Fourth 2nd Gear February 10, 2011 Share February 10, 2011 Someone recently said something that I think deserves some thoughts. It is easy to spend money if you have it. What separates the "great" people, are those that can control their urge to spend. That having said, we cannot assume people who upgrades to condo are "show off". This is over generalizing. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Theoldjaffa Hypersonic February 10, 2011 Share February 10, 2011 I think people do like to show off in general. I mean if you have money, what should you buy to show off? Cars is for the TRUELY rich where money/depreciation no longer matters. Seriously, sometimes there is NO REASON for paying the premium other than to show off. You ask why people pay 1mil for a smaller condo unit in the same hdb location?? At least a condo has some facilities, security, etc. Why don't you ask why people pay 100x for a watch that tells the same time and have TOTALLY no use other than show people that you can afford an expensive watch? in a corporate acquisition, if company A's share is worth $1 apiece, company B may pay $1.50 to acquire it. the premium is for this intangible factor called "goodwill". the same reasoning can be applied to all the things we buy. don't ask why why why people pay premiums because humans are complex and we can never understand them because we are not them. just like i couldn't understand why buyers for my FIL's putehs or meroboks are willing to pay a few k for a bird but i accept their choice. so don't think so much la. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jj5599 1st Gear February 10, 2011 Share February 10, 2011 I think people do like to show off in general. I mean if you have money, what should you buy to show off? Cars is for the TRUELY rich where money/depreciation no longer matters. Seriously, sometimes there is NO REASON for paying the premium other than to show off. You ask why people pay 1mil for a smaller condo unit in the same hdb location?? At least a condo has some facilities, security, etc. Why don't you ask why people pay 100x for a watch that tells the same time and have TOTALLY no use other than show people that you can afford an expensive watch? Why people pay $1m for condo in suburban areas? Because they want a condo and these groups are priced out of the central regions. If they can afford at central region, don't you think they would buy there? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mustank Hypersonic February 10, 2011 Share February 10, 2011 having money is great! having a loving family is more impt http://singaporeseen.stomp.com.sg/stomp/sg...ill_as_one.html Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mllcg 3rd Gear February 10, 2011 Share February 10, 2011 Why people pay $1m for condo in suburban areas? Because they want a condo and these groups are priced out of the central regions. If they can afford at central region, don't you think they would buy there? remember the 5 Cs? im suprised no one mentioned it here. since we are talking about condo after all. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tonyhawk 1st Gear February 10, 2011 Share February 10, 2011 Why people pay $1m for condo in suburban areas? Because they want a condo and these groups are priced out of the central regions. If they can afford at central region, don't you think they would buy there? i dont really like central areas. if i were retired, i'd be happier far far away from the action, as long as theres a mini mart nearby of course. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Chengwh492 Clutched February 10, 2011 Author Share February 10, 2011 (edited) BEST POST EVER!! sinkies mentality, fragmented, cannot unite, get swoon easily by material needs and end up kena conn by the biggest ponzi master. open eyes big big when its time to make big decision otherwise FT will make your wivies their mistress or maid soon. Cannot say like that, rich man got rich man's aspiration, poor man got poor man's aspiration. Many heartland upgraders see the transition from 5 rm HDB to 2 bedder mass market condo as a kind of validation of their existence. To them, it provides an opportunity to show that they have surpassed the Joneses, and have some people to look down on. singapore is a society where people like to look down on other people on the level below them, regardless of strata. Our govt understands this mentality very well and their property ownership policies reflect that. Edited February 10, 2011 by Chengwh492 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jj5599 1st Gear February 10, 2011 Share February 10, 2011 Where you staying now? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Soya Supersonic February 10, 2011 Share February 10, 2011 what if the upgrader doesn't care as he just wants to show off that he can afford to house his family in a condo? there are many like that, you know. wanting something better in life is natural. same as cars lah. why buy beemer, merc, audi when a camry or teana will oso get u there wif relative comfort? but why i dun get is when the ppl buy a condo for the sake of "upgrading" when it's obvious that there will be compromises. i mean, it's like mr.tan ah kow who drives a ubiquitous toyota wish becoz he has the whole family in tow but decides to buy a golf as a way of "upgrading" becoz he can't afford anything above $100k. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...