Gukubird Neutral Newbie April 5, 2012 Share April 5, 2012 i am not sure whether my observation is correct. It seem like the GOV is very shrewd businessman. For those business that will lost money under their charge, they will sell it off and open up under the pretext of openess and competition. e.g Transporation & Electricity For Business that can make money, e.g. Military hardware, Food for the military, airplane repair, they will hold it close and try to killed the competition. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
KARTer 2nd Gear April 5, 2012 Share April 5, 2012 J22 if bus driver can earn 5k as you claim, there will be a very long queue of people applying to be a bus driver, I mean captain. We always entertain your daft posts but this one I really enjoyed. can someone confirm the 5k income please? i am going to apply for bus driver job this afternoon if can confirm... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
CKP 3rd Gear April 5, 2012 Share April 5, 2012 1.5k to 3k is doubling of wage cost bro Think in terms of wages as a share of GDP rising across the board for everyone. Then it would not appear as a "wage cost" to you. There's plenty of room for Singapore's % wage share of GDP (40-45%) to rise to first world standards (55-60%). Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
KARTer 2nd Gear April 5, 2012 Share April 5, 2012 i am not sure whether my observation is correct. It seem like the GOV is very shrewd businessman. For those business that will lost money under their charge, they will sell it off and open up under the pretext of openess and competition. e.g Transporation & Electricity For Business that can make money, e.g. Military hardware, Food for the military, airplane repair, they will hold it close and try to killed the competition. Please keep quiet lah... govt only wants to hear 'truth' which pleases the ears... shhhhhhhhhhh ... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mightymito 1st Gear April 5, 2012 Share April 5, 2012 I broke my wrist doing a 3d job - dirty dangerous and difficult . I have no choice as im not young anymore, but to say a bus driver is a 3d jod is ludicrous. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Joseph22 Turbocharged April 5, 2012 Share April 5, 2012 5K with allowance why not? but are you willing to work shift? willing to drive during public holiday? when CNY or major holiday come, you dont get to go on leave as these are reserve for the FW where most block leave to go back home and celebrate?? you can call me bluff, but why dont you go and check it out yourself. i do and i get the reply for their salary and looking at how my aunty and uncle (who have 3 kids) lifestlye, i dont think its possible if their pay is only 1.5K each fyi, private bus driver can earn even more if they are willing to drive more route. J22 if bus driver can earn 5k as you claim, there will be a very long queue of people applying to be a bus driver, I mean captain. We always entertain your daft posts but this one I really enjoyed. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
GoodCar 4th Gear April 5, 2012 Share April 5, 2012 What I worried is the driving habbit of these FT driver. e.g., left hand and right hand drive. e.g. Vehicle don't give way to people in their home country. and sad to say, many of our own folks are"program" since young to use the traffic light. Put them in India or China Road they may have problem crossing the road. sometime when give way to people especially studenbt during turn, they walk slowly machiam like old granny. very frustrating. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hub_n_mona 1st Gear April 5, 2012 Share April 5, 2012 Think in terms of wages as a share of GDP rising across the board for everyone. Then it would not appear as a "wage cost" to you. There's plenty of room for Singapore's % wage share of GDP (40-45%) to rise to first world standards (55-60%). erm..we were talking about cost to the company Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
KARTer 2nd Gear April 5, 2012 Share April 5, 2012 er..that's exactly what's needed to push through unpopular schemes..like re-taking public services i think all the scholars in the govt can made hundreds of studies and proposals to both support or ovethrow whether or not to re-think and make bus servies publicly run... but they seem to keep an eye on, and take their cue, from the 'body language' or explicit liking of the old man:- only what he says matter......... so i hope he can be bold (as always?) to put things right in this regard. Hopefully the privatisation of bus service wasnt his pet decision previously. He's not known for making U-turn even when it benefits many. Pls correct me if i m have missed out something to the contrary. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hub_n_mona 1st Gear April 5, 2012 Share April 5, 2012 Yes. In a commercially-run bus service, the management indeed has to jaga:- 1. shareholders' interest (profits/dividends), 2. Passengers' interest (chiefly affordable ticket prices, reliable bus trips, etc), 3. Staff, including drivers, salary and welfare etc. In a publicly run bus service, (1) is removed (or management just has to make sure at least revenue covers costs of funds) which inevidably with give more flexibilities to the management to take care of (2) and (3). This is what i am trying to say. actually, for publicly run service, not so sure whether they even have to make sure revenue covers cost (it should be ideal but not a must?), because public funds will have to be used..I think that's the definition of public goods under Econs? if I remember correctly Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hub_n_mona 1st Gear April 5, 2012 Share April 5, 2012 i am not sure whether my observation is correct. It seem like the GOV is very shrewd businessman. For those business that will lost money under their charge, they will sell it off and open up under the pretext of openess and competition. e.g Transporation & Electricity For Business that can make money, e.g. Military hardware, Food for the military, airplane repair, they will hold it close and try to killed the competition. my take was, for power stuff like senoko power plants, they had to get these assets off their hands in view of new technologies coming online..imagine the investment costs already sunken in for wiring and stuff, and other technologies like solar energy are on the horizon Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hub_n_mona 1st Gear April 5, 2012 Share April 5, 2012 I broke my wrist doing a 3d job - dirty dangerous and difficult . I have no choice as im not young anymore, but to say a bus driver is a 3d jod is ludicrous. fair enough point of view I guess I thought TS was asking for higher wages, not exactly 2k or 3k or what not Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Royho1979 Clutched April 5, 2012 Share April 5, 2012 how about lower profits? that's what TS is talking about but being a commercial entity, it has to answer to shareholders.. the problem comes when the first step of consideration is to keep profits up, cost low should it be like that for 'public transport'? by the way, enough of the "sinkie" s--t already Why the well-being of the Shareholders and managers be held above that of the workers (drivers) and the customers? A profit driven company that is unable to charge the customers reasonable price while allowing them to pay their drivers reasonably should be in the red. The shareholders would then punish the management by selling the stocks and management would react to improve the situation if they can, and if they cannot .. we say goodbye to them. Creative Technology has been in the red. Are they not accountable to the shareholders? Did they ask for handouts from gov? Are they able to price their speakers higher in a competitive environment? No and No. Because they are a commercial entity in a competitive environment. I find it funny that everyone is always dying to ensure the management and directors's welfare are taken care of, when are paid as well as any companies while the drives paid a pittance while they pay the drivers pittance. Oh the shareholders? If you dun wanna take risk, please buy a bond and not shares. By entering the market, you are signing up for potential gains and LOSSES. Its part of the game. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Joseph22 Turbocharged April 5, 2012 Share April 5, 2012 can someone confirm the 5k income please? i am going to apply for bus driver job this afternoon if can confirm... read again. 3~5K. with Allowance why not. Air stewardress pay also around 1.5K before allowance. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Royho1979 Clutched April 5, 2012 Share April 5, 2012 What sinkie s--t would buy the shares then? Thats the reality of life. If your business model suck, your share price drop...I doesnt matter to me when the share price of Tiger Air dropped and I wun care if share price of Comfort or SMRT drop. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
KARTer 2nd Gear April 5, 2012 Share April 5, 2012 .... this is the problem when MIW did not set a benchmark minimum salary... people dont take pride in their work creating "havoc" all over.. how to make drivers take pride in their work, or at least feel shiok about their job once in a while? maybe after each trip, they should be allowed to enjoy a 5min 'massage' in the drivers' rest room? either they massage each other, or get xmm to provide the quickie service (company-paid)? this is how to keep morale high for the rest of the day... (sorry for OT, but its related also) Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hub_n_mona 1st Gear April 5, 2012 Share April 5, 2012 Why the well-being of the Shareholders and managers be held above that of the workers (drivers) and the customers? A profit driven company that is unable to charge the customers reasonable price while allowing them to pay their drivers reasonably should be in the red. The shareholders would then punish the management by selling the stocks and management would react to improve the situation if they can, and if they cannot .. we say goodbye to them. Creative Technology has been in the red. Are they not accountable to the shareholders? Did they ask for handouts from gov? Are they able to price their speakers higher in a competitive environment? No and No. Because they are a commercial entity in a competitive environment. I find it funny that everyone is always dying to ensure the management and directors's welfare are taken care of, when are paid as well as any companies while the drives paid a pittance while they pay the drivers pittance. Oh the shareholders? If you dun wanna take risk, please buy a bond and not shares. By entering the market, you are signing up for potential gains and LOSSES. Its part of the game. but that's the point, aint it? drivers not happy can leave 'cos there are a dozen others (FW, FT or local) waiting to take it up..you already put it succinctly, "profit driven" as long as they show profits, why would shareholders punish them? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
KARTer 2nd Gear April 5, 2012 Share April 5, 2012 read again. 3~5K. with Allowance why not. Air stewardress pay also around 1.5K before allowance. OIC.... then its not bad... your uncle/aunties stay private or HDB? very interesting thing i learn today... will keep in mind when i really cant tahan current job and need a change. any age limit? ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...