Just Curious Why u guys love Rear Wheel Drive

Guniang

And more cabin space as well. RWD need the protrusion in the middle of the cabin for the center shaft. FWD don't need.

And yes, when it comes to safety FWD cars are usually safer to drive. thats because of its understeer characteristics. Its more dangerous for the tail to snap out and you do a 360 degrees spin than to simple go straight.

No center shaft also means lighter and better FC.

However, FWD has poor tyre wear. This is because your front wheels need to turn and move the car at the same time. So front tyres will get botak first. Need to do tyre rotation.

RWD car has better weight distribution then FWD. this is because FWD has engine on one eide and transmission on the other side and they are usually in front of the front wheel. RWD engine is in the center of engine bay and transmission is under the dashboard. Btw, many AWD cars also suffer the same problem. Eg. Evo and Celica. Only WRX has even distribution.

I don't think RWD are regarded as less safe because they tend to spin. Understeering in a FWD where the car justs continues to go straight is equally dangerous.

I think it is more about the natural reactions of drivers that the FWD is safer.

becuz it's more rare? hahahaa............human love things that are not easy to get :P

Anyway not much diff between FWD or RWD unless it's driven hard la, when you corner, normally you dun full throttle anyway, that will make the different between FWD and RWD.

i full throttle pretty often while cornering. i really need LSD or RWD :wacko:

actually, not say full throttle. cos one wheel would be screeching away pointlessly. i whack until there's some wheelspin then back off slightly.

It's fun when under hard cornering, you feel the rear slip out ever so slightly, to help you turn in. That's it I guess. Heard it's bad for emissions though...

fwd also can lah.. power in then lift off and the rear will drift out too [sly]

Why is that so?

Most cars are front heavy, especially front wheel drive car. So at idle & low speed, the weight of the car pressing down the tires of the front driven wheel provide more grip.

Also, for front wheel driven car, if you lose grip, you can attempt to steer the wheel until you get a good angle with grip. You can't do that for rear wheel drive cars as the driving wheels doesn't turn.

But best id of course all wheel drive when comes to traction.

But of course, nowadays, RWD cars are better design to counter the lose of grip in ice & snow, but no matter, always get the right tires for the right road condition.

Most cars are front heavy, especially front wheel drive car. So at idle & low speed, the weight of the car pressing down the tires of the front driven wheel provide more grip.

Also, for front wheel driven car, if you lose grip, you can attempt to steer the wheel until you get a good angle with grip. You can't do that for rear wheel drive cars as the driving wheels doesn't turn.

But best id of course all wheel drive when comes to traction.

But of course, nowadays, RWD cars are better design to counter the lose of grip in ice & snow, but no matter, always get the right tires for the right road condition.

RWD can handle higher horsepower compare to FWD.

You replied to my post, but I was replying to Aeromania's post, and what you've written doesn't seem to address this, so I assume you've "mis-replied" [:p]

Suzuki 800 not bike meh? bike got FWD?

FWD can drift meh? skidding and drifting 2 different issue you know...

bro Suzuki 800 is a damm old school cars in the 80s...... bo liao (no more liao)

aye,... don't think so...

FWD understeers in dry because the front tyres lose traction in dry. In wet, the front tyres lose traction even more easily... you'll just go straight on instead of turning...

FWD actually has better traction control then RWD , especially in rain , the front wheel pull the car instead of rear wheel

FWD cars are typically very capable in poor weather

FWD actually has better traction control then RWD , especially in rain , the front wheel pull the car instead of rear wheel

FWD cars are typically very capable in poor weather

Yeah. I was asking why FWD was better than RWD. I'm not sure why the front wheels pulling the car would have better traction than the rear wheels pushing the car.

look at the number of misconceptions in this thread, nobody ever really knows why ppl prefer rwd

anyway my take is that rwd allows drifting, it doesn't give a better ride at all other than the fact that you can drift with it so its more fun

but for normal cars and day to day driving there's no difference

go sit in a merc taxi (rwd) and compare it against a sonata (fwd), you won't feel any difference other than the obvious

very simple, most people buy car dun really care FWD or RWD, more concern Auto or Manual!!! but car happen to be RWD cause most people buy Merc or BMW for the Make or Branding not because RWD!!

Same for Japanese or Korean cars owner, as these brand happen to produce more FWD thus they own FWD.

only minority care whether FWD, RWD or AWD.

some Conti owner from Merc or BMW change to AUDI because of AWD

hmmm... not sure how useful your comparison is, as one is a sports model and one is a luxury car...

But to see who wins, we should be comparing with a 325i or 335i for equivalent power-to-weight ratios. In this case, I'm not sure the CTR would win...

bro a 335i will rape CTR

Yeah. I was asking why FWD was better than RWD. I'm not sure why the front wheels pulling the car would have better traction than the rear wheels pushing the car.

because the weight of the engine or transaxle sits on top of the FWD cars , which further helps the car have better grip , especially in wet conditions

the thing is, the weight at the front of a FWD car is the reason why they understeer.