Chiam See Tong to contest in Bishan-Toa Payoh GRC

Iisterry

I totally agree with you that Jurong is a mess, more like a "SLUM"

It is filled with foreign workers, FT dormitory, common areas dirty, iiregular cleaning by TC.

Gave a piece of my mind to MP during his meet people round in 2008 but nothing was done. Just normal "YES YES" formalities and that's it.

I heard that other places in Hong Kah is just as bad (e.g Choa Chu Kang)

I learned that MP is paid approx. S$ 15k allowance a month for being our representative

i predict that chiam will lose in the election in the bishan-toa payoh constituency. the property prices of the houses in these two precints is higher than ever and only set to rise, why would the residents want to jeopardise it by turning it into another hougang ?

he is changing ward this time, simply because he knows given his worsening health with his old age, this is likely his last one or two terms, and so he might as well fight for a new ward. he has nothing to lose, and if he wins, he win big for the opposition as it breaks new ground. smart move.

People assume that whenever a ward is under opposition it will slowly become "backward" because either the opp can't take care of it or govt just neglect them because it became an opp ward and "left them to their own devices".

My views differ slightly here. Govt can afford to exclude wards like Hougang and Potong Pasir from all the goodies is because they are just rather small wards with a modest population. But what happpens if a large chunk of area like a 5 member GRC esp an impt one which houses the HDB hub falls to the opposition? Would the govt still leave a big area like that to their own devices? I very much doubt. Firstly, if such a big area does fall to the opposition, the PAP really has to worry that something has gone very wrong and the people are really angry...if they were to continue doing to Toa Payoh-Bishan which has a population of over 120,000 voters like what they did to Potong Pasir and Hougang, what do you think would happen?

Psychology plays a very impt part. Govt can afford to let a small minority part of Singapore became "backward". It doesn't really matter. But if large areas and esp more important areas like Toa Payoh, AMK, Jalan Besar GRC falls to opposition, they can't really use the same tactic to force voters to return them to power in next election. Most importantly our govt loved face very much and will not allow a big area which is near town or in town to become "backward" by not offering things like upgrading and etc.

Resale prices of properties doesn't really get affected by whether its govern by opp or the PAP. I can tell you that the prices of resale flats in the current Hougang ward isn't cheap at all. Condos in Potong Pasir such as One Leceister still commands a pretty good price. The properties in these areas have not really become cheap just because they are opp held areas.

PAP do loved us for thinking like tat then they will continue to have a near clean sweep because fear plays such a large part in how we vote.

Edited by Damienic

I totally agree with you that Jurong is a mess, more like a "SLUM"

It is filled with foreign workers, FT dormitory, common areas dirty, iiregular cleaning by TC.

Gave a piece of my mind to MP during his meet people round in 2008 but nothing was done. Just normal "YES YES" formalities and that's it.

I heard that other places in Hong Kah is just as bad (e.g Choa Chu Kang)

I learned that MP is paid approx. S$ 15k allowance a month for being our representative

Readf from news, Jurong GRC will be contested, i will do my part to fix them

My flat is a shelter that i call home, its value increase, decrease also not my biz coz if i sell it i got no where to live. I am not those elites that own a few private properties n a flat, flat sell liao still got place to live in. LKY word is juz trying to threaten us, scare us, he know sporean weakness, we r a very fearful timid. A little bit will scare the hell out of us, we muz stand our ground this time.

People assume that whenever a ward is under opposition it will slowly become "backward" because either the opp can't take care of it or govt just neglect them because it became an opp ward and "left them to their own devices".

My views differ slightly here. Govt can afford to exclude wards like Hougang and Potong Pasir from all the goodies is because they are just rather small wards with a modest population. But what happpens if a large chunk of area like a 5 member GRC esp an impt one which houses the HDB hub falls to the opposition? Would the govt still leave a big area like that to their own devices? I very much doubt. Firstly, if such a big area does fall to the opposition, the PAP really has to worry that something has gone very wrong and the people are really angry...if they were to continue doing to Toa Payoh-Bishan which has a population of over 120,000 voters like what they did to Potong Pasir and Hougang, what do you think would happen?

Psychology plays a very impt part. Govt can afford to let a small minority part of Singapore became "backward". It doesn't really matter. But if large areas and esp more important areas like Toa Payoh, AMK, Jalan Besar GRC falls to opposition, they can't really use the same tactic to force voters to return them to power in next election. Most importantly our govt loved face very much and will not allow a big area which is near town or in town to become "backward" by not offering things like upgrading and etc.

Resale prices of properties doesn't really get affected by whether its govern by opp or the PAP. I can tell you that the prices of resale flats in the current Hougang ward isn't cheap at all. Condos in Potong Pasir such as One Leceister still commands a pretty good price. The properties in these areas have not really become cheap just because they are opp held areas.

PAP do loved us for thinking like tat then they will continue to have a near clean sweep because fear plays such a large part in how we vote.

Good points...but sadly, most old folks think otherwise because they have benefited from team thunder since independent.

Seems like alot of people are making their moves and decisions.

So...what does this tell the people... erectionss is coming soon.

Chiam has been a veteran for Potong Pasir for so many years.

By moving on to other wards, from how I see, is actually making a nice retirement profile.

Dun be surprise if the hammer old man also doing the same...he's around 60+.

Quite a good portfolio to have before retirement if they are sucessful.

This time round errectionss could be one of the biggest oppositions contested for the past 20yrs.

With the 3 way allies and a hammer...pappies are in for a good time...

Lets just sit back, watch and vote wisely. This could be the time for the citizen to make a difference.

Well said.

If the area gets heated up too much. We will probably see the MM, SM, PM & DPM there to help support their party members... dangling million dollar carrots. [laugh]

Public housing must never be used as an investment tool as mentioned by our PM. No one will be a winner except the ones that sell it.

The whatever profit that our parents made will only be paid back by the next generation and onwards.

The goal of an affordable housing has definitely lose much of its initial direction.

ah chiam has my vote , housing or no. i felt that there must be a counter balance

team thunder thinks by doing changes when it erection time will cover up for all the s h i t during the term. forget it

i am voting based on what i see the last 4 years not the last 4 month of FAKE actions

But if Mr Mah loses to the opposition, he warned that Singaporeans better sell their flats fast as they would no longer be of any value.

My comments : If they are to lose they better pack their bags , once Singapore starts to ask where our money go i wanna see how MBT and the rest of the ministers answer that , billions of dollars lost and we can't even get to see the books ? We need to know it from other people's mouth , via other nation's broadcaster to know that we loss X billions. Tell me that the minister are doing their jobs to SERVE its citizens and not asking why or where did the money go. Neither informing us about it.

Get paid millions a year but can't even SERVE the people who voted them. I believe as EDUCATED Singaporeans , we deserve some rights to know and participate in our nation building. The education gap between the so called "elites" and the middle class are getting closer. They can't see the traditional methods they used 20 years ago on us don't work anymore. Just look at so called elites(scholars) , 80% can't even make it as an entrepreneur if they are out fighting with a pool of sharks. Completely no street smarts only book smart.

Since they can't think of a better ideas , Now threaten us? Time to open your eyes and look for a person or people with vision which can bring us through the next century.

Edited by CH_CO

http://www.straitstimes.com/BreakingNews/S...ory_483139.html

THE current contentious issue on the affordability of public housing was given another airing by Minister Mentor Lee Kuan Yew who cautioned Singaporeans not to cast a protest vote against the ruling party over this.

As Singaporeans lament rising flat prices, he said they ought to understand that the Government sells them at a subsidised price, below market rate, so that they can own an asset that will appreciate in value over the years.

It adds to their wealth and this is an asset-enhancing policy Mr Lee believes citizens should not find fault with.

If they do, they must be 'daft', he said, at a dialogue during a housing conference as part of a series of events to mark the Housing and Development Board's 50th anniversary.

And if National Development Minister Mah Bow Tan is unable to defend this policy, 'he deserves to lose' at the next general election, he quipped, to laughter from the participants, including a chuckling Mr Mah.

But if Mr Mah loses to the opposition, he warned that Singaporeans better sell their flats fast as they would no longer be of any value.

knn, call Singaporean daft and threaten property price crash.... wtf

This is BS...

Look at the 70s & 80s when HDB was first released.

No matter which floor you live in, which direction you face, face carpark or dustbin collection point, all selling at the same price.

4 rm was like 48 - 65k depending on which district. All thru balloting. If not happy dun take and wait for next round for your luck.

If they really wanna subsidise for the citizen, they should have done something similar to what the north did.

Implement tariff tax of 30% for any foreigners or PR who wish to buy the house. Housing price in the north did not increase like how SG does.

For the past 20 years only increase by 100% but Sg increase like 400%

Progress in SG is moving too fast for the locals to keep up. Which landed us in this situation.

Reading from the media on how they roti prata here and there...already sian liao...

Seems like these will be the key topics in the upcoming errections

Housing

Job stability for locals

Educations

Retirement

So-called subsidise rates

Cost of living

Pure locals or FT

ah chiam has my vote , housing or no. i felt that there must be a counter balance

team thunder thinks by doing changes when it erection time will cover up for all the s h i t during the term. forget it

i am voting based on what i see the last 4 years not the last 4 month of FAKE actions

Agreed with your sentence on counter balance.

We have MPs who act on our behalf to vote on actions or implementations by the gahment.

But now we only have 2% who is opposite.

Just like when they wanted to increase GST, the house rule in favour by majority of 75%.

All came from pappies.

We need more of the oppositions so that they cannot do whatever they want base on they are the majority.

the papaya should stop treating us like KIDS when talking to us

we have all grown up already

they did, grown up must realise the important of $$$