How many of you been retrenched once in working life?

Whatisthis04

heard a few of my frens been retrenched lately...

I thot economy picking up?

I've been retrenched twice so far. Doesn't matter if economy is good or not, it's just a matter of whether if you're needed or not. No such thing as loyalty these days la. I've got used to the new environment but I find a lot around me not adjusting fast enough in this new era [;)]

If u did not betray or backstab, why worry about karma?

It is those who betray others that have to worry.

Best thing they dun even care or worry...n till date they r enjoying their success in expense of others...

Others lost their jobs due to their gossip and slandering so that they can take over the important post...

And they can boast abt it....I gave them a piece of my mind and walk off whenever I meet these type of b------ds!

retrenchment is damn sad man...

to the company, it just means balancing the accounts....

to the person who kena retrench, his whole world come crashing down.... imagine the bills piling up....

Economy is always good if you own land....

Eg. Sim Lim Square store moving to smaller shops (but maybe paying the same rent as last year), renting out land has always been profitable.

Another case Building owner increase rent vs. stakeholders' interest in maximising profit, sure got innocent party caught in the crossfire. Government can intervene but 60.1% likes this way.... ^_^

Best thing they dun even care or worry...n till date they r enjoying their success in expense of others...

Others lost their jobs due to their gossip and slandering so that they can take over the important post...

And they can boast abt it....I gave them a piece of my mind and walk off whenever I meet these type of b------ds!

Karma wl catch up wif them.

retrenchment is damn sad man...

to the company, it just means balancing the accounts....

to the person who kena retrench, his whole world come crashing down.... imagine the bills piling up....

For some. it is a make or break situation.

Its only natural to feel down and dat one's situation is hopeless.

For myself, it was a blessing in disguise. It showed up who were my true friends and relatives. The rest, they dying oso I can't be bothered.

I'm the one being the bad guy then..retrench my team....very sad and some get worked up...but later they understand that i just have to do as top management need a headcount cut......now still friend..and keep praying bad karma don't come to me....depressing man! [:(]

undestand ur feeling...did the same thing b4 cause the company not doing well...

Got retrenched in 2007 after cny. Best exp cos it was a shut down button for me to reorientate my life. One thing for sure, u plan ur own career. B loyal to company but plan backups. It's ironic how company expects loyalty but top down u r jus a headcount

me twice in my working but then nothing can be done. If the company decide to shutdown their operation in singapore, not much option since white collar worker is not unionised.

Company shut down: this happened to one of my past jobs, unfortunately they shut down about 2 months after my resignation, as a result i missed the pay-off package which was quite a good one........ [:(][:(] ... i could have joined my new job two months later and received the package, wrong timing :huh:

Edited by KARTer

never cos my employer will drop hints and I will just resign

Employer dropping hints:-

Once, and the HR kept asking me to return the co car well before last day of service as per my 'resignation' letter. I just told them where the car was parked, go get it yourself.

Fortunately, got a new job before the last day.

hmm, what you work as? I also wan a job that can go home early

i 'knock off' early, virtually......... to surf MCF even though i am not home yet physically [:p]

Company shut down: this happened to one of my past jobs, unfortunately they shut down about 2 months after my resignation, as a result i missed the pay-off package which was quite a good one........ [:(][:(] ... i could have joined my new job two months later and received the package, wrong timing :huh:

My uncle got retrenched during the SIA retrenchment exercise...he got 25mths payout...He's now enjoying his retirement....

Mind telling us what you work as since you cannot go back early??

maybe he doesnt want to go back early coz office full of pple like one in your avatar?? [:p]

I am a property agent, have to show houses in the evenings and during weekends, how to go home early lol [nosebleed]

in between lots of free time, can OTOT.... no? [:p] ... nobody views properties before 10am and after 9pm... [:p]

Imagine the disparity of benefits between high ranking govt service and MNC workers.

It turns this place into "four legs good, two legs bad".

oh, what's the original chinese version of this 4legs2legs thing?

well, the Board members and the top senior management guys can be buddies, pay packages are decided 'mutually', but unfortunately other employees' packages are low priority on their list... although not saying all companies fall into this category :wacko:

Or anyone had lost your job due to slandering or backstabbing by other colleagues?

How do u settle your score with them?

Or juZ leave it be n move on n let karma take over?

once, some existing staff (quite bo liao ones) worried and felt threatened by me and my fren who joined together (despite me offering my help to connect some of them for other jobs outside when the company decided to re-org halfway in the 6 months to get rid of deadwood).... lots of things happened in the 6 months before we both threw the letter and joined better places.............. i dusted my shoes when I stepped out the door the final time [:p]

these same chaps are still 'hidding' in their safe 'haven' coz they know they cant survive outside

Alot of retrenchment are going on. The garment or media don't want to report

Only happy news............. Garment+Media = OneBigHappyFamily :D