Black Hawk Down Afghanistan

Vulcann

I shift my upwards, feels more comfortable, sitting down, standing up, running etc.. easy also when I take a piss.

Oh..sorry, weren't we talking about........... [blush]

wah! early morning warming up liao! cant wait for the weekend is it? [:p]

Errr....my weekend started at 5:30am this morning. [laugh] [laugh]

no wonder u seemed warmed up! when can i taste ur kopi luak? er......not physically urs but those u buy in package one.... [laugh][laugh]

Kopi Luwak not suka suka, and I don't buy in packets, I bring in the raw beans and roast them myself. Taste now not possible,

price of coffee went sky high, per kilo x2 now. For luwak, I only brought in 2kgs, of which I roasted 1kg for my Mother In Law,

other 1kg is as and when I need to, then I'll roast, if not, it remains in storage. -_-

Kopi Luwak not suka suka, and I don't buy in packets, I bring in the raw beans and roast them myself. Taste now not possible,

price of coffee went sky high, per kilo x2 now. For luwak, I only brought in 2kgs, of which I roasted 1kg for my Mother In Law,

other 1kg is as and when I need to, then I'll roast, if not, it remains in storage. -_-

i know lar! Now kopi luak most are from farms where they have captive civet cats that are caught, kept in large cages for a few months (maybe) given harvested coffee for meals and the dropping are then harvested, cleaned, packaged and sold! The civet are then released back into the wild as claimed by the farm owners! Good practise! [thumbsup]

Air crashes involving military helicopters are quite common in Afganistan.

But really have to admire the American spirit of everyone comes home whether dead or alive.

Saw a documentary titled Helicopter War this week on Starhub.

A group of 4 men SEAL team were ambushed in Afganistan while on an assasination mission. They called for help.

A Chinook was sent to retrieve them but it was shot down and all 30 men onboard were KIA.

The base commander was left with 2 Black Hawks flown by Air Force reserve units who were due to return home in 3 days.

The special forces actually looked down on them and doubt their ability to carry out the rescue and retrieve mission.

So 2 BHs were sent 2 days later on a night mission to rescue the sole survivor who was wounded. Due to the thin mountain air, the BH struggled to stay airborne while one of the crew rapelled down to rescue the survivor.

They flew again the next night to a kampong on a cliff to retrieve the 3 bodies. Due to the pitch black condition, their NVG goggles were rendered useless and they were flying almost blind. When they reached the LZ, they had to land on a narrow strip with a wall on one side, and a cliff on the other. The flight engineers had to guide the pilots on landing. It was only after landing they realised their main rotor almost clipped the wall and the tail rotor very near to a tree, while the wheels were just a few feet away from the cliff !!

American servicemen are really gungho and I salute them for their never leave anyone behind spirit.

Bro, correction. I believe I have posted into the Complaints section!!

Paiseh paiseh!

so, are you complaining the engine not properly maintain or work of FW ... [:p][:p][:p]

he compalining that the BH cannot take the load...so crashed due to weight! [laugh][laugh]

KNN. everytime US plane down, they will say engine problem to save face...

Like the spy plane which was shot down in Iran, earlier statement say mechanical fault... [rifle]

Nope not another Hollywood blockbuster movie but an actual crash in Afghanistan.

Since Vietnam till today, never cease to amaze me how troopers dare to charge into battle in choppers with skins as thick as those of our B&B cars. [sweatdrop]

And the crews either in troop carrier or gunship mode (other than dedicated ones like Apaches) helicopters must have nerves of steel and have b*lls made of brass to be daring enough to maneuver their ships into war zones & out.

Respect [thumbsup][thumbsup]

From CNA:

http://www.channelnewsasia.com/stories/afp...1196387/1/.html

US helicopter crashes in Afghanistan: US official

Posted: 20 April 2012 0458 hrs

i know lar! Now kopi luak most are from farms where they have captive civet cats that are caught, kept in large cages for a few months (maybe) given harvested coffee for meals and the dropping are then harvested, cleaned, packaged and sold! The civet are then released back into the wild as claimed by the farm owners! Good practise! [thumbsup]

Mine is from Sumentra. Not farmed.

Like the spy plane which was shot down in Iran, earlier statement say mechanical fault... [rifle]

they can give any excuse as they like! just like the excuse given when they invaded Iraq! :angry: If they had invaded during the 1st gulf war

no one will give squat...but to give wmd excuse (which till now cannot even be proven) is the crap of all crap and they can get away with it. If Iraqi's were like American, they will sue bush till kingdom come! :wacko:

This was Operation Red Wings.

Air crashes involving military helicopters are quite common in Afganistan.

But really have to admire the American spirit of everyone comes home whether dead or alive.

Saw a documentary titled Helicopter War this week on Starhub.

A group of 4 men SEAL team were ambushed in Afganistan while on an assasination mission. They called for help.

A Chinook was sent to retrieve them but it was shot down and all 30 men onboard were KIA.

The base commander was left with 2 Black Hawks flown by Air Force reserve units who were due to return home in 3 days.

The special forces actually looked down on them and doubt their ability to carry out the rescue and retrieve mission.

So 2 BHs were sent 2 days later on a night mission to rescue the sole survivor who was wounded. Due to the thin mountain air, the BH struggled to stay airborne while one of the crew rapelled down to rescue the survivor.

They flew again the next night to a kampong on a cliff to retrieve the 3 bodies. Due to the pitch black condition, their NVG goggles were rendered useless and they were flying almost blind. When they reached the LZ, they had to land on a narrow strip with a wall on one side, and a cliff on the other. The flight engineers had to guide the pilots on landing. It was only after landing they realised their main rotor almost clipped the wall and the tail rotor very near to a tree, while the wheels were just a few feet away from the cliff !!

American servicemen are really gungho and I salute them for their never leave anyone behind spirit.

Last time you took SQ, they also said engine problem, over loaded. [laugh]