Pioneer AVH-8450BT

Cow28

Yup definitely for me as I intend to use the advanced app mode.

But I have to bring up this point. Advanced App only work for compatible apps.

Noted. Does the cable charge the iPhone while connected?

can this MO pro-long till June??? reason is my car only delivery at that time..I'm very interetsed to have it..however, have to depend whether i able to secure the bloody ever increase cOE...

btw, same noob question..is factory install speaker(VIOS btw) good enough for this baby to drive or I need to upgrade the speaker?

Yo Guys !

Lai Liao but Wee Heng only got a few units but indicates that he can get more if I require. He say the best if I can secure with 5 buyers with car plate numbers plus HP numbers is 830. Well 20 dollars is not much of a discount but better then nothing la.

The contact is with the handphone number in :

http://www.sgcarmart.com/directory/merchant.php?MID=11435

Please sms me with your name / HP / Car plate number by today at 91714138.

Thanks

Pioneer AVH-8450BT MO:

cow28

Hlyagami

JaydenSTI

Grx80

X18

Weihui

adamngai

Edited by Cow28

Hi guys,

Can I confirm that this unit supports Chinese language display? I know the previous Pioneer models does not support.

Thanks all...

Hi guys,

Can I confirm that this unit supports Chinese language display? I know the previous Pioneer models does not support.

Thanks all...

It supports Chinese ID Tag3. However, I suspect it supports simplified Chinese only. My songs are a mixture of tradition & simplified Chinese, those word that can't be displayed will be replaced by "_".

The menu/interface language itself can be changed to Chinese. Even come with a Chinese manual :)

Thanks to bro Cow28 for arranging this MO. I think I was the first to install it. [:p]

Went down to Wee Heng yesterday right after work at 530P. The staffs were ready to knock off when I arrived at 620P due to traffic jam along CTE. My sincere apology to them, really pai seh. [blush]

The overall installation took around half an hour. There are 2 extension cables namely microphone & USB + 3.5mm auxiliary extension cable. Therefore they need some time to route the cable around your dashboard.

Initial impression

For those guys who wanna utilize the advanced app mode, the cable CD-IU201S will only arrive next month. In the meantime, if you possess a current iPod/iPhone cable, you can still enjoy/control music/video (use TV Out function from iPhone 4S). I managed to get 8450BT to work with CD-IU201V (advanced app mode not supported) on the following:

1. iPod/Music mode (with control)

2. Movie (didn't try to control)

3. Waze (mirrored the display on iPhone)

Display

Judging from the video that I played, the panel color has pretty impressively wide gamut. Brightness is sufficient, black color is adequate. Contrast is just nice. I tried with default settings, hence I guess you folks will be able to extract even more potential from this unit after you play around with the settings.

Sound

I can't give more contribution over here since I ain't using an AMP nor components speakers. My humble observation is the output from the MOSFET is pretty high. I can hear pretty clearly at level 7-8 even without turning on the loud setting. Of course, it all come down to your setup (speaker impedance, amp gain etc...)

If you guys have questions regarding this unit, feel free to post and ask. I will try my best to answer (on business trip from Mar 26 to Apr 2, so I won't be able to access the unit if you question on settings or behaviors)

Ask around after seeing this post, one of my friend in Malaysia had installed but not very good feedback le...anyway this gadget is up to individual preference de lor. Anyway had no complain with my current set from Blaupunkt not long ago, got BT, got 2 Maps and user friendly iphone/ ipod function, somemore worth the $$$$...why not..:)

Just installed the set !! Wow the quality is [thumbsup] [thumbsup] !!

The communication works very well, my friend say the quality is very good.

The bt audio is cool, automatically detects my phone when I enter the car and play from the last track !!

Will post more review when I continue to play with all the settings!!

WOW big time disappointment !!

I was hoping much improvement over 2011 models' video functions... Guess wat... Still can't play 99% of video file I via USB... Worse is it's restricted to Region 3 DVD ????

It's 2012 n there's still player with region restriction...

I had it installed with reverse camera and the adaptor plate and it cost me slightly above $1000. And I am still having problem learning the Pioneer apps to work on the unit. At least I know HD radio and Pandora does not work in Singapore, but I have downloaded other internation radio software. Now considering if I should get avic u220 navi system.

I manage to watch podcast downloaded from my iphone and as for sdcard videos, you'll need to convert them and reduce them in image quality.

Overall the headunit sound system is not bad. It will be a good add-on to your ICE system.

However, I am still struggling to learn how to fully incorporate it with my iphone/itouch. Guess I am slow in learning modern technology. I kept having difficulties with the Pioneer app.

Also, the bluetooth music sound quality suks, I end up plug in the extra iphone cable(remember to install this cable, extra charge) to the headunit and play my downloaded music and it sounds great with 7000+ KB quality. 3000+ KB sounds bad though.

Oh ya, the provided microphone for phone calling sound a little hollow.

The audio features for music tunning is rather comprehensive. You can make all sorts of adjustment to the sound quality. You can control the gains, listening position for 1 or 2 person, Mixtrax and few selections for bass.

Thought require 201S cable yet to arrive...need this to control Iphone app remotely via the HU display...esp google map...so no need to get the navi system unless u intend to use it in Malaysia.

Kinda leh ceh to go online to mixtrax.com to mix yr music...auto ez mixtrax only got one mode of combining music.

Care to share the software you used to compress the video file to be play via SD/USB?

Okay, I've been surfing the internet and most people (including Pioneer website) mention that AVH head unit only can use SD Class 2 for video playback. However, today I bought SDHC Class 2 and SDHC Class 4 to try out. Okay, Class 2 SDHC is not easy to find even in Sim Lim Square. I could only get SDHC Class 2GB ($5.70) and I bought SDHC Class 4 4GB just to try out.

The good news is that I manage watch Class 4, the bad news is my Class 2 is a damage card...holycow

Hello Tayspiderx, currently I wanted to have MTV music instead of just music alone. So I only experiment on how to extract youtube mtv into my SDHC card. As for movies, I will let you know next time when I succeed.

For the software.. go download Free YouTube Downloader. Once installed, open it and open another frame for youtube.

For my example, in youtube I key in "girls generation" and I select the mtv of THE BOYS_Music (KOR ver.). Copy the URL for this mtv, which is as shown below

Paste this URL on Free YouTube Downloader.

Select "XVid MPEG-4(AVI)"

Select "High Quality"

Once done, locate your converted file and paste it to a SDHC Class 4 card and put it into your AVH-P8450BT or AVH-P8400BH.

The reason why I choose this Korea mtv is because of the graphic and sound quality. Trust me, the girls looks good in your dash hahaha

Next, I will work on other fomat/SD cards and update you guys

Edited by Hachi28

anybody has this issue where the player automatically switches inbetween modes?

the general mode is radio without the context menus, then all of a sudden at some random interval the thing will switch to usb or to radio with the context menu for a few seconds then switch back

Think u need to reset yr set or claim warranty dun think its normal.

Think it's class 2 minimum so perhaps I think will acquire a class 8 or 10 , which may be able to stream movie u think?