Pentrain Clutched December 8, 2009 Share December 8, 2009 (edited) Dear all, need some IT help here. when one do not off the computer properly there will this black screen to let you choose to on by "Safe mode" "Safe mode with network" "Last know settings with good configurations" something like that. I chose the last know setting with good config and it runs some "checking C: for consistency, using system FAT32" and then it follows by the blue screen as attached picture. normally it restart after that and proceed to the log in page. but for mine, it just hangs there at this picture below, without the words that it will restart. it just stop at "xxxx allocation units on disk" and hangs there. Any idea what happened and how i could resolve it? Thanks in advance! Edited December 8, 2009 by Pentrain ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sniperben Neutral Newbie December 8, 2009 Share December 8, 2009 choose "Last know settings with good configurations" but skip the check. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Pentrain Clutched December 8, 2009 Author Share December 8, 2009 choose "Last know settings with good configurations" but skip the check. hi bro, thanks for ur quick reply, i tried and it does not load, also hang, black screen. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Shull Turbocharged December 8, 2009 Share December 8, 2009 (edited) do you have any external drives/thumb drives/memory cards plugged into your USB port? cos usually winXP and later OS don't use FAT32 file system anymore..and most of the time i kena this checkdisk, my have some thumb drives/memory cards plugged into my com.. Edited December 8, 2009 by Shull Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sniperben Neutral Newbie December 8, 2009 Share December 8, 2009 hi bro, thanks for ur quick reply, i tried and it does not load, also hang, black screen. try to see if you can enter via safe mood. if able to enter window, the system is not corrupted yet. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Pentrain Clutched December 8, 2009 Author Share December 8, 2009 i tried also buay sai. it loads alot of codes den just hangs there also. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sniperben Neutral Newbie December 8, 2009 Share December 8, 2009 i tried also buay sai. it loads alot of codes den just hangs there also. you sure? waiting for quite some time and did't load in? did you have any external drive plug to it? like a sd card, m2 card plug inside a card reader and the reader is plug to the cpu? check for all clear. install any software or add any hardware changes to it? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Apvman 2nd Gear December 8, 2009 Share December 8, 2009 (edited) Dear all, need some IT help here. when one do not off the computer properly there will this black screen to let you choose to on by "Safe mode" "Safe mode with network" "Last know settings with good configurations" something like that. I chose the last know setting with good config and it runs some "checking C: for consistency, using system FAT32" and then it follows by the blue screen as attached picture. normally it restart after that and proceed to the log in page. but for mine, it just hangs there at this picture below, without the words that it will restart. it just stop at "xxxx allocation units on disk" and hangs there. Any idea what happened and how i could resolve it? Thanks in advance! http://img21.imageshack.us/i/betterr.png/ In that case, your OS might be partially corrupted or harddisk might be having some bad sectors. If Last know serrings with good config does not work for you, I would suggest a reinstallation of OS BUT DO NOT FORMAT. Put in the XP cds if you are using and proceed as normal but when they prompt you if you want to format the current partition, leave the current partition as it is and the installation will overwrite your current OS but PERSERVING your data and later do a harddisk error check using third party tools or xp tools. But the main issue is that you might need to reinstall your applications. Alternatively, you can run some harddisk checks first if your bios comes with hardware checks. Else you can try to clone another new harddisk to see if it can up and running Edited December 8, 2009 by Apvman Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Pentrain Clutched December 8, 2009 Author Share December 8, 2009 you sure? waiting for quite some time and did't load in? did you have any external drive plug to it? like a sd card, m2 card plug inside a card reader and the reader is plug to the cpu? check for all clear. install any software or add any hardware changes to it? i checked no external devices plug to it, no CD anything. for software or hardware changes, really no idea, went home and was told the comp not working. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sniperben Neutral Newbie December 8, 2009 Share December 8, 2009 In that case, your OS might be partially corrupted or harddisk might be having some bad sectors. If Last know serrings with good config does not work for you, I would suggest a reinstallation of OS BUT DO NOT FORMAT. Put in the XP cds if you are using and proceed as normal but when they prompt you if you want to format the current partition, leave the current partition as it is and the installation will overwrite your current OS but PERSERVING your data and later do a harddisk error check using third party tools or xp tools. But the main issue is that you might need to reinstall your applications. Alternatively, you can run some harddisk checks first if your bios comes with hardware checks. Else you can try to clone another new harddisk to see if it can up and running that provided TS got a separate partition drive that keep his data. if his hdd is with only 1 partition and all data in it. all will be gone. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Pentrain Clutched December 8, 2009 Author Share December 8, 2009 (edited) In that case, your OS might be partially corrupted or harddisk might be having some bad sectors. If Last know serrings with good config does not work for you, I would suggest a reinstallation of OS BUT DO NOT FORMAT. Put in the XP cds if you are using and proceed as normal but when they prompt you if you want to format the current partition, leave the current partition as it is and the installation will overwrite your current OS but PERSERVING your data and later do a harddisk error check using third party tools or xp tools. But the main issue is that you might need to reinstall your applications. Alternatively, you can run some harddisk checks first if your bios comes with hardware checks. Else you can try to clone another new harddisk to see if it can up and running hi Apvman, i think this would be my last resort. i was still thinking if i could reinstall the OS but not formatting it. any way can u guide me on the bios with hardware checks, how should i check if i have it. is it the menu that i could enter by pressing F12 or some keys when the comp first boot up? Edited December 8, 2009 by Pentrain Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sniperben Neutral Newbie December 8, 2009 Share December 8, 2009 i checked no external devices plug to it, no CD anything. for software or hardware changes, really no idea, went home and was told the comp not working. if you need to, got to hire someone for onsite trouble shooting. if not, easiest way to solve it is to reinstall the OS. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ahseng 5th Gear December 8, 2009 Share December 8, 2009 time to reinstall OS, if u can afford the time format the whole hdd n do clean install. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Apvman 2nd Gear December 8, 2009 Share December 8, 2009 that provided TS got a separate partition drive that keep his data. if his hdd is with only 1 partition and all data in it. all will be gone. Bro, I am in the IT line lah... Can be done without losing your data. Just that whether you know how to do it or not? Dont you know that XP can be reinstall without losing your data? Just the OS ONLY Braadaaah Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ben5266 Supercharged December 8, 2009 Share December 8, 2009 If yours is a PC. Go and buy another hard disk. Take out your existing HDD and replace with the new one. Then, perform new OS installation. To retrieve your data from old HDD, you can connect the HDD as secondary HDD. This will ensure you will not by accident format or erase your old hard disk and gone your data. The cost of new hard disk is $100 only, depending on the size you want. My home PC is facing the same problem as you describe. Looks like it is virus thing. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sniperben Neutral Newbie December 8, 2009 Share December 8, 2009 Bro, I am in the IT line lah... Can be done without losing your data. Just that whether you know how to do it or not? Dont you know that XP can be reinstall without losing your data? Just the OS ONLY Braadaaah if let say a hard disk with C drive only. i reinstall xp on it and my photos, mp3 and so on.. all will not be delete off? able to do so with other OS? please enlight. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Apvman 2nd Gear December 8, 2009 Share December 8, 2009 (edited) hi Apvman, i think this would be my last resort. i was still thinking if i could reinstall the OS but not formatting it. any way can u guide me on the bios with hardware checks, how should i check if i have it. is it the menu that i could enter by pressing F12 or some keys when the comp first boot up? Yes but not all the BIOS comes with it. What the inital hardware check is just to see if you got any hardware failure. even if it does not have, you still need to reinstall your os as your os might be partially corrupted. The simple way out is that if you do not know how to reinstall without formatting. Teach one way. Go buy a protable 3.5 harddisk casing. Take out your hd and put into the casing. Make sure that your portable is connect to other computers or laptop or even and backup the data and then reformat the hd with a new installation. The 2nd way is to reinstall without formatting but that requires you to be very careful with the option. 1 wrong move and your data is gone. For newbie on this kind of issue and to DIY, I would recommend the simple way. The 3rd way is to clone the hd using ghost or other 3rd party cloning tool but that requires the experience and tool to do it. Not recommended for you. By the way, are you using xp or vista or windows 7? For vista, that method of reinstalling without formatting might not be available so that simple way is to take out the hd n data backup using another computer. Reformat the hd n put back the data after you are done. Edited December 8, 2009 by Apvman Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Apvman 2nd Gear December 8, 2009 Share December 8, 2009 if let say a hard disk with C drive only. i reinstall xp on it and my photos, mp3 and so on.. all will not be delete off? able to do so with other OS? please enlight. If you reinstall xp and the installation, you choose to FORMAT your PARTITION, then your data is gone for good. If you proceed with the installation while preserving teh data partition, then you are very safe. But as an IT guy, I always recommend backup first. Backup your data before doing that. You never know what will happen. As for vista, you can only reinstall it after formatting. There are tools on the web to allow you to reinstall without formatting same as the XP. Try google for it. Theres detail explanation on how to do it. Windows 7, did not try yet. still new to me on the OS recovery. Might want to google around first. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...