Vinepro Clutched January 23, 2012 Share January 23, 2012 Do I need to give angpow to my parent in laws during CNY when my wife have already given them ? ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Davidklt Supercharged January 23, 2012 Share January 23, 2012 U should be asking yr wife what is their family protocol. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Gendut 2nd Gear January 23, 2012 Share January 23, 2012 Set a new protocol since its for the first time. However, please judge their acceptance. Once you're set giving them this year, its going to be for the rest of your life Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Poper 2nd Gear January 23, 2012 Share January 23, 2012 I match my wife 1:1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Carra Neutral Newbie January 23, 2012 Share January 23, 2012 I think it's up to the individual. I give my own parents angbao, and my wife gives her own parents angbao, it's been like that since we were married. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Friendstar Supercharged January 23, 2012 Share January 23, 2012 There's no right on wrong. It details on own family protocol Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Rainman 1st Gear January 23, 2012 Share January 23, 2012 Do I need to give angpow to my parent in laws during CNY when my wife have already given them ? Ask ur wife, I never give but my wife did (to her own parents). Same thing my wife also nv give to my parents but I did. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Thaiyotakamli Supersonic January 23, 2012 Share January 23, 2012 If u earning well, should be more than a k... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Cdior 1st Gear January 23, 2012 Share January 23, 2012 U give to Ur own parent, wife to her own parent lah. U Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kyrios Turbocharged January 23, 2012 Share January 23, 2012 If u earning well, should be more than a k... haha seems like a lot for my meagre salary..define what is earning well? 100K per annum? A one K for each parent or combined? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Thaiyotakamli Supersonic January 23, 2012 Share January 23, 2012 haha seems like a lot for my meagre salary..define what is earning well? 100K per annum? A one K for each parent or combined? Each la, u snatch their daughter le, 1k pa is cheaper than rental for apartment liao... Unless ur wife not doing her job as a good wife Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kiadaw 6th Gear January 23, 2012 Share January 23, 2012 Set a new protocol since its for the first time. However, please judge their acceptance. Once you're set giving them this year, its going to be for the rest of your life This. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
West_end Neutral Newbie January 24, 2012 Share January 24, 2012 A son-in-law is half a son, so is a daughter-in-law. I worked out with my wife to derive an agreed amount. Both set of parents should be happy, receiving angpow from 2 persons. More importantly, I remind myself to always treat my wife well... I think that's the 'best angpow' my PIL would like to be given. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sabbie Clutched January 24, 2012 Share January 24, 2012 Should be joint ang pow, minimum 4 digit, I recommend 8888 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Dumb 4th Gear January 24, 2012 Share January 24, 2012 I don't give to my father or mil. My wife not working but she gives my father 1k and my mil 800. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kopites Supersonic January 24, 2012 Share January 24, 2012 Should be joint ang pow, minimum 4 digit, I recommend 8888 Joint with wifey at 1888 each for all 3 parents; Mum, FIL and MIL since years ago. Well point to note, since is TS virgin angpow to MIL and FIL....best to keep the amount at a manageable sum. Remember Ang Pow amount can only go up...and not down. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jamesc Hypersonic January 24, 2012 Share January 24, 2012 Give more than your wife, if you have an arguement with your wife, they will take your side. And always remember its the Amount, not the thought that counts. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tuna_seng Clutched January 25, 2012 Share January 25, 2012 Do I need to give angpow to my parent in laws during CNY when my wife have already given them ? We gave $500 to father in law, $1000 for mum in law. Mum in law deserves more cos she has been looking after our baby. Of course, this is in addition to the monthly fillial piety allowance we give them. My reasoning is, all parents raise their kids without complaint and without thinking about the money spent on raising their kids. So when the kids are grown up, the amount we give to our parents shouldn't even be "hurting" us. Every one should give what they can realistically afford. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...