CPU fan error?

Little_prince

means that your CPU cannot operate as a failsafe measure since your fan cannot work properly. I bet your computer can't even do a POST. Open up your case and inspect visually.

my first guess is your cpu power supply unit to the fan has a problem. you can either change the fan itself or change the whole power supply unit. you can send it the any repair pc shop to check it out and ask them for advice. if psu change below 50 also can get. below 100 also can get. depends on brand.

Edited by Norzahari

check whether the fan is spinning when powering on the cpu.

If not, you need to change the cooling fan unit.

You should also take note whether the HDD is spinning up.

thanks for the advice guys... i open up and saw fan not spinning....

but i computer idiot... please guide me step by step!

1. it's CPU fan error... not PSU fan error... or isit the same thing??

2. how to check bios? what is bios?

1. it's CPU fan error... not PSU fan error... or isit the same thing??

2. how to check bios? what is bios?

1) I know how to check dont know how to explan. let another bro explan.

2) press delete when booting up. or for some i think its Ctrl+s. not very sure though. then it enter a blue screen.

Step 1: Send PC to service centre ( AD or Sim Lim Square)

Step 2: Tell them problem

Step 3: Wait

Step 4: Collect PC and pay.

wallah!

You need to remove faulty CPU fan + the existing thermal paste.

Purchase new CPU fan + new thermal paste.

Apply thermal paste properly and stick CPU fan onto CPU.

Connect the wires and you should be doing fine.

Please remove thermal paste VERY CAREFULLY without doing damage to the CPU.

You need to remove faulty CPU fan + the existing thermal paste.

Purchase new CPU fan + new thermal paste.

Apply thermal paste properly and stick CPU fan onto CPU.

Connect the wires and you should be doing fine.

Please remove thermal paste VERY CAREFULLY without doing damage to the CPU.

thermal paste is between heatsink and CPU leh. fan is sitting on top of heatsink. so just remove fan can liao, maybe some clips or screws....

oh, i think you are right. remove fan will most likely loosen the heatsink.. yes,yes, need thermal paste ...

Edited by Ehchang8

If CPU fan not spinning, there is your problem. Dun need bother about bios settings.

Just replace a CPU fan. What CPU are u using?

26072010253.jpg

See the round black fan with an Intel logo in the fan hub? That's the CPU fan. The power supply is the black box located higher up. If your PSU fan is down, i suggest you change the whole PSU. DONT OPEN THE PSU. It has numerous capacitors and it can give you a bad shock by discharging all those residual electrical charge.

With your computer off and mains off, spin the fan blade light to test whether it can freewheel. if it can't, chances are

1.) there is too much dust

2.) there is too much friction in the ball bearings.

For 1.), clean up the dust.

For 2.) use a wee bit of Singer oil (lubricant) at the fan hub.

ok thanks bro!

shop quoted me 30 bucks to replace fan... think i'll do it there ...

scared of damaging the cpu

you got ask them, if after replacing the Fan. fan still cannot work need to pay or not??

Ya,lor.Some shop give you one week to change any faulty item that you bought from them

hmm... good point... what's the market practice?

Yes agree with Joseph22, you got to check and ascertain really is fan problem. Sometimes i tell you, pc troubleshooting is not easy. There was once i went to buy a PSU thinking is PSU kaput already and then it turns out that it was motherboard problem.

be sure. save your wallet.