Ignition Boosters pros and cons.. Care to share?

experts out there..

what are the pros and cons on ignition boosters?

supposed to improve ignition with complete combustion but does it affect ECU? affect spark plugs life span? affect ignition coil life span?

Please share, cheers!!

ITs trash trash trash.

If you want yo boost your ignition, you need a proper CDI. Then increase your spark plug gap. And you will get much stronger spark and better combustion and more power.

But then, its EXPENSIVE!! For a 4 cylinder car, you need something like a MSD DIS4 ignition module and its $800-$1K!! M&W makes good ignition units too!!

ITs trash trash trash.

If you want yo boost your ignition, you need a proper CDI. Then increase your spark plug gap. And you will get much stronger spark and better combustion and more power.

But then, its EXPENSIVE!! For a 4 cylinder car, you need something like a MSD DIS4 ignition module and its $800-$1K!! M&W makes good ignition units too!!

maybe not considered trash lah, but i agree it's expensive, unless one thinks it's worthwhile.

I think i remain stock, just change whenever needed.

Anyway i dun race.

Thanks for the sharing Mini-itx!

Your coil mainly takes in 12V and output to around 20KV. In order to achieve such high voltage, it needs around 150:1 turns ratio. This means the secondary windings in the coil is extremely thin (something like your hair) and very little current.

Ignition booster supply slightly higher voltage 15-18V and make your secondary voltage higher to around 24KV. Slightly more current as well. Slightly better but you risk burning out other stuffs in your car because of the 15-18V.

So a better solution? CDI and better coils. CDI uses capacitor to charge from 12V to 400-500V. And "racing" coils uses thicker wires of lower resistance and around 100:1 turns ratio or lower. When the CDI supply 400V to your coil, the output becomes 40KV, much more than any ignition booster out there. Much higher power output as well. With such high voltage, you can open up your spark plug gap and still achieve an even stronger than stock spark and hence better combustion and more power.

Down side of CDI is cost...... ITs EXpENSIVE......

To overcome this shorter ignition time, most CDI systems are actually multi-spark at low RPMs though (>3K RPM). This actually aids combustions and cranking. CDI is now preferred over TCI because it can produce multiple hotter pulses.

CDI runs at a higher temperature and it is prone to failure. a CDI also cost much more than TCI. in short, car manufacturers will not be bothered with CDI if it is not needed since most cars redline at 6.5k rpm - 8k rpm.

To sum up, just stick to TCI la. it produces better fuel consumption and is proven to last longer. cheaper.. in fact, u can even DIY it.

CDI runs at a higher temperature and it is prone to failure. a CDI also cost much more than TCI. in short, car manufacturers will not be bothered with CDI if it is not needed since most cars redline at 6.5k rpm - 8k rpm.

To sum up, just stick to TCI la. it produces better fuel consumption and is proven to last longer. cheaper.. in fact, u can even DIY it.

Well...... it all comes down to how much $$$ you have lor. CDI is really not cheap esp. when you have more than 4 cylinders.....