Snl2601 Clutched June 19, 2010 Share June 19, 2010 (edited) i recently got rear ended by a private bus on lane 1 while in a jam and he said "jam i can travel any lane i want" True..but See wat he got himself into? lols Edited June 19, 2010 by Snl2601 ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Renegade777 5th Gear June 19, 2010 Share June 19, 2010 I do drive van on my work assignment. I am also a car driver. I am happy that TP never pester van that travels 70km/hr on the lane2. Goods vehicles also pay road tax, also pays ERP and COE. Some more goods vehicles are 99% all the time rushing for time to meet datelines for deliveries. So van/lorries drivers time are as important as car drivers. Because there is no wrong or offence for the TP to successfully bring the van/lorries who keep to lane2 to court for whatever reasons. I mean if the toothless TP can find reason to summon or catch van/lorries who use lane2 or even lane1, they would have done it long long ago, and announce on newspaper and TV many time liao. After so many years(after the increase in speed limit to 70km/hr), the driving habit of van/lorry drivers has gotten used to the lane2 rule. No wrong according to TP/LTA, so why are only car drivers KPKB about it? Live with it, this is Singapore! Because some vans roadhogged the centre lanes. Front empty empty no cars and blocking everyone. Hope you do not do that. Always keep left if you are slow. It does not matter whether you can drive at 70km/hr or not. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Bystander50 5th Gear June 19, 2010 Share June 19, 2010 I do drive van on my work assignment. I am also a car driver. I am happy that TP never pester van that travels 70km/hr on the lane2. Goods vehicles also pay road tax, also pays ERP and COE. Some more goods vehicles are 99% all the time rushing for time to meet datelines for deliveries. So van/lorries drivers time are as important as car drivers. Because there is no wrong or offence for the TP to successfully bring the van/lorries who keep to lane2 to court for whatever reasons. I mean if the toothless TP can find reason to summon or catch van/lorries who use lane2 or even lane1, they would have done it long long ago, and announce on newspaper and TV many time liao. After so many years(after the increase in speed limit to 70km/hr), the driving habit of van/lorry drivers has gotten used to the lane2 rule. No wrong according to TP/LTA, so why are only car drivers KPKB about it? Live with it, this is Singapore! The problem is how often you see TPs on the roads nowadays. I make trips during working hours, and I can safely say, out of every 100 or more trips and I mean long distance, I only run into TP once. Another place where I'll see them when I drop by Ubi. They only appear when there's an accident which I believe they have no choice after being radioed. Moreover, so much of their duties have been outsourced, once can guess either their numbers are reduced or they are hiding somewhere. TP/LTA is smart, they allow these vehicles to travel at whatever speed they want on lane 1/2/3 now. Over time other drivers take it as part and parcel of daily driving and accept the fact. Till something serious caused by these drivers, then they'll take action. Just like Orchard Road flooding, no incident, the drainage are checked 3-6 months. Now they changing the frequency. It just need something to shame them deeply and we can see all these goods vehicles forced back to the left most lane. Another example is OPC cars. With the e-licence scheme, you see more of them on the roads than before. The question is how many of them actually buy the coupon? Most are taking chances. Last time with the paper licence, we can see if the licenced is purchased and stompers are happily snapping and uploading pics. Now, other than LTA and the drivers themselves, no other person will know if they've bought the license. All cleanly swept under the carpet. Enforcement? Only when they feel like it. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jasonjst 3rd Gear June 19, 2010 Share June 19, 2010 (edited) When you e-brake at 90kmh, would you want a fully loaded commercial vehicle at the same speed behind you doing the same? Ai yah , in other countries big and small can share the same road no problem , in SG got problem. Some thing wrong with the SG drivers or what ? Look at other countries , one lane only. Big trucks and buses travelling at 120 kmh , 140kmh......... If you are damn good just overtake them . If you scare to die just follow a safe distance behind lah . I bet that if these people will to travel at a damn slow speed of 70 kmh , it actually create more problem for other users ...... You think it is so easy to over take them if you got a small cc car or poor skill, even if they travel at 70kmh ? Go to MY or Thailand you will understand . I damn kia see , I always just follow a safe distance behind these very professional big trucks , they are your actually your eyes and clear the way ahead for you ....These professional drivers actually will give signal to slow down when danger is ahead , they dont anyhow jam brake one lah ! Our 1st class professional commercial vehicle drivers cannot handle their trucks at 90kmh , how to be world class ? SG must everything first , when come to this kind of thing all scare to die , must travel at 70kmh , last to die ! Edited June 19, 2010 by Jasonjst Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
5936 1st Gear June 19, 2010 Author Share June 19, 2010 Yea, agree. Some drive like they own the road. Some read newspaper, invoices, SMS. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jasonjst 3rd Gear June 19, 2010 Share June 19, 2010 Ai yah , in other countries big and small can share the same road no problem , in SG got problem. Some thing wrong with the SG drivers or what ? Look at other countries , one lane only. Big trucks and buses travelling at 120 kmh , 140kmh......... If you are damn good just overtake them . If you scare to die just follow a safe distance behind lah . I bet that if these people will to travel at a damn slow speed of 70 kmh , it actually create more problem for other users ...... You think it is so easy to over take them if you got a small cc car or poor skill, even if they travel at 70kmh ? Go to MY or Thailand you will understand . I damn kia see , I always just follow a safe distance behind these very professional big trucks , they are your actually your eyes and clear the way ahead for you ....These professional drivers actually will give signal to slow down when danger is ahead , they dont anyhow jam brake one lah ! Our 1st class professional commercial vehicle drivers cannot handle their trucks at 90kmh , how to be world class ? SG must everything first , when come to this kind of thing all scare to die , must travel at 70kmh , last to die ! Actually if one is fated to die , your car stationery also will die if accident happen unto you ! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sdf5725 1st Gear June 19, 2010 Share June 19, 2010 I damn kia see , I always just follow a safe distance behind these very professional big trucks , they are your actually your eyes and clear the way ahead for you ....These professional drivers actually will give signal to slow down when danger is ahead , they dont anyhow jam brake one lah ! Our 1st class professional commercial vehicle drivers cannot handle their trucks at 90kmh , how to be world class ? SG must everything first , when come to this kind of thing all scare to die , must travel at 70kmh , last to die ! The problem is not these professional drivers want to e-brake. it is cause by all the kuku private car drivers from my experience. These few years drive on lane 1 really very stressed. Everyone happy happy cruise at 90-100km/h then suddenly out of no where, can hard brake till 20-30km/h. It happened so many times till i have to maintain quite a long distance from the car in front. Still my passengers feel the sudden brake. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
AFV_V200 3rd Gear June 19, 2010 Share June 19, 2010 these day. I overtake from the right no more. I have to over take from the left into lane 2 and back to lane 1. sigh Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Quirky 3rd Gear June 19, 2010 Share June 19, 2010 And from what I observed, 50% of the time, the brake lights of heavy vehicles are usually poorly maintained (either not visible in daylight, or not working at all). will still overtake them.. cos they r too big n tall.. cannot see the traffic situation infront lol Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Yuan 6th Gear June 19, 2010 Share June 19, 2010 Because some vans roadhogged the centre lanes. Front empty empty no cars and blocking everyone. Hope you do not do that. Always keep left if you are slow. It does not matter whether you can drive at 70km/hr or not. For such kind of road hoggers, don't be surprised that they got those sleepy faces/looks early in the morning if you drive past them. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Yuan 6th Gear June 19, 2010 Share June 19, 2010 Ai yah , in other countries big and small can share the same road no problem , in SG got problem. Some thing wrong with the SG drivers or what ? Look at other countries , one lane only. Big trucks and buses travelling at 120 kmh , 140kmh......... If you are damn good just overtake them . If you scare to die just follow a safe distance behind lah . I bet that if these people will to travel at a damn slow speed of 70 kmh , it actually create more problem for other users ...... You think it is so easy to over take them if you got a small cc car or poor skill, even if they travel at 70kmh ? Go to MY or Thailand you will understand . I damn kia see , I always just follow a safe distance behind these very professional big trucks , they are your actually your eyes and clear the way ahead for you ....These professional drivers actually will give signal to slow down when danger is ahead , they dont anyhow jam brake one lah ! Our 1st class professional commercial vehicle drivers cannot handle their trucks at 90kmh , how to be world class ? SG must everything first , when come to this kind of thing all scare to die , must travel at 70kmh , last to die ! We are uniquely Singapore. When it starts to rain, there will sure to be accidents between cars, lorries, vans, buses, bikers, pedestrians etc on the roads. Very unique right? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Qr25vet Clutched June 19, 2010 Share June 19, 2010 True..but See wat he got himself into? lols well hes now claiming that i cut into his lane due to the point of impact (offset to the right) and hes biting on that and even daring to claim my insurance...wth.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
5936 1st Gear June 20, 2010 Author Share June 20, 2010 Yea, their lights cant ne trusted. See the second car's light in front of you. If not stay away from their back. Cant tell they if they brake Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
5936 1st Gear June 20, 2010 Author Share June 20, 2010 2 photos to share Goods vehicle using lane 1 Heavy Vehicle Seiged junction Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
The_young_once Neutral Newbie June 20, 2010 Share June 20, 2010 How about comercial vehicles also can travel at 90kmh . Then the whole expressway run in sychronise. I think is less danger that way, at least people do not need to siam here siam there .... agreed with that, maybe those trailer types limit to 70 or 80, but all the Hiace, small Suzuki & Daihatsu petrol vans, and eurovans like Combo, Caddy Doblo all these--come on la, authorities say 70 is for safety, all the modern vans are equipped like cars safety features wise, and they, being designed as vans, can handle safely the payload they supposed to carry anyway, I second removing limit for van! Power to the commercial drivers out there! I once used to drive a van, i know how silly the 70 limit is, sometimes is not about rushing or driving dangerously, for example, I religiously stick to slowest left-most lane, then encounter a trailer, going at 45-50 on e-way!?! I drop to 3rd gear to be considerate to other faster cars on lane 2, then change lane (to middle lane) to overtake, rev the s--t out the van 3rd gear bring it up to 80+ to overtake the trailer AND fit in with lane 2 speeds, immediately after overtake I keep left, but even in the short 5 seconds or so in lane 2, sometimes can kena high-beam by cars! so scrap this 70 rubbish, everyone drive normally at 90, just observe lane discipline please, a lot of people once pass license forget the "keep left unless overtaking" rule already; like someone earlier in this thread mentioned, passenger cars in lane 2 doing 60-70, THAT is unacceptable, please follow lane discipline, I think I mentioned in another thread before, I feel that there should be a law TP can fine/points drivers who dont keep left when a left-er lane is available, EVEN if they are going at legal limit of 90! Kenny Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
5936 1st Gear June 20, 2010 Author Share June 20, 2010 Lane 2 is also 90 km/h. All those below 70 km/h stick to the left most lanes. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Zanter 3rd Gear June 21, 2010 Share June 21, 2010 Once I get my HD camcorder, I will sent all the traffic culprits to TP. Become part time TP haha Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Csnewbie 1st Gear June 21, 2010 Share June 21, 2010 (edited) Actually in SG commercial vehicles that travel on lane 1 on expressways, its' drivers' licienses can be revoked.If the law's still there. But then no use also,cos got money go for course can get back liciense alrdy. So I suggest slapping rottan on serious traffic offenders,like road hogging,dangerous speeding etc. Edited June 21, 2010 by Csnewbie ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...