Subaru owner`s ?

PeterKang

i suspect you are mistaken. No one charges $680 for just the timing belt. The belt itself is $20+ only. When we refer to "timing belt change," it actually includes all the things like water pump, idler belts, belt tensioner, water pump gasket, thermo gasket, and coolant. But having said this, $680 for all this is actually cheap.

Oh... now it seems ok. [laugh]

i suspect you are mistaken. No one charges $680 for just the timing belt. The belt itself is $20+ only. When we refer to "timing belt change," it actually includes all the things like water pump, idler belts, belt tensioner, water pump gasket, thermo gasket, and coolant. But having said this, $680 for all this is actually cheap.

I just changed at around 1.1k. But for $680, pls make sure parts are original and not OEM - do not be penny wise pound foolish

Actually, it will depend on what parts do the workshop replace as I know there's a workshop who charges $750+ for timing belt and water pump ONLY.

I just changed at around 1.1k. But for $680, pls make sure parts are original and not OEM - do not be penny wise pound foolish

Actually, I'd prefer essential parts to be original, unless it's performance related then it's a different story. Now that you've mentioned it, probably the $680 is for OEM parts. Looks like I need to go source for alternatives for the 80K servicing.

Bro, where did you do yours?

My timing belt change was at BKS AMK... I would always recommend you go to pro-subaru workshops especially for major servicing.

Thanks. I tried BMS, but they were too busy, so they didn't entertain me much.

Did my past 10K servicing at Chip Soon. Although most of the time, they always manage to find something to change for me, since it's all for safety, then never mind lah! [laugh]

I only scared for the massive 80K, I got to change plenty of things, prices would be quite hefty. I see some of the bros here go to Foo Bros or BMS. Are they quite decent on their prices?

Aside from the 80K, any bros here did tuning for their MY08? Where did you do it and how was the result since?

Just a question...newbie here. Owning a 1.6Ts manual. Where is a good place to do a 10k servicing?

I think some of the bros here stand by Foo Bros (no pun intended), it's at Tampines Industrial Park 2A, Block 9002, #01-74(? not very sure about the unit number).

Further down, there is Chip Soon Auto which I go to for the 10K servicing. Mobil1 package $128. They got promo, do 3 get 4th for free.

Some of the bros will also recommend BKS or BMS at AMK Autopoint.

If you stay West side, I recommend GTR Technologies, it has moved to the building behind Midview (where they used to be), servicing at $135.00, no upsell and completed within 20mins.

I only scared for the massive 80K, I got to change plenty of things, prices would be quite hefty. I see some of the bros here go to Foo Bros or BMS. Are they quite decent on their prices?

I only patronise BMS since it's very near my GF's workplace so either she or me will go down pretty frequently even for the smallest of things haha. Hmmm, imho, I don't feel I've ever been carroted. You might wanna try them once to find out for yourself :D

i don't tune my turtle, but i go to BMS and CH for servicing.

Also got another 'one man show' mech at Defu for simple works.

Hey scoobie bros, I was just checking thru the STIs listed on sgcarmart and, don't all the hawkeyes share the same interior? Take a look at this:

http://www.sgcarmart.com/used_cars/info_ph...amp;CUR=6#photo

see the aircon dials? They look different than those from my Atrex leh ... but other hawkeye STIs have the "modern" dials. Is there something wrong with it, or was there a facelift done on the interior of hawkeyes? BTW, mechanically are there any differences between the different years STI? Say compare a 07 one to a 05 one. Power, handling etc?

Just wanna find out more, since I only know about base rexes hehe :D

you mean 'modern' as in climate control?

the pic not very clear to me but looks like TS one (manual aircon knobs)???