As I get older, I learnt that LKY had to do what is needed

City100a

The great Qin emperor also seeks imortality to remain in power. Power is such a strong forces to keeps LKY from dying. I seriously think that what he has done then was way too hard handed, even if that is what he think is the best for the then Singapore. Underhanded.

That is why it a good thing you are not our PM.

Politician dont have to be Mr nice guy. But he need to be willing to make ruthless decision.

Also, If you consider who he is fighting against you might no think so.

Communist who also happen to be armed.

p/s : Just for Info, i support Communist as a form of government if its able to function to its call(but ppl being ppl will never be able to do that). so i am not bias against Communist.

Edited by Joseph22

Politics aside , tell me how many put their whole life into improving the life of others and themselves. At 80+ closing 90 who in this world is still working his ass of for the benefit of others. Are you telling me that he is not rich enough to retire?

Even if you don't respect his policies at least respect the fact that LKY and many of our forefathers has given their whole life to Singapore and its people and without them , we are seriously nothing. At least , i dare to say without Singapore i don't think i would finish my studies , less to say earn enough money to talk on paper.

How about standing out and give us Vision like what he had about your bright ideas rather than pushing him down. Personally , i feel sad when no one capable is able to pull him down in the same way he pushed himself up to the post. Everyone is just waiting for him to step down himself rather than to force him down by showing their capability. Typical losers, always fast on pushing someone down rather than respecting a man more capable than you. I said respect and not worship nor idolize .

Facta non verba .

There were capable opposition leaders, but all were silenced by the old man on the pretext of safeguarding national security. go figure.

Yes we all know that. The problem is they are not able to outsmart the old man. Political world is all about strongest survice.

How old are you? Did *you* live through konfrontasi? If not, don't lecture people.

Judging by the way you write, I'm willing to wager that I'm a good bit older than you. I actually fondly remember when we had live televised parliamentary debates with a real opposition leader (sadly departed now) consistently sticking it to your hero. I also vividly remember the detention of Francis Seow et al - I was already a teenager then. So please don't patronise me and don't try to mislead others into thinking you're older than you really are.

And don't think about using the threat of real or imagined war as a scare-tactic. There are many countries that actually live on the threshold of daily conflict but manage to keep their democratic processes intact. Israel, for example. And Taiwan, where threats by China are far more real and deadly than anything we've received of late from Malaysia. So please try something else to prop up your failing case.

i am sorry feel this way

i have fond memories of the past but the present

hence the constant reference to the founding fathers

i think we have to admit that as a nation we are not doing too badly

if we can still afford to pay the ERP and COE we cant be that poor right

Political world is a very dark world with the losser lossing everythings include freedom. Only the strongest can survive and out maneuver the opposition and silencing them is part of the game.

In past our Gahmen had to do that and I agree to that becos we had just started our indepentant with all the outside forces eyeing on our little country. If they don't use underhanded/hard handed way to pull all Singaporean together, we won't be here now. Maybe we will be Indonesian or Malaysian or any other country citizen.

Political world is a very dark world with the losser lossing everythings include freedom. Only the strongest can survive and out maneuver the opposition and silencing them is part of the game.

In past our Gahmen had to do that and I agree to that becos we had just started our indepentant with all the outside forces eyeing on our little country. If they don't use underhanded/hard handed way to pull all Singaporean together, we won't be here now. Maybe we will be Indonesian or Malaysian or any other country citizen.

Actually in the presence they still have to do that to survice or even oust the current one out. The thing is, as a Civilian, what type of governement we want?

Is it one who give welfare but at the expense of the hardworking citizen? (meaning taxing more like in some country 50%)

Or one that is always changing? (like the USA??)

All these choice will also depend on the condition of the country.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Lee_Kuan_Yew

Awards

Lee has received a number of state decorations, including the Order of the Companions of Honour (1970), Knight Grand Cross of the Order of St Michael and St George (1972), the Freedom of the City of London (1982), the Order of the Crown of Johore First Class (1984), the Order of Great Leader (1988) and the Order of the Rising Sun (1967).[22]

Lee has also received other decorations which include the highest honour of Honorary Fellowship of the Royal College of Physicians of Edinburgh (1988), and Man for Peace (1990).[citation needed]

Lee was awarded the Ig Nobel Prize in 1994.[23]

In 2002, Lee was formally admitted to the Fellowship of Imperial College London in recognition of his promotion of international trade and industry, and development of science and engineering study initiatives with the UK.[24]

In 2006, Lee was presented with the Woodrow Wilson Award for Public Service by the Woodrow Wilson International Center for Scholars.

In 2007, Lee was conferred an honorary Doctorate in Law at the Australian National University in Canberra, albeit amid protest from students and staff.[25]

In October 2009, Lee was conferred the first Lifetime Achievement award by the US-Asean Business Council at its 25th anniversary gala dinner in Washington. In his tribute, former US Secretary of State and 1973 Nobel Peace Prize winner, Dr Henry Kissinger said:[26]

"He has become a seminal figure for all of us. I've not learned as much from anybody as I have from Mr Lee Kuan Yew. He made himself an indispensable friend of the United States, not primarily by the power he represented but by the quality of his thinking.

Meeting the US President at the White House oval office a day later, President Barack Obama introduced him as: [27][28]

"... one of the legendary figures of Asia in the 20th and 21st centuries. He is somebody who helped to trigger the Asian economic miracle."

On November 15 2009, Lee was awarded the Russian Order of Friendship by President Dmitry Medvedev on the sidelines of APEC Singapore 2009. [29]

Actually in the presence they still have to do that to survice or even oust the current one out. The thing is, as a Civilian, what type of governement we want?

Is it one who give welfare but at the expense of the hardworking citizen? (meaning taxing more like in some country 50%)

Or one that is always changing? (like the USA??)

All these choice will also depend on the condition of the country.

honestly nobody knows how much surplus we have at hand, they can lose billions and keep quiet, the garhmen always say we need to think for the interest of the nation so we cannot be welfare state...but isn't the welfare of the citizens The interest fo the nation? so in the end who we storing up the wealth for? is it for 1 family?

i shudder to think of the day they lose power and the country's wealth is channeled away to some bahamas bank, gone poof...and they disappear into oblivion enjoying life and F care about the little red dot they suck dry....

This is such a small country, should compare apple with apple, malaysia, indo is a big country, not ez to manage. Imagine u ask a SME ceo to a fortune 500 co. ceo, i dunno whether he still can manage or not

honestly nobody knows how much surplus we have at hand, they can lose billions and keep quiet, the garhmen always say we need to think for the interest of the nation so we cannot be welfare state...but isn't the welfare of the citizens The interest fo the nation? so in the end who we storing up the wealth for? is it for 1 family?

i shudder to think of the day they lose power and the country's wealth is channeled away to some bahamas bank, gone poof...and they disappear into oblivion enjoying life and F care about the little red dot they suck dry....

i think for that to happen is unlikely

this is actually suicide for the entire family and future generations

anyway those that is unhappy is still in sg..... funny..

*flamesuit on*

this is the best post so far! *clap.....* [thumbsup]

to those unhappy or even angry ones, don't like lky? don't like lhl? don't like pap? leave the country lor... nobody is stoping you [rolleyes]

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Lee_Kuan_Yew

Awards

Lee has received a number of state decorations, including the Order of the Companions of Honour (1970), Knight Grand Cross of the Order of St Michael and St George (1972), the Freedom of the City of London (1982), the Order of the Crown of Johore First Class (1984), the Order of Great Leader (1988) and the Order of the Rising Sun (1967).[22]

Lee has also received other decorations which include the highest honour of Honorary Fellowship of the Royal College of Physicians of Edinburgh (1988), and Man for Peace (1990).[citation needed]

Lee was awarded the Ig Nobel Prize in 1994.[23]

In 2002, Lee was formally admitted to the Fellowship of Imperial College London in recognition of his promotion of international trade and industry, and development of science and engineering study initiatives with the UK.[24]

In 2006, Lee was presented with the Woodrow Wilson Award for Public Service by the Woodrow Wilson International Center for Scholars.

In 2007, Lee was conferred an honorary Doctorate in Law at the Australian National University in Canberra, albeit amid protest from students and staff.[25]

In October 2009, Lee was conferred the first Lifetime Achievement award by the US-Asean Business Council at its 25th anniversary gala dinner in Washington. In his tribute, former US Secretary of State and 1973 Nobel Peace Prize winner, Dr Henry Kissinger said:[26]

"He has become a seminal figure for all of us. I've not learned as much from anybody as I have from Mr Lee Kuan Yew. He made himself an indispensable friend of the United States, not primarily by the power he represented but by the quality of his thinking.

Meeting the US President at the White House oval office a day later, President Barack Obama introduced him as: [27][28]

"... one of the legendary figures of Asia in the 20th and 21st centuries. He is somebody who helped to trigger the Asian economic miracle."

On November 15 2009, Lee was awarded the Russian Order of Friendship by President Dmitry Medvedev on the sidelines of APEC Singapore 2009. [29]

Err... i think is is getting too much to a extend that it is irritating. Everyone here know his contribution and you dont have to post all these to try to convince ppl.

storing up for 1 family?? i think you do not know how much those money actually help singapore to tied throught the crisis of the 80s 90s and recently. Remember, these surplus reserves singapore had is base on taxes from us.

Look at other country whose tax is higher than us. Do they even have reserves as big as ours?

And the welfare state i am refering to is not the same as what you are talking about. I am talking about giving money to those who is jobless (i am not against ppl who cannot find a job i am refering to those that want to rely on governement fund.)

No comment cause this sound like typical Kopi Shop talk.

This is such a small country, should compare apple with apple, malaysia, indo is a big country, not ez to manage. Imagine u ask a SME ceo to a fortune 500 co. ceo, i dunno whether he still can manage or not

Why dont you ask the so called big country to come and manage singapore. They will have problem too.

In the same way. The CEO in Fortune 500co will also have problem managing SME. Cause its a different ball games altogether.

storing up for 1 family?? i think you do not know how much those money actually help singapore to tied throught the crisis of the 80s 90s and recently. Remember, these surplus reserves singapore had is base on taxes from us.

Look at other country whose tax is higher than us. Do they even have reserves as big as ours?

And the welfare state i am refering to is not the same as what you are talking about. I am talking about giving money to those who is jobless (i am not against ppl who cannot find a job i am refering to those that want to rely on governement fund.)

No comment cause this sound like typical Kopi Shop talk.

i believe one of the reason (my personal) that we have a huge reserve is because we have zero natural resources

Err... i think is is getting too much to a extend that it is irritating. Everyone here know his contribution and you dont have to post all these to try to convince ppl.

i apologise if you find it irritating

i cant help it because at the present time until i read or hear something to the contradicting, i still believe what i believe

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=dqhr4wxUFws

Watch and grieve. Grieve not just for his loss of freedom and the years of his life, but, instead, lament our own incalculable loss, that of free speech, free expression and the simple conviction that no-one can deprive us of our freedoms at their whim.

All this pontificating about LKY having done "what needed to be done" is empty rhetoric if even one man was unjustly denied his freedom in the process. And indeed, more than just one man suffered that very fate.

Still think LKY is all that great? There are countries, in Asia, no less, that have managed to achieve and even surpass our economic stature, without the loss of freedoms that we've endured or the constant haranguing about "Confucian values" and oxymorons like "Asian-style democracy".

Finally, to those who say that LKY was the chief architect of the "success story" (such as it is) of Singapore, and that the people themselves had little to do with it, I say this: A common shepherd can effectively lead his flock. Should we credit the shepherd for his ingenuity, or the sheep for their meekness?

Which Asia counry arh, please enlighten?