1fast1 Supersonic January 18, 2012 Share January 18, 2012 (edited) nowadays calling a race by the exact name is also racist. not so long ago in the north western province in England, 1 man called a negro a negro, and he was penalised of being a racist so in future, u cant call an indian an indian ..... may have to call him a non-chinese/non-malay/non-whatever, most inportant dont ever call a person the race as stated on his ic/passport Nothing wrong with saying "1st Indian PM" what? It's in the context, if it's a racist, derogatory context, then it'll be racist no matter what term someone uses to refer to the race. But in this case, why use that word? It's like me using Ch*ink instead of Chinese to refer to a Singaporean Chinese, just because it's easier to type (and ironically K*kl*ng is not even easier to type than Indian). :rolleyes: The 1st Indian PM I want to see is Pritam. BTW, "negro" IS a racist term - it has been for many decades. How is "negro" an exact name for that race? "African", maybe, but not Negro. At any rate, the generally acceptable way to refer to them is "black". Again, if it's going to be condescending/discriminatory/offensive, it's still a racist jibe, right? Don't use the fact that people here (on MCF and other Singaporean forums) refer to African black people as "Negro" as support for it being a racially-neutral term. The best that can be said for many Singaporeans is that they're clueless and ignorant. The worst is that they're callous racists. Edited January 18, 2012 by Turboflat4 ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Acemundo Supercharged January 19, 2012 Share January 19, 2012 Maybe in the case of property, the amount is much bigger and thus people might be more hesitant. Whereas for a car loan, 10-20% is probably only a 10/20k loan. while i do agree on this aspect, i don't think it is the single scenario he is alluding to. the scenario he alluding to would have included the collusion of the banks and dealers. in this aspect, the property sales had the developers and bankers held on to by tight rules. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jp66 5th Gear January 19, 2012 Share January 19, 2012 i still dont understand why taxi are under cat a ? surely the taxis are all above 1.6cc. don't feel sad if you don't understand, it is rather complex and only those who are paid millions know Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hsiao 1st Gear January 19, 2012 Share January 19, 2012 If i have a product to sell that I know every month sure sellout like hotcakes, I will want to sell it at the highest price I can get and not give any sale or discounts. COE = Govt's best selling product. LTA got sell their shares? I would like to buy if any Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jp66 5th Gear January 19, 2012 Share January 19, 2012 Priest lah, "kek leng" is not a racist word. It's like "teng lang" for Chinese and Siamese for Thai, old names based on old kingdoms or places. In some places in Central Asia, Chinese are still commonly known as Khitan. "kek leng" is auspicious, "kek" means 吉, "leng" in hokkien means 龙 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Maz0608 3rd Gear January 19, 2012 Share January 19, 2012 This Gan Thiam Poh chap pose a question to Tharman but never fully demand justification by rebuking. What a half **** effort. Seems to me he just want to have his presence felt in the paliament only. Raise a half baked topic that not many ppl are interested in and then leave it to Tharman to answer without any rebuking. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Joseph22 Turbocharged January 19, 2012 Share January 19, 2012 Priest lah, "kek leng" is not a racist word. It's like "teng lang" for Chinese and Siamese for Thai, old names based on old kingdoms or places. In some places in Central Asia, Chinese are still commonly known as Khitan. if you know how the word Kek Leng come about. you will know that its a degrading words. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Joseph22 Turbocharged January 19, 2012 Share January 19, 2012 (edited) You mean the hear-say origin, or the historical origin ? Faster write in to LTA to ban this degrading road. http://maps.google.com/maps?q=Tanjong+Klin...mp;t=m&z=13 Kling and kek leng are so far apart in sound. okay i google. Kek Leng indeed come from Kling base on one blog. Edited January 19, 2012 by Joseph22 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Joseph22 Turbocharged January 19, 2012 Share January 19, 2012 You think LTA is a Star Trek fan is it ? you go read the comment of the link below. apparently the older Indian dont like. so it should still be term as degrading remarks. If that is so, as respect of racial harmony, we should also try not to call them kek leng. http://miyagi.sg/2007/11/deepavali-awarene...he-inner-light/ Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Zanter 3rd Gear January 19, 2012 Share January 19, 2012 sometime ago already suggested, and they dismissed the idea without giving a try. beocs they do not want to let the COE price go down Yeah that main reason . We take out loans to pay of taxes is exactly what the Govt wants. How comfortable of them sitting on fat pay cheques and increasing the common man burden. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Blueblack Neutral Newbie January 19, 2012 Share January 19, 2012 Why Tharman answer this question ? how to convince me COE was not link to make money :angry: Transport matter should be transport minister decide Why is the finance minister talking about this Letting the COE manipulate by car dealer & motorist pay the burden... and finally bank and MOF is actual real winner of COE Taxi COE - maybe they should separate into another group of COE, or they should remain in cat 1 or 2... then they should scrap all the taxi company and let individual own the taxi licence... what I'm seeing the taxi uncle is working their ass for the taxi companies top management to collect their fat pay cheque... I dont see difference taking the yellow top cab as commuter. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Zanter 3rd Gear January 19, 2012 Share January 19, 2012 The Govt just has to say loans on COE is not recognised & will not be enforced by the Courts. They also wont help the common folk. Well maybe their job is to squeeze the people mah [laugh] Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Zxcvb Turbocharged January 19, 2012 Share January 19, 2012 He added: "Car loans granted by financial institutions do not pose threats to financial stability. These loans form a very small proportion of total loans in the financial system, or even of total consumer loans. And the proportion of car loans that are non-performing loans is low, extremely low." Zhun bo?? Car loans form a very small proportion of total loans?? I always thought car loans are 2nd to home loans for all families?? Car is probably the 2nd most expensive item we buy in our entire life 2nd to home loan leh!! By restricting the loan, less people will be able to buy car, thus will bring down the COE premiums. Simple logic. If one day bank cannot give home loan, you think people can buy house? Try what other ways?? Borrow from loan shark?? of course not lah!! You restrict the loan, less people will be able to afford to buy = reduced COE premium. But of course if i'm in good terms with my fellow banker friends (who earns alot by giving out loans be it car or home), I will certainly rubbish this idea. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tigerwoods Turbocharged January 19, 2012 Share January 19, 2012 Must use that racist word meh? "Indian" too difficult to type issit? Sorry brudder. My bad. FYI to me Kekleng nang is as neutral as Teochew nang. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sk65 1st Gear January 19, 2012 Share January 19, 2012 Actually I do agree with Tharman point. Let free market decide instead of set many restrictions because of people complain or unhappyness. but if its owner bid, do u think he will be that stupid/desperate to bid 60K its the SA who does the bidding... and one SA outbid ther other, in order for his personal sale to go thru. tats the root cause of higher COE (high COE of cos driven by Demand and Supply law, i admit) IMO Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Zanter 3rd Gear January 19, 2012 Share January 19, 2012 You are absolutely correct. Either this guy fail economics 101 by expounding rubbish or he just trying to smoke us. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
1fast1 Supersonic January 19, 2012 Share January 19, 2012 Sorry brudder. My bad. FYI to me Kekleng nang is as neutral as Teochew nang. OK, brother. If it's an honest mistake, no worries. You know why I believe you when you say "honest mistake"? Because you don't wear white, like me. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Des_k 1st Gear January 19, 2012 Share January 19, 2012 I agree with that... Dealer alway have their hidden agenda... We buyer just want it to be the lowest... Dealer may think otherwise... Dealer are using their order as key weapon in fightning the bidding war... I dont believe there is so many rich ppl out there or even if have also wun be so crazy to get high COE if they have the option. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...