SAF Combat Rations

Porkerlover

Hahaha, same here bro. Guess we're older batches. After trying both, i still find those canned ones are better. :wub:

Haha, that is why so many NS guys go to ntuc buy canned food before outfield.

Yea, i also had the curry chicken, dog biscuits, sardines for my NS.

Only item"controlled" is the chocolate. Controlled by storemen & QM

Are these menu from current MRE?

1) Chicken Rice

2) Murtabak

3) Briyani

4) Porriage

4) Waffles

5) Hot cakes

Edited by 5936

i like the rice-ed combat rations.. haha.. lo mai kai and peranakan chicken dumpling.. and a can of MILO!! heaven in the outfield if u these items.. the pasta sux man.. will get sick and tired of it if eat alot of it..

I wonder why they never Kp when so many of us wear our standard issue PT kit with the big word "ARMY" printed all over the back... :ph34r:

long time ago combat ration is not controlled.

then some smart guys brought them into Malaysia to consume during the Mount Ophir trip. Threw the empty cans (yes tin can) and wrappers on the hill side. The Malaysia park rangers found the rubbish and reported upwards. Malaysian Govnt made a big ho-ha over it, claiming SAF secretly sent its soldiers into Mount Ophir for operation or training.

After that incident, combat ration become controlled items.

Hahaha, same here bro. Guess we're older batches. After trying both, i still find those canned ones are better. :wub:

Let me see if I can recall.

1 Pack = 1 Man, 48hours Ration or 2 man, 24 hours. Comes in 1 Box of 3 packs.

Pack 1 - 1 tin of Sardine, baked beans & chicken (Muslim) or Pig leg (non-muslim)

Pack 2 - Pocari Powder, Pineapple Jam, Chocolate Bar, Horlicks Sweet Tablet

10 packets of dog biscuit

I normally exchange my sardine for baked beans with the Malay guys. They prefer sardine anyway. Cannot eat too much if not must poo-poo in field, very unpleasant.

If on the move, then only carry biscuit + chocolate bar, fits into Ammo pouch. Can sustain 12 hours plus on dat. ^_^

Let me see if I can recall.

1 Pack = 1 Man, 48hours Ration or 2 man, 24 hours. Comes in 1 Box of 3 packs.

Pack 1 - 1 tin of Sardine, baked beans & chicken (Muslim) or Pig leg (non-muslim)

Pack 2 - Pocari Powder, Pineapple Jam, Chocolate Bar, Horlicks Sweet Tablet

10 packets of dog biscuit

I normally exchange my sardine for baked beans with the Malay guys. They prefer sardine anyway. Cannot eat too much if not must poo-poo in field, very unpleasant.

If on the move, then only carry biscuit + chocolate bar, fits into Ammo pouch. Can sustain 12 hours plus on dat. ^_^

Yes almost all correct except the pig leg. Where got pig leg if got put into maggie mee eat damn shiok :D steam steam lei

1) Chicken Rice

2) Murtabak

3) Briyani

4) Porriage

4) Waffles

5) Hot cakes

Knnz, wah these days really got such items. Go outfield chiong hill or go party? wahahahaa

I loved the gultinous rice and pastas...satay pasta was nice as well but hated the nonya curry rice...thats something which my plt mates always threw away...LOL

Yes almost all correct except the pig leg. Where got pig leg if got put into maggie mee eat damn shiok :D steam steam lei

Ya, not pig leg lah..

Should be 'meat cube'

1) Chicken Rice

2) Murtabak

3) Briyani

4) Porriage

4) Waffles

5) Hot cakes

Of all the list, only Briyani Rice made it to the combat ration.....but don't rejoin...it's briyani rice is by name only, to me it hardly taste like briyani rice.

Ya, not pig leg lah..

Should be 'meat cube'

hehe...my mistake. Never eat that can. Looks like some decomposed parts. [nosebleed]

Hey guys...I was just wondering. Is it possible to still get SAF's combat rations after leaving the army? I really miss the pasta rations we used to get...*yum yum* The apricot snack bars were bloody damn good too...hahaha

all i can say is that u need to go out more often... eat out more often.

Dun worry, with food technology so advance, they can make any flavour of food. So you get plain rice/noddle and shachets of "flavour".

But I think we must admit it is far better than rations 20 years ago.

You are lucky that never try the old combat ratio mention by Dwoon in a earlier post...

Maybe only old soldiers that had already MR for sometimes taste it...

Don't call us old leh. Previous batch sounded much nicer. [laugh]

Used to just put combat ration pack on M113 engine to "microwave" :)

Hmm.... to be more specific you can microwave your ration on top of the engine compartment. The one cover with grill just infront of VC and right side of the driver seat. Day time use it to heat up ration and nite time use as bed because the heat generated keep you warm. The next best spot is the ramp door. Trust me...best place! [laugh]

Anyway i don't know much about other vocation practises, but as far as i know Amour personnel (my platoon), our SOP before field trip is to store up all the catridge boxes with NTUC ration. [laugh] Never touched the army ration through out my reservist life span. Survived only on aunty lucy stocks. Since the protocol of our beloved army discourage us from abusing the allocated ration, what mates done were to "ta pao" them for his workers at job site. Feedback from those workers were positive (tasty) [hur]