Evo X SST vs C180K

Heavenspirit

Which car will you choose  

91 members have voted

1. 1. SST vs C180k

• Evo x sst 7 yrs old
    • New c180k

Depends on what kind of bosses lor.... real bosses buy a MB because they prefer comfort over anything else.

Self delusional bosses buy entry level MB because they think it gives them face.... think again

all my boss i work for like to drive Toyota Altis.. but i wanted to get Skoda superb for next car in 3 years time. so dont know buy liao my boss will think i try to outshine him or not [sweatdrop]

anyway likely not to care lah.

'Face' or status is a delusional concept.

If I drive a merc, there will be some who thinks I'm rich and there will be some who thinks I have changed job to be a chauffeur.

But personally, I would probably just want to experience what's the hype about the German marque.

Don't think is the face thing, is more about safety features car, bread n butter petrol, changing new merc every 3 yrs, cost saving, $ for value, tame down my darkside of speed demon..etc..

yeah safety is a important aspect. but i think you will tame down the dark side.. you will likely go down the path of ..

C180--> C200--> C350....

Edited by Joseph22

Ha.. Thats what u think. I can tell u most ppl recognise brands to models. Try pick any uncle or auntie at the market, show them and ask them which is better? EVO 10 or C180K. U know what i'm trying to say? [laugh] [laugh] [laugh]

Perhaps.... Performance cars were never meant to be marketed towards ignorant uncles and aunties at the market anyway...... :huh:

i am not very sure leh.. because uncle see you drive sports car they will also say wow. see merc only think you rich nia.

most uncle i speak to seem to hold sports car in the same cat as those driving merc.

Choosing cars like choosing GF, would u prefer a hot and sexy girl or a classy business sweet women.

i am not very sure leh.. because uncle see you drive sports car they will also say wow. see merc only think you rich nia.

most uncle i speak to seem to hold sports car in the same cat as those driving merc.

their spork car i dun thk is refering to evo x, wrx, type r etc...

I agree with u. Their sports car refers to Ferrari, Lambor, Porsche, Merc SLK, SLS etc. Those really flashy kind.

no leh. their sportscar are jipun sporks car like EVO WRX and Type R.

okay that was around 10 years back. so their opinion might had evolve. those uncle now consider Grandpa now [laugh]

Frankly, if I were to be in a dangerous situation, I'd feel safer in a performance car than a comfort car.

frankly, if you were to be in a dangerous situation, you will have to ask your self how you put it there liao [laugh]

those uncles n aunties sport car = 2 door.

evo wrx = lancer & impreza nothing more or less.

Keep the Evo. dun be an Idjiot....

(above statement is true if TS still enjoys the car)

today COE top 83k... another aspect to consider.

frankly, if you were to be in a dangerous situation, you will have to ask your self how you put it there liao [laugh]

Ahaha bro, I'm referring to situations beyond my control laa. For e.g. I was once on the NSHW doing 180 on a straight, wanted to use gravity to hit the limit and save abit of fuel. Suddenly this proton who was behind a lorry, decided to swerve out and overtake with at most 1 car distance away from me. I jammed brakes to avoid him and switch to the left, but the lorry was also still there. No one else on the road except me, the proton, and the lorry.

Even a ferrari swerve in with that kinda distance and starting from <100km/h wouldn't have pulled away lor, i think.

I really praise the heavens I'm still around lol :D

Ahaha bro, I'm referring to situations beyond my control laa. For e.g. I was once on the NSHW doing 180 on a straight, wanted to use gravity to hit the limit and save abit of fuel. Suddenly this proton who was behind a lorry, decided to swerve out and overtake with at most 1 car distance away from me. I jammed brakes to avoid him and switch to the left, but the lorry was also still there. No one else on the road except me, the proton, and the lorry.

Even a ferrari swerve in with that kinda distance and starting from <100km/h wouldn't have pulled away lor, i think.

I really praise the heavens I'm still around lol :D

you sure its not your doing?? how i read, i feel you are the one putting yourself in that situation leh. [sweatdrop]

those uncles n aunties sport car = 2 door.

evo wrx = lancer & impreza nothing more or less.

no i remember its EVO and WRX they are talking about.

like i say its 10 years or more back liao

no i remember its EVO and WRX they are talking about.

like i say its 10 years or more back liao

10 years ago, Evo and WRX (not even STI) were considered novel, even exotic cars on our roads. Even Ferrari drivers gave us face (I know because in the era when I was driving a bugeye WRX, I've had friendly "races" with Ferrari drivers on our roads with them giving thumbs up, etc.).

5 years ago, they were perceived as beng cars, having claimed the dubious honour from Honda Civics. People would just swear at them under their breath and think bad thoughts about the ones who drove them.

Now, they're mostly ignored (except by enthusiasts), and if they're noticed - they're just considered bad buys because of the COE prices.

Times change.

BTW, I think this has quite a bit to do with the price point of these cars over the years. In the "golden era", the cars were not only fairly new additions to the international scene (the US was just beginning to notice them, and the models were being featured in the hottest new games, etc.), but to buy a WRX in Singapore would put you back about $130,000 at least.

In the "chao ah beng era", a base WRX cost "merely" $80,000 or even less.

Now, everyone has gotten used to them, and contis have become the new B&B cars, so no matter how expensive the Samurai warriors are, noone really cares anymore. Besides, the last generations of each icon have been rather bad missteps - the Evo X changed too many things (including going from the legendary bulletproof 4G63 to a completely unknown 4b11t for its swan song) and earned a reputation for being a compromise car, and the hatchback WRX was just an embarrassment. If people are really interested in getting a serious Japanese performance car, they just look to the GTR.

I'm sure my rather blunt opinions are going to piss quite a few people off, and for that, I'm sorry. But I assure you that plenty of people, even enthusiasts, think in much the same terms.