Kangadrool Supersonic December 21, 2011 Share December 21, 2011 (edited) IMO, unless you need data for business purpose and company is paying for it, always disable "Data Roaming" whether in Singapore or overseas. You should also disable "Data Traffic" when overseas besides "Data Roaming". Edited December 21, 2011 by Kangadrool ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Alpha78 6th Gear December 21, 2011 Share December 21, 2011 I have always set my Android phone to disallow data when roaming, while allowing data to be always on when not roaming. So far so good, no billing issues. Maybe it's an iPhone bug. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
CH_CO 6th Gear December 21, 2011 Author Share December 21, 2011 (edited) I mentioned that data roaming and cellular data was off , yet i was charged. The CS can have the cheek to tell me that need to remove e-ideas and stuff , then i ask him something , i might as well change my service provider? Won't this be better? It is small money , but i seriously think it is something that Singtel(which sold me the phone) and the service provider should do something to disable it if it is a bug on their side. From my point of view , as long as i turn of the data roaming and cellular data , if i can still get charge when i can't use the data network then something is wrong ? Just imagine out 10 which goes overseas , 1 kana this , SG how many people going overseas every year? Million dollar making business Edited December 21, 2011 by CH_CO Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Fitvip Supersonic December 21, 2011 Share December 21, 2011 i got the data charges even though I did not leave the country! M1 gave me crap explanation each time I called to protest! Eventually they said the data roaming and gprs have to be disabled! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ghostrider 3rd Gear December 21, 2011 Share December 21, 2011 If he has no data cap for overseas...he had it !! In case you guys dunno...overseas can also have cap...its on a per day basis and only for selected ISP. So you cannot set auto roaming to AUTO. Have to be manual so that you can selelct the service provider that is set by your local telco. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Pltang Clutched December 21, 2011 Share December 21, 2011 the breakdown shld tell u where and when u got charged.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Pltang Clutched December 21, 2011 Share December 21, 2011 and btw, for iPhone, cellular data is restricted to email, web browsing and push notification, data could still flow like location blah blah.... data roaming off is totally turned off... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hulk 1st Gear December 21, 2011 Share December 21, 2011 I just met a fren last night and he complaint to me that Singtel ridicously charged him $400+ data roaming for he just send 2 MMS (how much can oversea MMS cost right) with data off on his iphone. The rest is just normal roaming call and did not browsing or email. So scary, I just got my first iphone, I told my service provider pls disable my data roaming on their end. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Whatthe 1st Gear December 21, 2011 Share December 21, 2011 Yeah I encountered before and still am. I'm on the blackberry. I always activate unlimited data roaming before I travel. I also put my phone to manual selection of network so I can select the network partner of Singtel. And for blackberry, we leave the APN settings blank. So I shouldn't be billed for any kinds of data access if I'm on their partner network. But they always bill me with extra data charges which Singtel can never explain. They always waive it off for me but its kinda irritating that I have to always do this. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Pippo20 Neutral Newbie December 21, 2011 Share December 21, 2011 (edited) Recently , i got charged with a stupid $20+ data roaming charge in MY when i turned my cellular data off, I have always done it when i am overseas and was never charged for it. I called the customer service and was told that is not enough? We must change the cellular data stuff and crap ??? I answered back there isn't any instructions on how to change anything other than to turn off the cellular data? It is not on the website neither anywhere and do you know what crap that fellow said? It is the consumer's responsibility to ensure that the proper setting are done!??!! How to do it when it is not told to me before? Seriously , consumer's responsibility to find out ?? How? Wah damn hot talking to him, if i need to change all sort of setting which should be done on the provider side , why do i need to pay them money for? Wow first time encounter this kind of thing , i already turn off data and still tio charge and they cannot even tell me where i served? Nor how i used it? Of course , this is not alot of money my normal roaming charges are a few times more but it is the principle behind it. Anyone else encountered this crap? Hate to talk to people which can't even understand , from how i hear his accent , sure pinoy. Kek sim ah. Is this how Singtel treat their loyal customer? If my customer service guy talk to me like that , i will talk his manager and have his head by tml. I use iphone also, I know I must do the turn data roaming off (default its off already), turn cellular data off too (just in case you have facebook, etc notifications, badges which will use data), off the location setting, lastly turn off & on your iphone so that it can 'reset' to memorise not to use any data.. If still scared, switch off or use local data card or subscribe to singtel unlimited data plan.. Consumers cannot claim ignorance because we have sign a contract with the telcos backed by their army of lawyers & govt. Thanks.. Edited December 21, 2011 by Pippo20 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
inlinesix Hypersonic December 21, 2011 Share December 21, 2011 I have been using iphone 3GS since 2 yrs back in overseas w/o being charged. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mllcg 3rd Gear December 21, 2011 Share December 21, 2011 (edited) go look at the 300k phone bill from singtel circulating around. http://i1239.photobucket.com/albums/ff520/...044546959_n.jpg Edited December 21, 2011 by Mllcg Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kangadrool Supersonic December 21, 2011 Share December 21, 2011 go look at the 300k phone bill from singtel circulating around. http://i1239.photobucket.com/albums/ff520/...044546959_n.jpg That's why never sign up for GIRO service for phone and utilities bill payment. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mllcg 3rd Gear December 21, 2011 Share December 21, 2011 That's why never sign up for GIRO service for phone and utilities bill payment. who has 300k in the bank? giro wont go through Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kangadrool Supersonic December 21, 2011 Share December 21, 2011 who has 300k in the bank? giro wont go through Don't need 300K. Say your usual bill is $30, they GIRO you $300. Song bo??? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mllcg 3rd Gear December 21, 2011 Share December 21, 2011 Don't need 300K. Say your usual bill is $30, they GIRO you $300. Song bo??? lol. i never believe in giro for phone bill. only internet broadband bill and electricity will use giro Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kangadrool Supersonic December 21, 2011 Share December 21, 2011 lol. i never believe in giro for phone bill. only internet broadband bill and electricity will use giro Some time back, one of our dear citizen kena caught by big surprise for electricity bill. They upgraded their billing system, at the same time, they UPRATED the bill of this poor fellow. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Curahee 1st Gear December 21, 2011 Share December 21, 2011 I dun understand why some ppl can check in everywhere in oversea holiday trip to tell ppl where they r in facebook, how they do it ah? My friend tell me he got a HK data plan with unlimited data, can use everywhere in HK, got such thing meh? ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...