Local Bus driver pay and the implications

Ahtong

In Singapore context, "Public" is already not really Public. Is our "Public" Housing affordable to start with?

that's right..

public utilities not exactly public either

so what's left? public servants also ex

privatising such entities was shifting the problem around and actually made it worse

question is, can it be reversed

needs a strong political stomach

The can is opened..

FT are crawling out slowly and surely.

should we let loose a few worm-eating creatures (like birds)?? or use them as baits for fishing? :D

that's right..

public utilities not exactly public either

so what's left? public servants also ex

privatising such entities was shifting the problem around and actually made it worse

question is, can it be reversed

needs a strong political stomach

existing stomach already filled.... with million dollar salaries.. :D a full stomach needs rest..please dont disturb

regarding Management,

it's not wrong that they look to maximise profits as they answer to their shareholders (only) given it is a listed company..

so to maximise profits, obvious routes to go would be to lower cost, increase productivity (more training, automation investment (cost)) etc etc...something that the government is beating the drums on

in that direction, if wages were to go up, to maintain profits, fares must go up..or government must subsidise (which probably is the next stage)

Are you even a sinkie?? when was the last time you saw a sinkie construction labourer?

Now even construction foremen are mostly foreign. And half the engineers too.

I know you can make good points and in a civil manner.

Would appreciate it if you didn't try to derail the thread with trolling behaviour.

It is true that local bus drivers are underpaid by international comparisons but that's also true for the average worker in Singapre.

While the salary data below is dated to 2005, there is no reason to suspect that Singapore's relative position in 2012 has improved significantly to most first world countries' standard.

[cool]

siywY.jpg

existing stomach already filled.... with million dollar salaries.. :D a full stomach needs rest..please dont disturb

Lol! the incumbents cannot be disturbed..

ironically, I think we need another man with fire in belly..another LKY

Are you even a sinkie?? when was the last time you saw a sinkie construction labourer?

Now even construction foremen are mostly foreign. And half the engineers too.

Places like AUSTRALIA have locals as construction workers, who also live a decent life style and are relatively speaking proud of their job. What price these countries and their general public pay to achieve this?

you are part of the problem of this country. inciting with no solution. next time you get on a bus give 100 cash to the driver if you are so sincere

Lol! the incumbents cannot be disturbed..

ironically, I think we need another man with fire in belly..another LKY

minus "He-God" mentality, minus "Kill At All Costs" towards those who dont agree with his GODLY views or who step on his toes :D

So we pay sinkie 3k then increase fare then sinkie complain fare expensive? then lower fare and increase taxes then sinkie complain tax expensive?

TS needs an education ... -_-

Let's be honest here.

When did drivers' wages form of significant portion of the annual fare increase?

[:p]

Let's be honest here.

When did drivers' wages form of significant portion of the annual fare increase?

[:p]

1.5k to 3k is doubling of wage cost bro

you are part of the problem of this country. inciting with no solution. next time you get on a bus give 100 cash to the driver if you are so sincere

i think he has made valid points [:)]

no need to get personal lah....

minus "He-God" mentality, minus "Kill At All Costs" towards those who dont agree with his GODLY views or who step on his toes :D

er..that's exactly what's needed to push through unpopular schemes..like re-taking public services [laugh]

TS you know they got driving allowance for per trip or not?? those added in easily their pay become 3 to 5 K liao.

my aunty and uncle happen to drive for Tibs

J22 if bus driver can earn 5k as you claim,

there will be a very long queue of people

applying to be a bus driver, I mean captain.

We always entertain your daft posts

but this one I really enjoyed.

Edited by Jamesc

relax man, no need to get personal

TS doesnt seem to be inciting

TS brought up his point of view, you put across yours..both valid

regarding Management,

it's not wrong that they look to maximise profits as they answer to their shareholders (only) given it is a listed company..

so to maximise profits, obvious routes to go would be to lower cost, increase productivity (more training, automation investment (cost)) etc etc...something that the government is beating the drums on

in that direction, if wages were to go up, to maintain profits, fares must go up..or government must subsidise (which probably is the next stage)

Yes.

In a commercially-run bus service, the management indeed has to jaga:-

1. shareholders' interest (profits/dividends),

2. Passengers' interest (chiefly affordable ticket prices, reliable bus trips, etc),

3. Staff, including drivers, salary and welfare etc.

In a publicly run bus service, (1) is removed (or management just has to make sure at least revenue covers costs of funds) which inevidably with give more flexibilities to the management to take care of (2) and (3). This is what i am trying to say. :D

$5000? Sure or not? Do you have the details?

How much you make a month? Ever considered bus driving?

Didnt ask the detail but she is my aunty so will at most say less wont say more. but she did mention, 5K is the max liao no more higher.

yeah i consider driving bus after i retire :wub: