Nullifi3d 4th Gear January 30, 2010 Author Share January 30, 2010 Old thread but still useful nonetheless. I'm going for my next round of ICT in July. In fact 2 sets of ICT, 1 HK 1 LK. And i'm about to graduate in June (fingers crossed) and next month starting new job. Is the deferment valid for those 3 months into a new job or 6 months? ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Grindcore888 Clutched January 30, 2010 Share January 30, 2010 that's when govt will proudly sent you ElderShield to wash away their hands off you (medically) ! "u die your own business liao !" so to speak is it confirmed that after 40 years NO ICT Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ngck 3rd Gear January 30, 2010 Share January 30, 2010 Let me revive this thread. I submitted my deferment request last week via the NS portal and got the rejection notice yesterday. I was trying my luck by using "New Employment" excuse but because by the time the ICT starts, I will already be 6 months into the job. In the pressure-cooked environment I am in, I am concerned that this disruption of my work will affect my performance as I lead a couple of projects, most with tight deadlines. I am now contemplating in getting my employer to help support my case. Another thing is the ICT comes 2 months before I turn 40, I take it that that is the milestone where all ICT will be stopped. What other avenues should I explore? Ask MP for help.... SAF hate it... but it works Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nolicense Turbocharged January 30, 2010 Share January 30, 2010 Ask MP for help.... SAF hate it... but it works yes, do what you can, its your right. ever hear of people doing ICT even when they are just 1 month from MR and the ICT is just to lobo? SAF cannot just let people who have not completed a cycle and about to MR to just skip it even when their camp's schedule is too pact and cannot fit the unit in for training. they just follow law and make sure everyone gets the sh1t and get it in equal amounts. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Green_carnation Clutched January 30, 2010 Share January 30, 2010 (edited) For Peng Kia is after 40 years old Boh ICT liao even if you never hit the requirement of 7HK & 3HK i love that! i m 2 yrs away.. and i hvent done any HK or LK! i hope to keep that record till 40 yrs old.. ORD is 96 nvr call me till 2007!!! then 2007 trf unit.. started to call.. Just deferred successfully the latest one coming up in Feb dis yr aft CNY.. Edited January 30, 2010 by Green_carnation Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Acieed 1st Gear January 30, 2010 Share January 30, 2010 NCO if key appointment holder also can be extended. e.g. CSM, RSM. Officer is till 50 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kensk Clutched January 30, 2010 Share January 30, 2010 Let me revive this thread. I submitted my deferment request last week via the NS portal and got the rejection notice yesterday. I was trying my luck by using "New Employment" excuse but because by the time the ICT starts, I will already be 6 months into the job. In the pressure-cooked environment I am in, I am concerned that this disruption of my work will affect my performance as I lead a couple of projects, most with tight deadlines. I am now contemplating in getting my employer to help support my case. Another thing is the ICT comes 2 months before I turn 40, I take it that that is the milestone where all ICT will be stopped. What other avenues should I explore? Probably look for your MP. It is election time ...so they may be more on the ball. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ngck 3rd Gear January 30, 2010 Share January 30, 2010 yes, do what you can, its your right. ever hear of people doing ICT even when they are just 1 month from MR and the ICT is just to lobo? SAF cannot just let people who have not completed a cycle and about to MR to just skip it even when their camp's schedule is too pact and cannot fit the unit in for training. they just follow law and make sure everyone gets the sh1t and get it in equal amounts. chief clerk need to cover his/her ass too..... incase somebody complain why some can miss 1 ICT why sacrifice their future for yours? so you come back lah.... so all get equal shiit as you said Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ngck 3rd Gear January 30, 2010 Share January 30, 2010 Probably look for your MP. It is election time ...so they may be more on the ball. yeah... my friend want to attend sister wedding also can defer 5 years ago when near election time whole ICT know because ICT commander come out and brief everyone.... "Gentlemen! Please Please Please dun go to the MP and create trouble.... 1st time deferment kena reject, come back to camp and talk to me and chief clerk first. We can discuss...... You go to MP there will be alot of problem for us... " of course we dun even give a shiit to what he said... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Zniper 2nd Gear January 30, 2010 Share January 30, 2010 Well so SAF decided i shouldn't enjoy at least a year of civillian life before forcing me to wear green again. I'm currently holding an 8-5 job with night classes every week for my bachelor's course but my ICT deferment got rejected. Is it worth appealing? I'm sure many of you would advise me to go and not miss any of my ICT but i don't see the point of paying $19k for my studies just to skip classes (and exams) go back, slap on my medic armband and pretend that life is good while walking long distances with a backbreaking fieldpack and not to mention that darn stretcher and MOP; of which i was just doing the same thing last year. I'm just starting out a new job and concentrating my studies and now i have to put them on hold for my active unit. As you can imagine i'm feeling a lil' frustrated after serving my mandatory 2 years in a "chiong-sua" and now my life is disrputed again. Hope to hear any advice from you uncles and experienced personnel. I'm not looking for avenues to "chao-keng" lah, just want to know what are my options. u straight away tell them if u fail ur exams and repeat again, they pay the sch fees for u?? tell them to wake up their idea... i oso got one time, told them i got nite lesson plus test on tat nite dan they let me out-pro earlier dan others... straight away go see ur MP if still cant dan ask ur MP is it fair when u paid the sch fees urself and now risk failing it bcos of some useless reservist stuffs... i wun advise u not to miss ur ICT, in fact i will advise u to miss all ur ICTs... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Watwheels Supersonic January 30, 2010 Share January 30, 2010 Let me revive this thread. I submitted my deferment request last week via the NS portal and got the rejection notice yesterday. I was trying my luck by using "New Employment" excuse but because by the time the ICT starts, I will already be 6 months into the job. In the pressure-cooked environment I am in, I am concerned that this disruption of my work will affect my performance as I lead a couple of projects, most with tight deadlines. I am now contemplating in getting my employer to help support my case. Another thing is the ICT comes 2 months before I turn 40, I take it that that is the milestone where all ICT will be stopped. What other avenues should I explore? From what I had experienced the "New Employment" excuse is valid for the first 3 months. Best is if you could get 2 months of medical excuse lor. Happy 40th birthday! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Surferguy1978 1st Gear January 30, 2010 Share January 30, 2010 i think new employment is only valid if you are under probation. just ask HR to write deferment letter or maybe show mindef your employment letter which state the probation duration. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Alechi 2nd Gear January 30, 2010 Share January 30, 2010 agree ... ur NS unit also made up of mainly all NS men mah ... including officers. my unit then, have always given flexibility to GENUINE cases ... so i think Parkingidiot's suggestion is very possible. how about discussing with your CO about getting nights off to attend the classes? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Scoots 3rd Gear January 30, 2010 Share January 30, 2010 Old thread but still useful nonetheless. I'm going for my next round of ICT in July. In fact 2 sets of ICT, 1 HK 1 LK. And i'm about to graduate in June (fingers crossed) and next month starting new job. Is the deferment valid for those 3 months into a new job or 6 months? 3months. with regards to your last year's post. Deferment for studies is only applicable for full time studies. Part time one they will ask for you to arrange with unit for nights off.... sadly, that hardly works out so good luck with your next ICT Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Twelfth 1st Gear January 30, 2010 Share January 30, 2010 sometime just cant understand why cant defer. isnt govt encourage ppl to constantly upgrade to stay competitive . full of craps ! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Dj_spike 2nd Gear January 30, 2010 Share January 30, 2010 My overseas ICT suay2 tio near oc's delivery..... so deferment within 1 week approved Studies i agree muz bang table...... although i did defer once for exam but I supposed that was approved coz the unit was during studies period... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kingcopa 1st Gear January 31, 2010 Share January 31, 2010 My overseas ICT suay2 tio near oc's delivery..... so deferment within 1 week approved Studies i agree muz bang table...... although i did defer once for exam but I supposed that was approved coz the unit was during studies period... what is deferment????? no more liao..... lol Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kingcopa 1st Gear January 31, 2010 Share January 31, 2010 Well so SAF decided i shouldn't enjoy at least a year of civillian life before forcing me to wear green again. I'm currently holding an 8-5 job with night classes every week for my bachelor's course but my ICT deferment got rejected. Is it worth appealing? I'm sure many of you would advise me to go and not miss any of my ICT but i don't see the point of paying $19k for my studies just to skip classes (and exams) go back, slap on my medic armband and pretend that life is good while walking long distances with a backbreaking fieldpack and not to mention that darn stretcher and MOP; of which i was just doing the same thing last year. I'm just starting out a new job and concentrating my studies and now i have to put them on hold for my active unit. As you can imagine i'm feeling a lil' frustrated after serving my mandatory 2 years in a "chiong-sua" and now my life is disrputed again. Hope to hear any advice from you uncles and experienced personnel. I'm not looking for avenues to "chao-keng" lah, just want to know what are my options. part time studies is not in the list of items which can allow u to defer. talk to ur oc when in pro n ask for nite off. normally can approve. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...