SLSAMG88 1st Gear September 7, 2012 Share September 7, 2012 the guy who hit me last time ... he called me up personally on the phone to apologize 2 days later. it didnt mean much to me (at that point), but the judge asked him when sentencing him, whether he had at least apologized ... so it will help your case if you ever end up in front of a judge. Eh? Need to see judge? I bang a motorcycle before, the guy broke his leg after I had switched lanes at a traffic light at night. In my defence, I had my signal turned on and his bike's headlights were so badly maintained he might as well not have headlights! So I couldn't see anything until I heard a screech behind me, and saw him fall behind my car in my rearview mirror. He actually didn't bang my car, but fell from the skid. I got 6 demerit points and a $200 fine. Insurance took car of the rest. Didn't even speak to the IO after he took the report. Called the guy up and visited him in hospital, but really, quite awkward, just told him to let insurance take care of all the bills. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
SLSAMG88 1st Gear September 7, 2012 Share September 7, 2012 its a straight road and my son who is below 6 pull my left arm sleeve.. Yeh, that's why you put the childseat at the back and buckle him in! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Celicar Turbocharged September 7, 2012 Share September 7, 2012 Eh? Need to see judge? I bang a motorcycle before, the guy broke his leg after I had switched lanes at a traffic light at night. In my defence, I had my signal turned on and his bike's headlights were so badly maintained he might as well not have headlights! So I couldn't see anything until I heard a screech behind me, and saw him fall behind my car in my rearview mirror. He actually didn't bang my car, but fell from the skid. I got 6 demerit points and a $200 fine. Insurance took car of the rest. Didn't even speak to the IO after he took the report. Called the guy up and visited him in hospital, but really, quite awkward, just told him to let insurance take care of all the bills. Wah, never bang you still can claim you? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Celicar Turbocharged September 7, 2012 Share September 7, 2012 the thread starter got use signal or not before turning out of a sudden? if not u jolly well take this as an important lesson, learn to use ur car's bloody signals to indicate your intention to other motorists! seriously... some drivers just don't use signals and take it for granted :angry: Some use signal and think can take it for granted that it means they have right to go in whichever direction they are signally to. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Fd60 Neutral Newbie September 7, 2012 Share September 7, 2012 bro... i know how u feel... so many things to worry about... last time i also knocked down a old uncle in a very old motorcycle... he flew onto my bonnet and tumble on the ground... the image still in my head until today... thankfully only deep abrasion... after ambulance conveyed him away and TP allowed me to leave, I guess he must be at NUH cuz we at bukit batok... zhoon zhoon he was there at A&E. I found out he will observation and no family members will be coming... I waited for 4 hours for him to be discharged. Send him home and pass him $50 for transport and kopi. whole journey talk abt how sorry i am and pls recover well. Tell him to do what he must as in claims or insurance... deep inside my feelings were mixed. Very super happy he suffered not so major injuries but very scared of 5 figure claims... he got 2 weeks MC... To my pleasant surprise, 2 days later he called me to go down motor workshop, he say to repair his motorbike need 1.k plus. he ask me want to pay for repair or claim insurance!!!??? or course i pay! i offered to round up the sum to 3k so cover for his 3 weeks MC (dishwasher + kopi uncle) and daily commute to polyclinic for dressing. He say he wont accept. The most he accept to round up the figure to 2k. I learn so much from this dishwasher uncle. Working so hard as coffee uncle and dish washer but refuse another 1k becasue he thinks it is not right... Sorry I digress, what I want to say is I think it is very important to show him how sincere and sorry you are... ur case is rare bro . for nowadays society is hehe . not many these type of nice people already . Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Fd60 Neutral Newbie September 7, 2012 Share September 7, 2012 Sometimes when i am the first car at the junction, i will see some bikes come up and stop in front of me. Then when it turns green, they will wait a bit before moving off, as if baiting us to hit them if we are not observant enuff. I just wait til they move off (brake light off) before i let go brake also. lolz i tot is the other way around . wat i observe is like they r dying to move off first as soon as they could . Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Simonsoh 2nd Gear September 10, 2012 Share September 10, 2012 ur case is rare bro . for nowadays society is hehe . not many these type of nice people already . maybe he saw my sincerity... accident at 10pm. I wait for him outside A&E until 5am... just to send him home and pass him some kopi money and travelling expenses. Honestly, i did all these things not so that he can show me some mercy when claiming... but I felt responsible and sorry. He's an old man on an extremely old bike... u know when we negotiate the final settlement price in front of the motorshop staff, their jaws drop and looked stunned (literally) when he refuse my 3k and say he accept only 2k. everyone was expecting him to raise the 3k. (i must also add that he instructed the motorshop "can repair should repair, really cannot repair then change parts). more stunned was when i say the 3k top-up is because he 3 weeks cannot work he no salary (kopi and dish washer no work no pay type)... he say correct lah.. he no work that means no pay, why should i compensate him any money for not working??? anyway he will be starting work in a few days. erm... argue again evil people to reduce amount i know... but argue against kind-hearted people to force them to take more money as compensation i dun know... I agree i was very lucky to escape cheap and to learn so many lessons from uncle. I hope TS can meet the guy to apologise to wash away some guilt and the settlement amt would be fair to everyone. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Topgan 1st Gear September 10, 2012 Share September 10, 2012 wow.. u sure unlucky. I had a similar incident where a car cut into my lane at the last minute exit from the HW. Then I heard a screech behind me, and saw the bike fall behind my car in my rearview mirror. Stop and help him and push his bike to the side road. Told him I can help if he want to claim that stupid car that cut in the lane dangerously as I could view from my DVR for the car number. Thereafter he say it is ok as there wasn't any contact between us (he didn't hit my car so I wont claim against him). Case close. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...