Learner Driver

Torquemonster

I am a learner driver and i have noticed that when learning to drive on public roads, those experienced drivers are quite impatient with us.

For example, when slowing down to enter filter lanes, those drivers start to cut in front of us and tailgating us and some even honk at us when we are waiting for the traffic to clear to make a turn. I hope that those experienced drivers can understand that we are inexperienced and needs more time to react and please be more patient with us and please do not tailgate us, especially when stopping on slopes as our car may start to roll backwards when moving off. BTW, you were once a learner driver too, right?

think thats part and parcel.. i had my fair share of that too.. but mentality of singaporeans don't change.. so what they get when they were learning, they would return to those learning in the future when they pass! so just concentrate on lessons and get your license.. you wouldn't be bullied for that long anyway.. but after you get your license.. then other problems arises.. high speed tailgating.. hi beam.. and tons of others! just enjoy your ride

I am a learner driver and i have noticed that when learning to drive on public roads, those experienced drivers are quite impatient with us.

For example, when slowing down to enter filter lanes, those drivers start to cut in front of us and tailgating us and some even honk at us when we are waiting for the traffic to clear to make a turn. I hope that those experienced drivers can understand that we are inexperienced and needs more time to react and please be more patient with us and please do not tailgate us, especially when stopping on slopes as our car may start to roll backwards when moving off. BTW, you were once a learner driver too, right?

Sorry got to admit I am quite impatient with L plate but i never honk..just LL and avoid...

I understand what you mean but some instructors will lead the students to some roads which is not even the testing road..worse it is an one-way road to an estate with feeder bus using the same road...

Just concentrate on passing your test and you will know what I mean once u r on the road....

But be careful i know of some farker drivers purposely stress those learner taking test by cutting into their lan...dun know for wat reason..

Not me of coz

where got learner driver called Torquemonster one... please learn only the good habits hor.

you filter into someone's lane, please signal.

Signal THEN filter. not the other way.

if you are in a turning lane, you don't signal, I don't mind.

that part and parcel of driving, just remember this experience and not replicate those bad driving style when you are experienced enough.

experience only increase when you drive more, and confident will grow with it. Stay cool and not get heated up by those impatient guys. Btw, get an experienced driver to sit beside when you drive, he/she may give you some advices on driving skills.

Edited by Xzaviour

That's the way driving in Singapore is like these days ..

The easy part is getting the licence.

After that, it is a steep learning curve getting know the REAL road conditions.

You are entittled to second Driving Instructor in parallel, if not satisfied with current one. Its all part of everyday learning. Some may wanted to learn from refresher driving lessons with your Instructor?

I understand where you are coming from ?

It would be interesting to see how you will post after you have passed your driving test and drive a couple of years.

I am losing patient with those learner drivers.

For example, when I was driving behind them they will slow down to enter filter lanes, they take their sweet time to wait and wait to make sure that the road are 1000 % clear before moving off. I am in a rush and I think that Learner Drivers should be keep to a restricted area. I have little choice but to cut in front of us and tailgating them and some even honk at them when we are waiting for the traffic to clear to make a turn.

I hope that those Learner drivers can understand that we are experienced and we dont have the time to wait and please be more understanding with us and please do not hog us, especially when stopping on slopes as you are extremely slow and your car may start to roll backwards when moving off. BTW, you will understand when you pass your driving test, right

'Tis true. But still I feel TS has a point lar. 'L' plate we drivers also cannot give way to them meh?! And btw, tailgating an L driver on an upslope is the single stupidest thing I have ever had the misfortune to hear about!! Dumb fcuks! -_-

Actually there are some really nice drivers, when there are obstruction on the path we are traveling, such as parked lorries, some drivers would slow down to allow us to switch into their lanes. [:)]

i think there needs to be an additional test of a sort or at least a little review after passing. these points need to be added in (simply too many idiots; they aren't even P plates):

1) When you get onto expressway, the priority is NOT to get to lane 1. It is to get your speed up on your CURRENT lane first.

-Too many a-----es simply signal right and cut to lane 1 from 3 at a sharp angle.

2) It is not your right to get onto the middle lane (lane 2 from 3 or lane 3 from 4 etc).

-Always get ppl cutting into the middle lane regardless of their speed and if you were traveling at 90km/h, they usually high beam you coz they couldn't change lane.

3) Give way to faster vehicles.

-Particularly those people who match their speeds to vehicles on the adjacent lane, I simply don't understand why some people refuse to give way on lane 1 whether you signal, high beam or tap horn. Be courteous.

4) Travel in the right lane for your speed.

-Aunties especially. C'mon. If you're moving at 55-60km/h please just keep left - leftmost.

that part and parcel of driving, just remember this experience and not replicate those bad driving style when you are experienced enough.

experience only increase when you drive more, and confident will grow with it. Stay cool and not get heated up by those impatient guys. Btw, get an experienced driver to sit beside when you drive, he/she may give you some advices on driving skills.

i seriously doubt that an experience driver will be able to help a fresh P plate driver..... the moment they obtain they license (generally but not all...) they regard them self as seasoned driver liao..... every REAL seasoned driver know that most technique taught by those instructor would not be applicable in real life driving, yet fresh P plate driver will always argued that the common way is wrong whereby the instructor is ABSOLUTELY RIGHT.

take for example when u are reaching a junction in 5th gear, downshift 1 gear by 1 gear till neutral before standstill, they moment the vehicle stop, engaged gear 1 and clutch in all the way till green light shown.... this is absolutely nonsense to me......

Actually there are some really nice drivers, when there are obstruction on the path we are traveling, such as parked lorries, some drivers would slow down to allow us to switch into their lanes. [:)]

Haha, I am like that most of the time =)

But I am less forgiving of experienced drivers though.

think thats part and parcel.. i had my fair share of that too.. but mentality of singaporeans don't change.. so what they get when they were learning, they would return to those learning in the future when they pass! so just concentrate on lessons and get your license.. you wouldn't be bullied for that long anyway.. but after you get your license.. then other problems arises.. high speed tailgating.. hi beam.. and tons of others! just enjoy your ride

Really? i dun even dare to get close to L plate..those only wan to bully u..show them the finger....

L plate got people cut ,P plate people also will cut one la. even u drop the yellow and orange underwear liao also people will cut.

i just dont know why singaporeans v arrogant when driving. can let people 'win' once. in aust, if they see u signal half car length infront of them, they will slow down or even brake for u to filter.

sorry for ranting. met a few anal driver this morning.