How to reduce traffic on the road - The Real; Solutions

Majordan

yup. because it is easier to solve the housing problem and not the transport problem...

no need talk about cars and roads. even the MRT. to build track very fast. to upgrade the system, take very slow. came out a few months ago in the papers.

Not true that smaller CC cars are slower, this has something to do with driver leh !

Sometimes traffic crawling cos driver nv accelerate fast enuff to clear the traffic light, resulting long que.

As such each time 10 second green light only few vehicles can cross becos some self-fish driver accelerate like snail :angry:

Else day dream, green light lag few seconds then move off [rifle]

Yes this i agree , its mostly the drivers problem that caused the jam ! Should fine those snail drivers for road hogging :)

One viable one is to restrict good vehicles from the 2 extreme right lanes. If you notice during CNY and normal holidays where the goods vehicles aren't hogging the middle and lane 2 , traffic is always good.

i second that :D

These are the irritating fellows who travelled all lanes including lane 1. We are not able to see far enough becos of their vehicle size which usually blocks our total view of whats ahead. This greatly slows down our reaction time

Big car owners will say small car owners causes congestion and should be reduced, and vice versa

Conti car owners will say Asian car owners causes congestion and should be reduced, and vice versa

High income earners will say low income earners causes congestion and should be reduced, and vice versa

Manual gear car owners will say auto gear car owners causes congestion and should be reduced, and vice versa

Non-OPC owners will say OPC owners causes congestion and should be reduced, and vice versa

Male drivers will say female drivers causes congestion and should be reduced, and vice versa

XXX-race drivers will say YYY-race drivers causes congestion and should be reduced, and vice versa

XXX religion drivers will say YYY religion drivers causes congestion and should be reduced, and vice versa

XXX nationality drivers will say YYY nationality drivers causes congestion and should be reduced, and vice versa

Straight drivers will say Gay drivers causes congestion and should be reduced, and vice versa

Citizens drivers will say FT drivers causes congestion and should be reduced, and vice versa

Any more?

Sacrifice someone else (as long as is not me) so that I can reap the benefits??? That's the mentality of Singaporeans today???? Sad farkers.....no wonder the youngsters nowadays are so bloody damn jialat...cos the grownups are farked up

Edited by Sgnick

High income earners will say low income earners causes congestion and should be reduced, and vice versa

this is true. see how rich sinkie fight with poor sinkie?

how to be united to remove the caste system in the society and be glacious to each other?

see the resemblances below?

post-81851-1297483656_thumb.jpg

Edited by Chengwh492

i think i still like the idea of doing away with the "city" and "suburbs" concept so that we don't need to use transport in the first place...

http://www.mycarforum.com/index.php?s=&amp...t&p=3527520

another way is to allow more 'work-from-home' arrangement between the employer and his employees..... [:)] ..... staggered working hours also help to 'spread' out the traffic volume between housing districts and business/industrial districts, reducing bottleneck traffic situations.

in general I agree with anything that does away with the need to use transport in the first place ^_^

but I think the scale of the two things you have suggested may be limited by today's mindsets and even technology:

work-from-home: employers may not trust employees, and of course, some employees cannot be trusted [:p]

staggered working hours: most people work 9-to-6 jobs today. starting any earlier or ending any later would take some adjusting in work-life balance...

I feel that the rich say low income earners causes congestion and should be reduced becoz last time they enjoy the smooth traffic, plenty of parking lots etc, great convenience for them to commute by car. However govt make the car very cheap few yrs ago to allow the lower and middle income earner to own a car, which result in jam, longer traveling time. Hence they would like the car price to revert back to the 90s standard so that they can once again enjoy the olden day convenience and joy of driving on the road.

how to be united to remove the caste system in the society and be glacious to each other?

I'll sock you one if you keep dissing singaporeans with the term 'sinkie', you a-hole.

are you one of the pariahs? :huh: you appear choked with grievances. [:p]

Funny thread.. :D

To have immediate reduction of vehicles, the loan amount will be re-calculated based on maximum of 5 years only for existing car owners. Those owners who still have outstanding loans after 5 years, they will have to pay up all the outstanding amount in 1 month's time. I believe this will have immediate impact on the car population.

Big car owners will say small car owners causes congestion and should be reduced, and vice versa

Conti car owners will say Asian car owners causes congestion and should be reduced, and vice versa

Manual gear car owners will say auto gear car owners causes congestion and should be reduced, and vice versa

Non-OPC owners will say OPC owners causes congestion and should be reduced, and vice versa

Male drivers will say female drivers causes congestion and should be reduced, and vice versa

XXX-race drivers will say YYY-race drivers causes congestion and should be reduced, and vice versa

XXX religion drivers will say YYY religion drivers causes congestion and should be reduced, and vice versa

XXX nationality drivers will say YYY nationality drivers causes congestion and should be reduced, and vice versa

Straight drivers will say Gay drivers causes congestion and should be reduced, and vice versa

Citizens drivers will say FT drivers causes congestion and should be reduced, and vice versa

Any more?

Sacrifice someone else (as long as is not me) so that I can reap the benefits??? That's the mentality of Singaporeans today???? Sad farkers.....no wonder the youngsters nowadays are so bloody damn jialat...cos the grownups are farked up

+1

i still feel strongly that in order to ease congestion, the fastest way is to reduce our population by restricting immigrants into our country.

imagine this, even if we make it harder to own a car, improve our public transport system (which i honestly feel is pretty good already ) , charge sky high premium for ERPs and road taxes, force low n middle income earners to take buses, in the end the situation will still be the same if we open our doors big big to welcome maybe say... another 5-10 million of non-singaporeans on our island....

last time i heard, 1 out of every 3 people in spore is a foreigner.

maybe, next time 1 out of every 3 people is a singaporean.

if you are saying that there is a big baby boom in singapore that resulted in over population, i will have absolutely nothing to say.

but let me put it this way.

why must singaporeans be living without a car just because we have to accomodate more foreigners here?

our govt told us our GDP growth needs them to grow.. but why arent our salaries growing at the same rate as well?

i only believe what i see

Edited by Jiannshan

i still feel strongly that in order to ease congestion, the fastest way is to reduce our population by restricting immigrants into our country.

imagine this, even if we make it harder to own a car, improve our public transport system (which i honestly feel is pretty good already ) , charge sky high premium for ERPs and road taxes, force low n middle income earners to take buses, in the end the situation will still be the same if we open our doors big big to welcome maybe say... another 5-10 million of non-singaporeans on our island....

last time i heard, 1 out of every 3 people in spore is a foreigner.

maybe, next time 1 out of every 3 people is a singaporean.

if you are saying that there is a big baby boom in singapore that resulted in over population, i will have absolutely nothing to say.

but let me put it this way.

why must singaporeans be living without a car just because we have to accomodate more foreigners here?

our govt told us our GDP growth needs them to grow.. but why arent our salaries growing at the same rate as well?

i only believe what i see

foreigners bring in $$$ to the govt. we dont.

actually, unless singapore bucks up on public transport system, car is a must

Actually, singapore's public transport system is no worse off than those i've taken in london and paris. Anecdotally from friends, no worse off than those in tokyo or new york.

Might be cold comfort if i say its light years better than my experiences in delhi and mumbai. [crazy]

I suppose there's a correlation between population density and traffic jams, and as long as cars, buses, lorries etc need to roll on the road, i dun think there can be any drastic improvement unless there are draconian measures taken against vehicle usage, or more fundamentally, vehicle ownership. [bigcry]

So improving public transport system and "cars as a must" is a vicious cycle. Which one to sacrifice first? [:/]

Edited by Walkingtree