Advise on Coilover

Wabbit

and do not forget ur brakes and tires. they are part of the equation to good handling.

does not mean a thing if u hv tein super racing but ur running wif lousy brakes and tires.

Those were the first things done after I collected my ride. :D

Comfort wise definitely stiffer than stock.

For vios, I feel that the suspension is already quite good.

People change to coilovers for a few reasons:

- Lower Ride Height

- Increase Handling

- Tyre rubbing fender when full load

Of course, coilovers to a driver "shiok" but to passengers..???

yea..that is really true bro..thanks for the advise.. :D

Depends la. All shock absorbers are advised to change or replace either at 2 year interval or 80,000 km mileage, whichever is earlier. This is be it stock suspension or coilovers or aftermarket shocks.

2 yrs haven't reached 80k km lei.. But if agent maintained, do they advise u to change if they found shocks issue?

I would think so.

Bros,my Tein's front right just leaked.Dunno whether to change or rebuild cos when enquired to rebuild,it cost ard $300 plus...Now either to stick with Tein or other brands? Any reccomendations for street comfort driving coils? Thx in advance bros.

Nonsense, stock susp can last unlike coilover. Mine 4yrs, Motor Image said ...Passed.Rather, heard a lot of coilovers either leaking, knocking sound or both....

Every year service coilover quite siong leh.

wa now become suspension guru huh.. mai anyhow intro expensive yet un-servicable brand like Bilstein.

my previous car was on PSS9 and there were knocking sounds. nobody can service them locally and i llst. btw, damping rate has got only 8 settings. kw is a much better choice, imo. tested my fren's car same as mine wif kw and i find it a tad better. in any case, try to avoid to-meimei coilovers. had them on bcoz it was cheap and learned that cheap things ain't good and good things ain't cheap.

Just curious, I have a few questions maybe you can help to explain.

Why was there knocking noise in your bilstein?

How do you service the shock absorbers?

How do you define damping rate? 8 settings?

How did you test your friend's car to know which is 'better'?

"passed by" ur reply only today. So do u chg shock w ad or ur own ws?

I changed my shocks with my own regular mechanic/workshop. Cheaper and better workmanship.

The other guy, Mr D, in our chatroom got me to do it personally for him haha... Went on to do a simple inspection on his suspension components for free. I also prescribed a wheel alignment spec for him from the way he drives and his tyre wear, not sure if he adopted my recommendations or was he even bothered. I was told off by my boss for spending 1 day in the customer's workshop doing the work of a mechanic when I am paid to do something else. But I measure a friend differently from a customer albeit I cannot possibly approve every single warranty coming my way unless it's justified, so it was really a very difficult case for him. But glad to know that his kit works fine till today. I hope yours is also working fine too. Otherwise I will have to start going underneath again. Just don't lower unnecessarily, use the red knob if you want to control roll. I explained to you in person previously already. And be sure to check if the monkeys with their fingers on itchy powder are at it again. I am flying off to conduct some car technical stuffs training in a couple of days.

How's that little souvenir I got for you from Stuttgart when I went over for training? I still have a couple left for the rest in the chatroom.

By the way, here's the link for you to read up.

Edited by ShellVpower

Bro, can pm me ur workshop Bo? Do they have one stop svc like chg timing belt, repair, drive shaft, wheel beg, cv jt dat kinda stuffs? Tia.

yea..thank you bro for sharing..my concern will be comfort and looks rather than performance..how is bc coil's comfort? i was considering that as well..i am driving a vios btw..thanks.. [:)]

FL vios on GAB installed for RM1800... quite comfy and adjusted to the lowest cos i backside itchy... but mine is only basic adjustment up and down nia... stiffness cant be adjusted, so if u wan more comfy spend more for those coils which can adjust stiffness one... :)