New COE quota allocation

Picanto

one way to limit cars on the road?

restrict every household including miw and the richies to 1 car.

if any reason need 2nd car, justify per case basis and at a premium rate of say, x2 of current COE price.

one way to limit cars on the road?

restrict every household including miw and the richies to 1 car.

if any reason need 2nd car, justify per case basis and at a premium rate of say, x2 of current COE price.

Does you even think thats fair? My brother is a working adult owns an OPC car, while my dad owns a normal plate car....I am planning to get a car for my work needs....I strongly feel that by using this method would not help. Besides, we are not really rich.....We really need cars as our transports.........Besides, we took bank loans which are above 6 years....... Please do consider about people who needs vehicles to travel around for their work.......

I see your intent, but to criminalize accidents? Come'on. What they should do is step up enforcement of traffic laws like speeding, reckless driving, tailgating and what-have-yous. That will cut down on accidents.

Dun have enough TP. If increase number of TP, will eat into govt budget and taxpayer money. So best way is deterrent sentence. After a few cases, everybody will scared and tink twice.

One more suggestion, right now, bidders pay for the lowest qualifying COE, i.e. someone may bid $30k but if in the end the COE is $25k, he only pay $25k. Govt should change the system so that you pay wat u bid (if successful). This will have a more honest "bidding" meaning right now, some rich guy may bid $50k for COE cos he knows in the end he will be saved by the not-so-rich ppl who will bid more sensible sums. This way the "rich" will always get their COE and be bailed out of exensive COE that they had bidded by the not-so-rich. In other words, they must be made to put their money where their mouth is!

Good point. I believe you are referring to a First-price sealed-bid auction (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Sealed_first-price_auction) where the buyer pays the amount of the bid to the seller.

The admin work is going to be crazy though. [shocked]

Why so difficult, just maintain say 900,000 cars on the road everyday.

As long as no congestion can liao lor.

I also can be minister man.

suddenly all used car dealers benefits on this scheme....all used cars price gone up for nothing man.??!!!

don't understand why govt cutting the coe??? they should control the passing rate of new drivers instead...

govt should implement more theory tests like 'A' level exam and than only straight As students get the chance to take LTA test..this must also control the number of passing candidate maybe to 1000 new drivers per year???? what you guys think? good?? [pirate]

I know wats the best way to get rid of jam.

Make it mandatory that if any car touch wood ganna buang, or break down and need toll truck, make it mandatory to cover number plate.

Good point. I believe you are referring to a First-price sealed-bid auction (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Sealed_first-price_auction) where the buyer pays the amount of the bid to the seller.

The admin work is going to be crazy though. [shocked]

Dun tink admin work will be difficult as nowadays everything can be computerised. Each potential bidder will submit all relevant info (NRIC, bank acct). They then go on to LTA website and bid online using SingPass. Once bid is placed, the bank will freeze that portion of money. Upon closing of bid, LTA server will sort out the successful ones and inform the bidder and the bank upon which the bank will immediately transfer the money to LTA.

Of course in reality, for 99.9% of ppl, the dealers bid on their behalf hence it could be the Ferarri/Lambo/Aston Martin/Bentley dealers that anyhow put very high COE but in the end their customers only pay wat the KIA dealer bid. So instead it is the dealers that will open acct with LTA and bid electronically (as thery are doing now) with the only difference is the actual bid amount is locked in and paid by the dealer.