Sturtles 6th Gear March 30, 2009 Share March 30, 2009 How about a small van? The diesel is cheaper, and so is the road tax and insurance. The petrol kei class mini vans are also very cheap. A G registered honda petrol mini van is less than 30k for 10 years, with cheap road tax, insurance and comsumption to the boot. Jut a basic transport. A second hand van is also under 10k, but make sure you get an experienced chap to go hunting with ya. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Allanha72 Neutral Newbie March 30, 2009 Share March 30, 2009 Scrap is about 4800. But the car cont is very good, so cant bargain much . (new paint , 17"rim, leather seat,new window film,mono walnut steering,smooth engine & gear box,nice no. & lots more) and it a Auto. Manual will be cheaper $8500. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
SporeHongkong Neutral Newbie March 31, 2009 Share March 31, 2009 thks alot for the advice..anyway can tell me more briefly wat to look out for if i go look see at those cars?main impt pts to ask for? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
SporeHongkong Neutral Newbie March 31, 2009 Share March 31, 2009 if i'm not wrong vans have to register under company name is it? but for me i think a 2nd hand car would be a bit better..thks Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Picanto 3rd Gear April 8, 2009 Share April 8, 2009 get the toyota model. u can forget about Civic 91-92. this must be the ESI model. most of them are been trashed by the ex-owners... lots of wear and tear problems. toyota is somehow more reliable and durable. its about luck. regardless of brands, if sway, also can get a lemon. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Riceracer Clutched April 8, 2009 Share April 8, 2009 I had EP82 Starlet and AE101 Corolla before. I think most Singaporean are spoilt with new cars already. Most would not accept >10yrs cars. Toyota are very durable cars. Changed one round of wear and tear parts and they are good to go for next 3-5yrs depending on your mileage. The common wear and tear parts are shock absorbers, under carriage bushings, radiator hoses, engines mountings. Mostly rubber parts. Their parts are easily sourced and any workshop would be able to repair them. I used to use JB workshop to service my cars. Timing belt for my AE101 was $30 and labour in JB RM70. Total cost about $60 only. There are many such cars running in malaysia today with very high mileage. >500k km are common there. Pros of COE cars: 1) Cheap parts and repair 2) Low initial cost 3) Can use 3rd party insurance, cheaper 4) No need to take loan or lower financial cost 5) Lots of cheap parts from local scrap yards. Cons: 1) Higher consumption. My AE101 corolla 1.6A gets 10km/L. Good in those days but not in today's standard. 2) More visits to workshop, maybe 1-2 repairs a year. If nothing major can do together with servicing. 3) Higher road tax 4) Yearly inspection After offseting the higher maintenance cost, they are still cheaper to own than a new car. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Galantspeedz Turbocharged April 8, 2009 Share April 8, 2009 I think you got your sums all wrong. you should use the sum you get from selling the car .ie. 30k minus the Parf (est. 6k) = 24k / years remaining (7yrs) = your current depreciation (3k+) for a difference of less than 2k a year, you pay more road tax, more maintainence, etc, i think is zero sum game. you are not saving anything Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Donut Supercharged April 11, 2009 Share April 11, 2009 bro, its the same.... i had also owned Starlet EP80 and ESI before (BOY, i loved my EP80!!!) i sat down one day and did the sums.... it all come to the same as owning a new car. of course you got to compare similar engine cc between old car and new car lah. cannot use EP80's expenses to compare with a new 1.6cc car. not fair lah. must compare with a new 1.0cc or 1.2cc car. beside all the pointers that i posted earlier in this topic, i forgot to add one more thing abt yearly inspection. as an old car, there's a danger of failing the CO2 emission.... i kena before. the inspector put a hose into my exhaust and measure the carbon. bloody hell, failed. i had to rush back to ws and the mech adjust until ok. and its not just one time..... i kena for 2 or 3 years liao. that's the problem with old cars. there are things that are beyond you and the mechs. uncontrollable due to the age of the cars. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ng_kok_seng Neutral Newbie April 11, 2009 Share April 11, 2009 Imagine change from your vios to coe car... It is considerte downgrade.... New car is still the better choice lah...with warrenty some more....with everything new.... There are so many people still cannot own the new car, if you can afford, why not?? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Heroni Neutral Newbie April 12, 2009 Share April 12, 2009 Hi gd day to all in here..i'm a new driver n have some questions n advice needed..pls feel free to comment n advice,thks.. I jus got my licence..early 30's..i wish to purchase a honda civic 91-92 model abt 7k or a 91-92 corolla/corona also ard same price..coe till 2011..due to financial prob cant afford new car..jus need use as transport to work..anyone can tell or advice me for new drivers.insurance is abt 2k+ as quoted by the dealer?can i register the car under my name but insurance under my sis name (she's abt 40 n 7yr licence),think shd be cheaper right? wat to look out for when purchasing or test driving this oldies? thks alot for all advices in advance.. bro,from what I know,insurance have to be under the hirer's name. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ng_kok_seng Neutral Newbie April 12, 2009 Share April 12, 2009 unless the car is under your aunty's name...then insurance can be under her name Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ng_kok_seng Neutral Newbie April 12, 2009 Share April 12, 2009 bro,from what I know,insurance have to be under the hirer's name. unless the car under sister 's name, then insurance can.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
SporeHongkong Neutral Newbie April 12, 2009 Share April 12, 2009 thks all for the comments..had jus got a 93 lsi model..was quoted abt 4k+ for insurance for new driver..but anyway managed to get insurance under sister name for abt 1.4k..anyone can assist wat to look out or double check on cause car so called under warrenty for 1wk only..a/c not strong enough..will send back for a change of compressor..thks a million to all.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Prostcode Clutched April 12, 2009 Share April 12, 2009 thks all for the comments..had jus got a 93 lsi model..was quoted abt 4k+ for insurance for new driver..but anyway managed to get insurance under sister name for abt 1.4k..anyone can assist wat to look out or double check on cause car so called under warrenty for 1wk only..a/c not strong enough..will send back for a change of compressor..thks a million to all.. hmm weird. why choose lsi and not esi or vti? man.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
SporeHongkong Neutral Newbie April 12, 2009 Share April 12, 2009 hmmm...esi cars more or less modified (wear n tear more?) n they look real nice but some dealers r asking at least 8-10k for diff versions of that..prob cause i not really into chionging or accelerating (although i wish to but got little child to ride along) therefore didnt really select one but lsi auto at least still ok..but pick up no strength..hai..any way to improve on that too? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Riceracer Clutched April 13, 2009 Share April 13, 2009 No I didn't use Starlet to compare with 1.6 car. In fact my startlet consumption was no better than my corolla. I just merely used these two examples to illustrate. A COE startlet is cheaper than a new 1.0 in the market then and same for corrolla in the 1.6. You see I only mentioned Toyota. Honestly I don't think Honda is a good candidate for a COE car because they are not as durable. Hondas are generally good up to about 7-8 years and they start to fail after that. ESI auto gearbox is known to fail at this age especially a high mileage one. But very rarely with corollas. There are many COE civics running around and they need more repairs than Toyota. I have also calculated and compared my costs and mine are cheaper. The saving from bank loan interest is already enough to pay for my maintenance costs. I'm not avocating COE cars here, because some may find visiting workshops a hassle and you need to be more diligent in checking your fluid regularly. There is no free lunch in the world, if you want cheap and low cost car, you have to live with more inconveniences Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
SporeHongkong Neutral Newbie April 14, 2009 Share April 14, 2009 was at workshop today..was quoted 200 for change of timing belt for the LSI n something else forgotten wat is it..think is valve or something asociated with timing belt..kind of ex..any place cheaper? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Champion77 Neutral Newbie April 22, 2009 Share April 22, 2009 Hi All Can anyone help to elaborate the Pros and Cons of getting a COE car at this bad time? Eg. any value or rebate if sold before the COE end for a 1999 Car? I am looking at this Mazda 323 reg dated 1999 Mar selling at 18800. Please see this link : Mazda 1999 COE CAR Please advise. Thanks. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...