here. Oh well, probably it's my sudden adrenalin rush! ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...