Buying USD

Chiongster

i dun reccommend buying either USD or RMB, as mentioned by fellows above, USA is printing money and i predict it will not go back up at least in the long run. China, having undervalued currency for so many years, wun ever allow their currency to appreciate, as least not at this time. As it will greatly affect their export, esp at times where USD is so low. HK dollar however is at one of the lowest right now. But i am not sure abt the HK economy for now.

Euro is also low right now, analyst mentioned that euro is undervalued for germany right now, as germany is doing very well at the moment, but not to forget the rest of europe, which is quite weak.

Gold as some mentioned, is peg to USD, USD up gold down, USD down gold up.

So place yr bets on either USD or gold, but i tink gold is more likely, but having appreciate more than 30% in 3 mths, there wun be much growth now.

The USD has been sliding down all this years. There is speculation among VIPs (my kopi kakis ^_^ ) that it may reach 1.20 sgd before middle of next year.

It may be good for short term use like holidays... but to keep and wait for appreciation... maybe not too advisable... then again its only my 2 cents worth.

The USD has been sliding down all this years. There is speculation among VIPs (my kopi kakis ^_^ ) that it may reach 1.20 sgd before middle of next year.

It may be good for short term use like holidays... but to keep and wait for appreciation... maybe not too advisable... then again its only my 2 cents worth.

+1

If TS looking at using it for holidays or going there to raid there FOS, then its not too bad..

1.20? really? This is pleasing to my ears :wub:

+1

If TS looking at using it for holidays or going there to raid there FOS, then its not too bad..

1.20? really? This is pleasing to my ears :wub:

Bro... its speculation :) But i stand by it... and if you care to put your trust in old but experienced young-at-heart kopi peks... be my guest heh heh!

But yeah it may be that rate in give or take half a year. Now USD is trading at 0.77 per 1 SGD. That's 1.29 SGD per USD.

I'm going for RMB.

World economy is going to nuts. This is my safe bet. Everytime the USD is forced down, peepz at RMB is trying to keep their currency low.

It's a sooner or later thing that they are forced to make the necessary adjustments. 2 cents. [:/]

Bro... its speculation :) But i stand by it... and if you care to put your trust in old but experienced young-at-heart kopi peks... be my guest heh heh!

But yeah it may be that rate in give or take half a year. Now USD is trading at 0.77 per 1 SGD. That's 1.29 SGD per USD.

abit too soon to reach 1.2.. but u are 'almost' there... [:p]

better keep ur sg, USD will drop and lower than sg soon, print so much money, anyhow print

Keeping our currency don't earn anything leh.... What i feel is SGD is going way too fast and too high and eventually will come down due to the inflation.

Our export is suffering now [:(]

I am not a currency expert so please feel free to share your views.

Buy AUD instead, it pays decent deposit rate of around 4% p.a. and a high yield currency usually gains strength. Australia is a resource based economy and if US and Europe were to recover in 2011 and assuming China/India continues to grow, demand for iron ore, coal, natural gas, wheat, will rise strongly and boost the Australian economy and its currency. If USD were to lose strength, commodity prices should rise to compensate for a weaker dollar (they are all priced in USD), so Australia should benefit as well. Commodity as a hedge against inflation?

Buy US equities instead of US dollar as US interest rate is at rock bottom level. At the rate they are printing monies, where is the bottom? But I feel it may be a good time to accumulate US equities, albeit gradually, but this is a long term play.

RMB won