Accident on 1st Aug@1745

After more than 20 years of driving (I have been driving more than 35 years), I met my first accient last week. Same here, someone bang into the car behind me and he hit me lor.

I am actually very lost, because previously you have to make a police report but now go to the insurance company or IDA. Then you got to decide if you want to claim from your own insurance first or claim from 3rd party through your workshop.

I would like to advice the following steps to be taken:

1) Do not move your car after the accident, take as many pictures as possible from all angles. To include the licence plates of all the car involved.

2) Record the particular of the drivers involved and if possible witnesses, if they are willing to provide such information.

3) If the party is willing to accept responsibility, record the conversation if he is OK with the arrangement.

4) Make the report to your insurance company regardless if you are going to settle or claim. This can be decided later, just in case.

5) If you don't hear from the party within 1 day of settlement, best to proceed with the claim if it is not your fault.

Hi guys, any other input?

Both parties are supposed to move the car as soon as possible if there is no injury to either party. You can take as many pictures as you want but you have to move your car as soon as possible otherwise you are obstructing traffic and if someone calls the police, both of you can be booked.

Just wondering what if after 14 days, NTUC till got dispute over this case. Can i still hold on or appeal or something... die die want them to pay for the repair .... don't want to claim my own ins first... seen like not many AD will allow u to do 3rd party claim.

Appreciate yr advise.

Just wondering what if after 14 days, NTUC till got dispute over this case. Can i still hold on or appeal or something... die die want them to pay for the repair .... don't want to claim my own ins first... seen like not many AD will allow u to do 3rd party claim.

Appreciate yr advise.

from other site for more info on similar case of yours.

Hi all,

Saw this from another forum and thought it would be good to share it here.....

What do I do if I am involved in an accident?

Stay cool and don't panic. If no injury is involved, do drive your vehicle to the side of the road or somewhere safe.

You should have a copy of the Singapore Accident Statement (SAS) form in your vehicle. The SAS form should be completed at the scene of accident and it consists of two parts:

Accident Statement (Part 1):

Fill and complete this part. Get the other driver involved in the accident to fill up his version on Vehicle B portion and sign it too. The SAS form is carbonised, one copy for you and one copy for the other driver. The Accident Statement helps us to establish the basic facts of the accident. It is not an admission of liability.

Individual Statement (Part 2):

This part can be filled later as it does not require the signature of the other driver. Once completed, please proceed to submit your SAS form to our Reporting Centres within 24 hours or latest, next working day after accident.

If none of the drivers involved has a Singapore Accident Statement form, then be sure to take note of the essential details:

The registration numbers (number plates) of all other vehicles involved

The names, NRIC No, addresses and telephone numbers of the other driver(s)/owner(s) and any witnesses

The names of insurance companies for the other driver(s)

SAS forms are also available at our Reporting Centres.

Avoid all roadside touts offering free tow-truck services and referral to unauthorised workshops with free use of rental cars. They may compromise your claim or defence to a claim.

Avoid discussing liability with others involved in the accident, or their lawyers. Refer all communications from them to your insurance company.

If an accident involves injury, do not shift the car, call the police immediately. You must also make a police report within 24 hours of an accident involving

Damage to a government vehicle or property

A foreign vehicle

A pedestrain or cyclist

A hit-and-run party

Accident in Malaysia

For accidents in Malaysia, you must make a Malaysian police report within 24 hours even though the accident is between Singapore registered vehicles. You will need to pay a fine of RM300 if you are assessed to be at fault.

If towing services are required, you can call your insurance 24-hour hotline for assistance.

You will have to pay for the towing service directly to the recommended service provider, based on mutual agreement. The service provider will tow your car to the nearest reporting centre and you can then file an accident report at same reporting centre upon your return to Singapore. You can submit a claim upto $200 for the towing service as provided for under the Scope of Cover of your policy.

Third Party Claims

If you have reported the accident to your inurance, they will handle the third party claims for you. They will communicate with the third party and/or their lawyers and resolve the matter at best for you.

It is common for lawyers to serve Writ of Summon for third party claims. Do not be alarmed. They will accept service on your behalf. However, in case the lawyers have acted against their request and serve it on you personally, you should hand it to them immediately upon receipt so that they can appoint their lawyer to enter appearance on your behalf within the next 8 working days. You may call your insurance for advice.

Repairing your vehicle

For policyholder insured under the Quality Plan /Classic Plan, your car insurance will assign an appointed Quality Workshop to repair your vehicle. In normal circumstances, the repair will commence within 2 business days after reporting. The actual time taken for the repair will depend on the extent of the damages. The workshop will provide a 6 months warranty on the repair.

For policyholder insured under the Premium Plan, you can have the repair of your vehicle carried out at the car distributor's workshop or your preferred workshop:

- You will report the accident at their reporting centres before sending the vehicle to your workshop.

- They will assign their surveyor to survey the vehicle once your workshop submits a repair estimate to NTUC Income.

Spare Parts unavailability

The insurer shall not be responsible if the spare parts are not available. Arrangement will be made for the unavailable spare parts to be shipped in at their cost. However, if the spare parts have to be air freighted, then the air freight charges shall be borne by the policyholder. During the period where spare parts are not available and due to this the repair is delayed, neither courtesy car nor transport allowance will be provided. Additional parts / Mods to your car will not be covered by your insurance.

Policyholders are reminded that under the Non-Injury Motor Accident Report Scheme, they are required to lodge motor accident reports with the reporting centres authorised by insurance companies. They need not lodge non-injury accident reports with the police. This scheme aims to expedite the processing of claims and facilitate the retrieval of accident reports at lower cost.

For injury accidents* or non-injury accidents involving a government vehicle/damage to government property, a foreign vehicle**, a pedestrian or cyclist, or non-injury "hit-and-run" cases, drivers are required to lodge police reports in addition to the motor accident reports which they will still have to lodge with their insurance companies.

Just tell the driver u settle for about $1-1.5k taking into consideration ur inconvenience. Both fill up and duplicate pet settlement form. Both to down idac to report and indicate pte settlement. If u follow accordingly, both u and him are covered.

Edited by Alechi

Just came back with my unrepaired car. Decided to claim against his ins (NTUC) instead of mine becos of the temp loss of NCD. BM say the event will take 14 days max. After which NTUC accessor still no response, i have to claim my own ins first then followed by his which i think is very unfair.

A driver is always wrong when he bump into another car. *make sense*

Is this the only way to move on?

Is it the right practise that i have to drive back first before NTUC can come down to access??? BM say they are not liable for any lost & damage to my car...

Call MSIG also get them to log down the call, acknowledge the email with the photos that i send in. Gotten the case ID also just in case they didn't receive. They confirm that my NCD will not be affected and only for filing purpose.

So sorry, i very kiasu... many many questions...

Friend. BM is smoking u. Your accident is clear cut, so u can just go ahead claim his insurance, instead of claiming self. Wonder what kind of rubbish advice ur BM person is giving. In fact, in most workshops, for situation such as yours, you'd don't even need to pay for repair. They will claim from the merc driver's insurer direct.

Sorry I knew I can't post here but I have no choice as I can't start a new topic yet.

Hi, I'm a newbie here. As I cannot start a new topic since I've less than 25 post, pardon me.

I'm in need of advice urgently and hope people here can help.

I met with an accident 2 weeks ago at Lentor Ave and although I suffered only minor injuries, my car was wrecked totally. According to my insurer (HSBC), they claim that it's not worth repairing and declared it as "total loss". And they says that the insurance payout won't be enough to cover my loan with GE Money.

True enough, GE told me that I must be prepared to pay at least 20k+/- to fully settle the loan. Now the problem is I do not have the money to do so.

Therefore, I need to know what I can do now? Somebody please advise.

Thanks

Friend. BM is smoking u. Your accident is clear cut, so u can just go ahead claim his insurance, instead of claiming self. Wonder what kind of rubbish advice ur BM person is giving. In fact, in most workshops, for situation such as yours, you'd don't even need to pay for repair. They will claim from the merc driver's insurer direct.

Most ADs don't want to do 3rd party claim, unless both partied are from the same insurer..then maybe they will do so. ADs just want to collect money ASAP...don't want to get involved with anything else and without any delay.

3rd party workshops will usually do the repair without the owner footing the bill if is a clear-cut case.

Sorry I knew I can't post here but I have no choice as I can't start a new topic yet.

Hi, I'm a newbie here. As I cannot start a new topic since I've less than 25 post, pardon me.

I'm in need of advice urgently and hope people here can help.

I met with an accident 2 weeks ago at Lentor Ave and although I suffered only minor injuries, my car was wrecked totally. According to my insurer (HSBC), they claim that it's not worth repairing and declared it as "total loss". And they says that the insurance payout won't be enough to cover my loan with GE Money.

True enough, GE told me that I must be prepared to pay at least 20k+/- to fully settle the loan. Now the problem is I do not have the money to do so.

Therefore, I need to know what I can do now? Somebody please advise.

Thanks

Are you at fault? If you are, then I guess there is nothing you can do. Cos insurer will only agree to do the repair of the car if your car cost more than the repair itself.

But if you are not at fault, then you can talk to your insurer to recover the cost of car + outstanding loan + other misc. If you insurer don't want to help, you may have to engage your own lawyer, which will be costly.

Thanks bro for your advise. But if NTUC still contest with the dispute after 14 days, what should i do? appeal? continue to hold on...?

If that happen, in most of the cases I heard, you will either have too foot the bill on your own, then claim...or claim from your own insurance if you want to repair the car fast. No point waiting for too long, cos no one will be working on the case for you, unless you are going call the other party's insurer to press the to agree to the estimated repair bill.

save all the troubles and calls since you're on the right side with evidence/ proof.

Don't get that claimed to be flirty rich with many impt mtg held you up. Nowadays many on disguise esp those seen driven in good cars.. sorry to say it and not to spite anyone out there but mainly giving real examples to our friends. You never know the dark side of them. :o If he is damn rich and on the spot should have write out a cheque and hand over to you instantly and just wait for your call. [:p]

Reporting to insurance is pretty easy and no waiting game. So what if you're to wait for a year before case concluded and you're still the winner and NCD will be reverted back to you without sacrifying, worrying of anything or thinking some will outrun the system or kanna hit back. Insurance with capable lawyer with 100% sure win case will fight for their right and yours.

Still be a gentleman and give him the last warning and you do it your way if goes unheeded.

Not true.... what is the person say he no money and he don't had insurance cover. ... I kena before...

Edited by Patkuah

Not true.... what is the person say he no money and he don't had insurence cover. ... I hana before...

That's the reason i said the dark side of him... and it can be anything of driving stolen car and etc,,.. just too many to list and better to report don't wait for him to come to you. No money and trying to buy time or no insurance coverage...this is worst and it constitute an offence.

Yo Bros,

Just to share, this morning BM called me. NTUC will foot 100% for my bill and mine being a OPC is not entitied to courtesy car. Is it true? They will instead give me 30 bucks transport allowance each day for the 3 repair days. I think take allowance is a better deal.

Will be sending my car in tomorrow morning for accessment.

Thanks.