Ididbobe Neutral Newbie October 7, 2009 Share October 7, 2009 Fellow Bros, I am about the buy over these Enkei tyres from here for $600. Issit worth it ah? Any quick advice before I close the deal? Tks Enkei Tyres for Sale ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Niltrams 3rd Gear October 7, 2009 Share October 7, 2009 Feels abit expensive cos it's second hand, but can forgive cos it's Enkei. Do take note that you must change the rubber to all 195/50/15 for ur EP80. Recommended to buy new tyres cos the one he is selling is quite worn already. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ididbobe Neutral Newbie October 7, 2009 Author Share October 7, 2009 Thanks Dude yeah was already planning to swap out the tyres to Eagle F1s 195/50/15 :) Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kyojin 1st Gear October 7, 2009 Share October 7, 2009 very expensive... how can he proof that it's real enkeis? repainted wheels generally lose their value because you don't know if they had been damaged. not to mention, the paint might peel down the road. considering that his tyres are quite worn out, he can't charge u for the tyres. why don't you go for house-brand rims... SSW, Advanti. $600 can almost get you rims plus tyres! new and cheaper. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ididbobe Neutral Newbie October 7, 2009 Author Share October 7, 2009 Tks Kyojin! I guess it will be hard to prove if they are real enkeis or not. Really? Maybe shd go an shop around abit more before commiting.....hmmm....then again dont have so much time to do that too. Perhaps if I bargained him down some more? I saw some SSW rims on a civic which I did like alot but I trust Enkei brand and also cos they are really light. But thanks again for sharing your view...appreciated. Its given me 2nd thoughts now! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kyojin 1st Gear October 7, 2009 Share October 7, 2009 many house brand wheels are light as well... some even share technologies with Enkei... http://www.asiaone.com/Motoring/News/Story...70523-8262.html Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ididbobe Neutral Newbie October 7, 2009 Author Share October 7, 2009 How about this deal? Magline This one more reasonable but I have never heard of this brand but not sure if the specs can fit an EP80? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ididbobe Neutral Newbie October 7, 2009 Author Share October 7, 2009 Wah Lau eh....my life just got a lil more complicated, just when I was thinking of taking the Enkei's the guy went an posted these Advanti's here:- Visit My Website Actually the color of these suit my red starlet more but am not sure of the brand? Never heard of Advanti before and web search shows that its manufactured in Singapore???? How to compare with Enkei fm Japan? Also for this one tyre profile is 80% Falken tyre 195/55/R15 offset 5 more than the recommended 50 for the starlet, u think it will have much of an adverse effect considering that I intend to lower my starlet once i can find the springs/shocks etc.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Chenoire Neutral Newbie October 7, 2009 Share October 7, 2009 Wah Lau eh....my life just got a lil more complicated, just when I was thinking of taking the Enkei's the guy went an posted these Advanti's here:- Visit My Website Actually the color of these suit my red starlet more but am not sure of the brand? Never heard of Advanti before and web search shows that its manufactured in Singapore???? How to compare with Enkei fm Japan? Also for this one tyre profile is 80% Falken tyre 195/55/R15 offset 5 more than the recommended 50 for the starlet, u think it will have much of an adverse effect considering that I intend to lower my starlet once i can find the springs/shocks etc.. You want to check if my Rota 15inch rims traded-in are still available? I'll try to call the guy tomorrow to see if they're still around. They were te original rims on Soft tail's ride. Man, I should have known you back then. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ididbobe Neutral Newbie October 7, 2009 Author Share October 7, 2009 sure dude most grateful if u cld. the bugger w the advanti wants to raise his pc to 550 now cos i dont hv 15inch sports rims to exchange only 14"@crap Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Niltrams 3rd Gear October 7, 2009 Share October 7, 2009 (edited) Hey there, Don't rush into buying rims just because they're for sale. I believe you are running on 15 inch now also right. Honestly, with your "enhanced torque" 1++E engine, it doesn't really matter if you get light or normal alloy rims. Just don't go autob*cs and be poisoned by those RM rims, which looks nice but are quite heavy. Locally produced rims like Advanti, SSW are decently light enough, and you can go to the tyre shop to compare which rims look nice physically on your car. Moreover, you can get cheap but good tyres from these shops (e.g. Falken ZE912s) which are adequate enough for SG use. Going by the few ads you showed us, you need to spend $ to buy 4 new tyres, and the cost of the rims aren't that cheap in the first place. Its highly recommended to run 195/50/15 profile tyres, so you won't have s--t with alot of settings. Do take Kyojin's advice; check out some local produce. If i'm free I also don't mind accompanying you down to my tyre shop near Saber. It IS cheaper and they're also brand new, and you can get a trade-in discount from your current rims. Cheers! Edited October 7, 2009 by Niltrams Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Niltrams 3rd Gear October 7, 2009 Share October 7, 2009 Bro, he raise price to KA you only lah.. I got my brand new Advanti rims for only $90 per rim. Plus, my tyres were only $70 per piece. Total damage $640. Take plus-minus ~$150 discount for trading in your rims... ~$500 you can get new pairs of shoes for your beloved starlet. Food for though =) Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ididbobe Neutral Newbie October 8, 2009 Author Share October 8, 2009 Thanks Niltrams! Wot!? So cheap ?? Hmm...i was over at SHC and the guys there said that average Advanti rims costs ard 1.6k?? Siao! Thats why I thot it was a good deal. No choice, I gotta go an shop ard first to get a feel of what the real prices are. I wld've thought that the Advanti's, with 80% Falken tyres @ 500 was reasonable. But no harm waiting, its not as if I am in such a big hurry. Those sellers like quite desperate leh...they keep calling even at 1am! and telling me to meet them at workshop today to swap. BTW I will prolly go to Saber's today or tom, wld u have any free time to check out the tyre shop near his place? :) Other Starlet bro's who hv time n wanna join us to look rd u r most welcome :) Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kyojin 1st Gear October 8, 2009 Share October 8, 2009 bro, don't be too kan chiong. if not you sure kena carrot chop and regret later. when it comes to car parts, unless it's absolutely necessary or broken, wait for a good deal. my advice is to shop around first. you don't even know what the new price is and you wanna dump big money down on second hand stuff? Advanti for 1.6k is probably 17" with Yoko AD07... in the world of tyre and wheels, each inch difference can mean a huge jump in overall price. house brand wheels are very good. many many many people run them without problems. in fact, most cars in Sg come with house-brand rims. the cars come to Sg with steel rims and they change it here. what are you afraid of? the wheels breaking? would hardly happen unless you whack them hard into a curb. also, they are not as heavy as you think. if you are worried about heavy rims, downgrade to 14" or even 13". see the link I posted above, Advanti maker also makes Enkei... so don't worry about quality or technology. look here: Stamford Promo new SSW 15" from $95. if you take tyres as well, they can bundle a good deal somemore. the reason why the sellers are in such a big hurry is because they are probably selling their ride and they want to milk the final dollars. use this to your advantage. if the guy says he wants $500 and must deal today, say $350 and he's got a deal. if he gives you crap, tell him sorry and wish him well. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ididbobe Neutral Newbie October 8, 2009 Author Share October 8, 2009 Ahhh.......what will I do without you guys Very sound advice and a veritable WEALTH of information!! Gonna turn down the dude now, he keeps calling me hahah.... I dunno if you all have the same "itch" as me....since I hv gotten my Starlet, I keep looking for upgrades, mods, things to change etc etc....not like my wallet can match my desire hahaha.... But i realise that I do hv to exercise restraint and not do things like immed mail the Selangor guy to ask him how much to ship the Tom's bodykit here hahahaha This month, I already did some major damage to my bank account. So I will hv to set some limits. Last acquisition for the month would be some good shocks/springs Tks Kyojin for you sound advice as always... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Dezouk Clutched October 8, 2009 Share October 8, 2009 you must remember, keep your bling for the important parts first, cosmetic can come later, inner beauty first! :P Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
So_nice 6th Gear October 8, 2009 Share October 8, 2009 slowly find, dun kan chiong. i can frankly tell u the cps2 is farking expensive. most pple are selling them for ard 250-350 depending on condition. i recommend u another nice rims for ep80.. OZ superleggra!! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
So_nice 6th Gear October 8, 2009 Share October 8, 2009 (edited) nice rite? keke.. i got mine for $300 wif the racing nuts. Edited October 8, 2009 by So_nice ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...