GoodCar 4th Gear September 15, 2009 Share September 15, 2009 Very good explanation .... ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Quirky_ster Clutched September 15, 2009 Share September 15, 2009 oh ya IPOD IS MADE IN CHINA...why r ppl buying an overpriced goods? It's not about where it's build, it's the technology that we bought. If it's design and build in US, then it's beyond economic sense to buy it... Would you buy a carton of Coke from the coffee shop or convenience store? Why pay more when you can get the same thing for less at a different store.. or would you rather buy other Cola that is cheaper at the coffee shop because the Coke there is an overpriced goods? Same principle... the same technology build at low cost areas so that more can afford the technology. Good thing that Thai did not build their own car.. otherwise ppl compare Altis/Honda vs Thai made car... cheers! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
GoodCar 4th Gear September 15, 2009 Share September 15, 2009 I think in a nut shell, We should look beyond brand but the substance inside. e.g. If Forte is using Skoda Octavia platform, I will difinitely choose Forte base on my bias and preference. But I must also say that comparing these three car; Forte, Avante and Cruze, Forte is the best compromise. Some other understated 1.6 L Good car people can look at : Toyota Allion, Skoda Octavia, Renault megane, Ford Focus Just my 2 cents worth. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Quirky_ster Clutched September 15, 2009 Share September 15, 2009 problem with Cruz is the engine... In order to differentiate the product, they are not releasing the 1.4 Turbo and 1.6 Turbo engine for Cruz. It's now reserved for Astra. It will be swee swee if the Turbo kick into the Cruz heart.. Having said that, my 1.4 Astra which is well known for underpower.... is making me happy all the time from traffic lights, corners, highway and Cameron highland... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kangadrool Supersonic September 15, 2009 Author Share September 15, 2009 Agree that we should not just look at the specs alone. For Avante, the multi-link rear suspension really helps it to differentiate (albielt softly tuned) from the latest Thaiyota Altis that is built based on Torsion beam that is giving it a horrible ride round corners. There are some really well-tuned torsion beam rear suspended cars around. So, best is still to test drive them. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Babyt 4th Gear September 15, 2009 Share September 15, 2009 It's not about where it's build, it's the technology that we bought. If it's design and build in US, then it's beyond economic sense to buy it... Would you buy a carton of Coke from the coffee shop or convenience store? Why pay more when you can get the same thing for less at a different store.. or would you rather buy other Cola that is cheaper at the coffee shop because the Coke there is an overpriced goods? Same principle... the same technology build at low cost areas so that more can afford the technology. Good thing that Thai did not build their own car.. otherwise ppl compare Altis/Honda vs Thai made car... cheers! if that is so...why ppl still debate about thai made toyota?? lol Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kangadrool Supersonic September 15, 2009 Author Share September 15, 2009 Simple - it's priced too high and overall built quality disappoints. So people KPKB. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kangadrool Supersonic September 15, 2009 Author Share September 15, 2009 (edited) In their quest to conquer market share and cost cutting, Toyota has compromised on their quality. Their recent designs also suck. Those early days MIJ Corollas are actually more pleasing to look and put together better than now. They (Toyota and AD -> BM) better wake up before it's too late. Edited September 15, 2009 by Kangadrool Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Quirky_ster Clutched September 15, 2009 Share September 15, 2009 I used to own Corolla, it WAS good... The new ones... they are meant for certain group of people in which I am not inside there.. :P I take Avante anytime over thaltis... Cheers! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
GoodCar 4th Gear September 15, 2009 Share September 15, 2009 problem with Cruz is the engine... In order to differentiate the product, they are not releasing the 1.4 Turbo and 1.6 Turbo engine for Cruz. It's now reserved for Astra. It will be swee swee if the Turbo kick into the Cruz heart.. Having said that, my 1.4 Astra which is well known for underpower.... is making me happy all the time from traffic lights, corners, highway and Cameron highland... Same feel lah I use to think that Engine power more important when driving a car As the year go by, I realised that the car platform design is critical to the comfort/handling of the car. For me, a resonable power engine is enough liao, I will look for high torque engine car with good platform. Because most of the time we do not use the power at high RPM. Also if we always ram the engine , the life of the engine also shorten. My old civic can cheong very well in the city, but when go up north to climb mountain, the power that come from high rpm doesn't help much. But my humble Optra feel more torquy when conquering these mountain and I enjoy the drive. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
GoodCar 4th Gear September 15, 2009 Share September 15, 2009 In their quest to conquer market share and cost cutting, Toyota has compromised on their quality. Their recent designs also suck. Those early days MIJ Corollas are actually more pleasing to look and put together better than now. They (Toyota and AD -> BM) better wake up before it's too late. Agree, they should sell car like Allion or Axio. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Fishieme Neutral Newbie September 15, 2009 Share September 15, 2009 Jap brands in sg are just so overpriced. look at US or even China, cars from diff brands thats cat under the same class more or less has the same pricing, u cant speak the same here in sg. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Picanto 3rd Gear September 15, 2009 Share September 15, 2009 In their quest to conquer market share and cost cutting, Toyota has compromised on their quality. Their recent designs also suck. Those early days MIJ Corollas are actually more pleasing to look and put together better than now. They (Toyota and AD -> BM) better wake up before it's too late. the sales figures show they are still the no.1. so no need to wake up. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kangadrool Supersonic September 15, 2009 Author Share September 15, 2009 This is coming from me, currently driving a MIJ car. I would take Avante anytime vs Altis. It's fine with consumers if they still don't want to wake up. Good luck to them. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Quirky_ster Clutched September 15, 2009 Share September 15, 2009 they target the people who "dun care" about cars.. but just wanted a "fail free" proven ride.. that accounts for 80% of the car owners.. I dun mean to say those who bought Thaitis is not a car enthusiasts.. .. but just a majority of them just buy toyota because it's the number 1 sales.. probably they dun even know that mcf exists.. hee hee just like some ppl just buy Nokia handphone... dun care what model .. so long nokia can already.. Cheers! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Alfisti168 1st Gear September 15, 2009 Share September 15, 2009 In their quest to conquer market share and cost cutting, Toyota has compromised on their quality. Their recent designs also suck. Those early days MIJ Corollas are actually more pleasing to look and put together better than now. They (Toyota and AD -> BM) better wake up before it's too late. Actually BM is doing a good job marketing their cars, even though the cars they are supplied with are not impressive. Its the QC of the Thai plant that needs improvement. And Toyota HQ really needs a urgent wake-up call. And this can only be done when Singaporeans stand united together and boycott Thai Toyota. Only then will they realise their prob and take drastic measures. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Babyt 4th Gear September 15, 2009 Share September 15, 2009 if u dont like jap brand, u wont lament about its quality, design, price. etc. coz when u bother with all these, it means u still prefer jap brand. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Guest EverestLeasing Neutral Newbie September 15, 2009 Share September 15, 2009 Good job marketing? That's a big joke man. Put Orlando Bloom besides the Altis then buy a full page ad is called marketing? They don't even put effort in adding some local flavour to their advertising efforts lor. Like using local brand ambassadors or something. You also seldom see Toyota doing events like Kia's "Mystery car" or Nissan's "Nissan Fuel Frugal Challenge". They just hole up in their showroom, waiting for the Toyota Faithful to roll in. Toyota can sell is a given. They are the global best seller. BM is not doing anything fantastic. Period. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...