Why not an Aston Martin?

Gambel32

This is out of curiousity...Sorry if it disturbs you in any way! [drivingcar]

I have been wanting an Aston Martin for the longest of time and right now the most motivating model is the Aston Martin V12 Vantage! It's tickling my wallet for awhile and the reason why it is still my dream car because my mates never fail to desuade me into parting my buck for it, they call it the "James Bond wanabe", "Over-priced Jaguar XJ", "Ford-Aston Martin Crap", "Power-Beauty-Soul...?" and some say it looks like an MX-5! However the part that I love about Aston is it's understatedness, nobel, curves but I really hate that they are putting parts from Volvo and Ford into it and there is way way too much "Cheap looking plastics" for its pricetag. Truth be told that when you fire up the engine, the pitch that the engine makes its ridiculously driving me nuts everytime. The ride and build quality is no less better than your Ferrari, Lamborgini and Bentley. The pricetag really tickles me with what I am getting for my buck however I really don't understand why we see so few of them on our turfs.

This is how I look at Aston Martins. A Beautiful, Slutry and Curvy "English" Personal Assistant at my disposal and service. She speaks to you into your ears saying "Take me further and harder boss, I'm all yours!" The best part is you can understand every single word that she says! Hahahahhaha...perhaps it is just me that I'm too imaginative!

In the first place no one in the right of logic will get a supercar in Singapore I guess? Thank you in advance and looking forward to your comments and opinions !

Cheers!

Gambel

Edited by Gambel32

the argument why have a supercar (despite many already on the roads/sitting spare in $millionaire's private garage) is the same as not to own any car at all here, because it's illogically overpriced. i agree but power of the masses will change people's mind over years, so now we have close to 1m cars registered locally..when i returned from the west 5 yrs ago i resolved not to buy in gov't taxes to get a car just for showy status as is the trend in singapore, now i have 2 (and at one point 3 non Jap luxury cars which my conscience frantically trimmed off one to bring below hitting 1000L fuelage against our air:)

I have been wanting an Aston Martin for the longest of time and right now the most motivating model is the Aston Martin V12 Vantage! It's tickling my wallet for awhile and the reason why it is still my dream car because my mates never fail to desuade me into parting my buck for it, they call it the "James Bond wanabe", "Over-priced Jaguar XJ", "Ford-Aston Martin Crap", "Power-Beauty-Soul...?" and some say it looks like an MX-5! However the part that I love about Aston is it's understatedness, nobel, curves but I really hate that they are putting parts from Volvo and Ford into it and there is way way too much "Cheap looking plastics" for its pricetag. Truth be told that when you fire up the engine, the pitch that the engine makes its ridiculously driving me nuts everytime. The ride and build quality is no less better than your Ferrari, Lamborgini and Bentley. The pricetag really tickles me with what I am getting for my buck however I really don't understand why we see so few of them on our turfs.

This is how I look at Aston Martins. A Beautiful, Slutry and Curvy "English" Personal Assistant at my disposal and service. She speaks to you into your ears saying "Take me further and harder boss, I'm all yours!" The best part is you can understand every single word that she says! Hahahahhaha...perhaps it is just me that I'm too imaginative!

In the first place no one in the right of logic will get a supercar in Singapore I guess? Thank you in advance and looking forward to your comments and opinions !

Cheers!

Gambel

Why not consider the cheaper cousin of Ferrari? :wub:

I think the Vantage is a fair bit pricey...

Cheers!

Gambel

How the fcuk did you make so much money by being so indecisive? I mean it in a good way... ^_^

Hahahahaha....Bavarian, I like your expression, It's real funny and I found it a good question though! Here is what I was indecisive about... 1. I am a Ferrari fan and I like the Italia but sadly it looks like a Lamborgini Gallado, to me they had loose their footings towards what they are. My favourite Ferrari is the F430 Scudria

2. Lamborgini is cool but I can't relate to its style but I adore the LP550-2 but....the first reason applies.

3. All is good with the Aston Martin V12 Vantage before you sit in it but when you fire it up, everything just does not matters anymore!

I quoted on another thread that there are 5 important elements to a car before it can be labelled as a great car. Of which Price of the car is not relavant.

1. Design

2. Performance and Reliability

3. Ride Quality

4. Quality of Interior

5. People - In and With the Brand (Brand owners and Drivers)

Till date...Ferrari is the only supercar brand that had consistantly triumph over these 5 elements. Honestly I am not that well off to live with something that I don't love at a 100%!

I have a habbit of keeping the cars I drive because I love before I bought it and still lovin it till today, my beemer is with me since 2003, my SL500 since 2006 and I plan to drive till I scrap my XC90 unless something unexpected happen...

Some of my favourite videos of Aston Martin V12 Vantage:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=amDQBnrGa7k

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=_XhMDwSlfyo...feature=related

Rev note:

Edited by Gambel32

I am sorry I am unable to assist you because I have yet experienced such a 'problem' but do let us know the final outcome and if possible, come along for a MU sometime or another because we'll definitely be interested in what ever choice you have made. ^_^

If you want it then buy lah.

Not everything needs to be done by logic or reasoning. Singaporeans are too "straight" in that way. Everything must be justified in tangible terms.

No wonder people say we are 'dead' inside.

Till date...Ferrari is the only supercar brand that had consistantly triumph over these 5 elements.

m8, you only live once, someone once said, it is better to live to regret than to live in regret.

just do it.

Hahahahaha....Bavarian, I like your expression, It's real funny and I found it a good question though! Here is what I was indecisive about... 1. I am a Ferrari fan and I like the Italia but sadly it looks like a Lamborgini Gallado, to me they had loose their footings towards what they are. My favourite Ferrari is the F430 Scudria

2. Lamborgini is cool but I can't relate to its style but I adore the LP550-2 but....the first reason applies.

3. All is good with the Aston Martin V12 Vantage before you sit in it but when you fire it up, everything just does not matters anymore!

I quoted on another thread that there are 5 important elements to a car before it can be labelled as a great car. Of which Price of the car is not relavant.

1. Design

2. Performance and Reliability

3. Ride Quality

4. Quality of Interior

5. People - In and With the Brand (Brand owners and Drivers)

Till date...Ferrari is the only supercar brand that had consistantly triumph over these 5 elements. Honestly I am not that well off to live with something that I don't love at a 100%!

I have a habbit of keeping the cars I drive because I love before I bought it and still lovin it till today, my beemer is with me since 2003, my SL500 since 2006 and I plan to drive till I scrap my XC90 unless something unexpected happen...

Some of my favourite videos of Aston Martin V12 Vantage:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=amDQBnrGa7k

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=_XhMDwSlfyo...feature=related

Rev note:

730L Beemer? XC90? sounds like a friend of mine in FS ICT Khatib Camp(2008)..... [sly][gossip]

Don't forget the tax they contribute mate. big $$$ means big apetite, big...... everything also big. not forgetting big $$$ to give gahmen every year after assessment [bigcry]

I begin to love this forum already...because we can talk about perspective than someone coming up and tell you that you are &^%$#@!...but he forgot that he is a sour grape! Hahahahaha....

Hanzo82: I am from 4sir when I was active but we can be friends for sure! :D Tax everywhere but no where else in asia you will be safe driving a car like that. My indo friends have all these super cars in the stable but only drive it within their estate to go to the supermarket with a driver and bodyguards tailing behind...Whats the point? In Sg our super cars cruise...In most parts of asia, they are like running for their lives should they choose to hit the roads! If there is a traffic jam...???? :ph34r: will come!

Voxy28: I know where are you pointing...and they have a reputation of catching fire! [:(] I totally agree that the Vantage price is a bit stiff thats the fun part mah and thats why its noble which your "Ah LXXX" or "BooXXe" will not drive. True?

Fresh: Are you talking about a BMW M8? I think whether to "live in" or "live with" isn't the point because it is a state of mind that you engage on a problem. Very sian one leh...everyday see something that you don't love, I learned this the hard way...

What is the common point between a Mercedes SLS and a Mecerdes SL, they are sisters aren't they? LOL.... :D

Barvarian: LOL...Don't say this...All remarks and comments most definately have their worth and senses, most people in the right of mind will voice it out. As I am a neutral newbie, I don't really understand the lingo "MU", would you mind sharing?

Benarsnal: I felt your sentiments and agree however I felt that the real problem is that we are too IR-lized...however to those that said we are dead inside, I wonder how alive are they outside? It is specially obvious after the IR came up that We want too many things and too unwilling to let go too many things. Thanks for your pointer! :)

Thank you guys for all the contributions but I haven't found the answer on "Why ain't Singaporeans buying Aston Martins?"

>>> Is it because...

1. It just doesn't appeals as a super car?

2. It is an MG in the making?

3. It is behind time in the sense of technology and everything else?

I love most of the car but I hate the dashboard and control panel the most, I personally thing that its Fugly and that stupid clock has to be redesign, it looks like a small alarm clock that I can get for $10, if you can't make something like or better than Maserati...DON'T! Don't they know the 80/20 rule? The worst thing to do is to try to be something, immediately you become comparable. A driver spends more time looking at the car...This they pass but they forgot when a driver is in the car...more than just the engine or the ride quality is appreciated, what they see in it is as important! Its Power...to a certain degree, Its Beauty...only on the outside and Soul...is really questionable when only half of the concoction is done right!

Forgive my bluntness but these are the very reasons I am not getting one no matter how much I like it! Perhaps one they when AM evolves like Volvo, I would be happily parting my money and parking one in my stable.

What do you guys think?

^^I think most of us do not have much experience with AM or even other supercar brands. Since you are the one that is plonking down the money, driving and maintaining it, you have to make the final call. You should search out international AM forums and post your questions there and get feedback from AM owners rather than bystanders.

Personally, I love AM design but have no real life experience in its handling, build quality, reliability etc.

Besides AM, why not consider Maserati, Bugatti, Spyker, Koenigsegg and other similar vehicles?