Pritam Singh on ministerial salary - "I oppose the motion"

Relacklabrudder

talk until the cow come home also no use...

parliament is controlled by PAP majority.... they do what they want all the time.

But this is a step in the right direction ....

Lets move on....

now should we talk about KPIs???? [laugh]

ya lah...MIW want to pass motion...let them lah...we are already powerless still trying to plug their anal......

LHL supposedly donated his 2006 pay increase to charity. To him, maybe helping the charity is an important life goal.

How do you know he has donate?

Edited by Johorat

i just thought of one idea...hehehe...

Why don't we peg the salaries to those of Bhutan, a country with the highest Happiness Index, of course with factors such as GDP and cost of living etc taken into account? We would have taken the emotive and calculative factors into consideration...hahaha

There are MP and Ministers who have failed us. But I still want the best possible candidate in the hot seat for the highest possible chance of success. Get rid of the bad apples, sanitise and make palatable some of the issues. But don't ask for an average person in the job. He will only perform averagely. Pay is emotional because each and everyone of us has a salary and we compare. All work is honorable and we work for our salaries. I empathize with the coffee lady, the guy who moves the boxes in the factory, the admin asst and the rest of the "poorer" group. I was there before as well. But if my company tells me I should be paid less because it is more equitable to them, obviously its time for a new company

Don't throw the baby out with the water.

This sums up the problem. The PAP says this too, but managing a country is not just economics. It involves a lot more.

The cost of living, the rich-poor divide, the level of happiness of all its citizens all account for something. This list is not exhaustive. In this respect the PAP has failed, and the pay of its ministers have not reflected this lack of ability for a long time now. I miss the PAP of old. They may have been hard handed, but they did what was for the good of the people rather than coming out with spin stories by focusing on one area of success, using it as a benchmark, and ignoring all the failures to justify their pay.

Of course I wouldn't mind them getting a really high salary if

1) We get to fire on the spot anyone who c0cks up,

2) or give notice of termination if they fail to perform to the standards their pay requires in their respective portfolios.

3) And, we get to sue them if negligence, or ineptitude on their part leads to physical, financial, or emotional injury.

How do you know he has donate?

http://www.channelnewsasia.com/stories/sin.../269709/1/.html

Singapore PM to freeze his pay for 5 years, donate pay hikes

Posted: 11 April 2007 1643 hrs

SINGAPORE: Prime Minister Lee Hsien Loong says he will hold his own salary at the present level for five years and will donate any increases in his salary during that period.

He made the announcement in Parliament on Wednesday, as the House continues its debate on salary revisions for government ministers and civil servants.

actually talking about pay. Surprisingly, TPL paid back more than 1/2 her MP allowance to her consistution every month via Donation bringing her pay to lower than what she get in Earnst and young. Of course having rich husband help a lot.

That one is a joke lah. Give her an annual salary of $6000, and I still wouldn't want her as a Minister or MP.

Lets move on....

now should we talk about KPIs???? [laugh]

Thats EXACTLY what we need to talk about. Identify the KPI's for each minister based on their portfolio, and fire them if they fail. If they really want to peg their salaries to the private sector, they jolly well have to get the same crap the latter does.

I am the 60.1% and I am not dumb nor misinformed, neither un-informed. I too wanted to be part of the 39.9% then (could have become 40%), but the opposition in my ward were unheard of, made no sense in their speeches and overall, the state of oppositions in Singapore still leaves much to be desired.

True that WP is becoming more organised with a better catch of members than the other parties, but a few good men don't make a good government as is the case with the ruling party as well. The PAP still comes across as better organised and at least half of them knows what they are doing sans mee siam mai hum and carrot cake analogies.

Until the day an opposition party can come out and show it's members are ready, and capable of holding important positions to lead Singapore, I will still belong to the 60.1%.

And please, no CSJ please.

I stay in the Holland area. Previously under Holland-Bukit Panjang GRC, right before election started, boundaries drawn and was suddenly changed to Tanjong Pagar GRC. And thats not the issue. Till now i still see notices paste in the lift labelled as Holland-Bukit panjang GRC. You called this better organised? They know what they are doing? If i read their notices in lift, i think i will call the wrong town council number.

Thats EXACTLY what we need to talk about. Identify the KPI's for each minister based on their portfolio, and fire them if they fail. If they really want to peg their salaries to the private sector, they jolly well have to get the same crap the latter does.

The open one will be something like this...

"we must improve the lives of every single Singaporean..."

The one they see is...

"GDP & GDP... improve lives of "Rich" Singaporeans only"

That one is a joke lah. Give her an annual salary of $6000, and I still wouldn't want her as a Minister or MP.

I wouldn't mind giving her that sort of annual salary, but for another "position"! [sly]

giving high pay to prevent corruptions is a wrong mindset in the first place. pay high or low, who ever corrupts for break the law, must face the music.

going by your analogy, i earn 2.5k a month so i must tell the same reasoning (of miw) to my boss?

my boss reply would be "u are free to find another employer, good bye"

Collectively, we're the boss of the government (though they seem to think they're our bosses), and that is exactly what they're telling us.

I do think ministers are paid too high.

But i also agree that pay is an emotional issue. Sometimes our sentiment is illogical.

No one wants a pay cut ala Grace Fu.

If the pay gap between them and the senior Govt pple eg. Perm Secs and Directors etc is not sufficient, then no one will want to step up their ball game to move to the next level.

Perm Sec or Director, u won't get so stomped easily :ph34r:

It doesn't make sense to have Minister salary pegged to below Admin Service, cos you're supposedly better than the Admin service officers, that's y u got selected to be ministar [rolleyes]

He didn't say below mah. He said pegged to. It could simply mean 10x what the line level civil servants are paid.

Ministerial salaries aside..... we all can gather one thing. All sinkies are never happy when someone else is paid more. But all sinkies are happy only when they themselves are paid more.

Since so.... strange that mamy would continue to "imagine" that within our land of Sinkies ourselves.... there can possibly exist a group of selfless, self-sacrificing public servants whom would willingly work for less or lower pay, yet deliver at the same time.

We can continue to imagine, politics can continue to down the "elite" if this has suddenly become the derogatory term, but one thing is simple since the begining of the "Singapura" era..... and that is "no money no talk"..... it time to awake.

Pay less.....sure get less... simple.

Lets use the US as a gauge. Do our ministers have an uphill climb like Obama and his team since their elections? Yes, they should be paid more than their counterparts. No, then they should be paid less.

joke or not, we have to see a few years down the road. for all you know, she really got big potential leh. and she can really out perform other ppl leh?? everything hard to say one.

The 60.1% should donate half their salaries into the pockets of their beloved ministers and MPs and the government coffers can be used for other more meaningful social cause.

If they don't like the job because they feel they can get better elsewhere, why then should we keep them? They are not indispensible which is what they want to instil in ppl

2007-2011- highest paid cabinet in the country's history already so screwed up

2012-2016- now 37% pay cut, means 37% less focus on the job? I seriously worry for our future