1fast1 Supersonic February 1, 2013 Share February 1, 2013 Better to get China brand or local brand DVD/Bluray players. Most are region free for friendly play No lah, I find LG to be the best compromise. Not really significantly more expensive than China brand players, and got big name support and quality. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hoppie24 1st Gear February 1, 2013 Share February 1, 2013 i also have this problem when i use my PS3 to play the BR disc. Anyone knows which player can bypass? wanna get 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Beehive3783 Turbocharged February 1, 2013 Share February 1, 2013 No lah, I find LG to be the best compromise. Not really significantly more expensive than China brand players, and got big name support and quality. Korean girls hard to find. China girls easy to find. I use this analogy to make life more lively Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kb27 Supersonic February 1, 2013 Share February 1, 2013 As far as I know, Sony players cannot be unlocked to be made region-free. Sony is one of the worst offenders when it comes to aggressive DRM (Digital Rights Management). That's why I don't support them. Buy a Korean player - LG players are easily unlocked with the standard remote. Yeap, Sony produced movies as well. So definitely, they are one of the "worst" culprit. I won't buy any Sony product either. Pioneer seemed to be one of the less aggressive supporter. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Shemmy Clutched February 1, 2013 Share February 1, 2013 Nothing to do with region at all. Cinavia is activated if you play chiong sony released blu-ray. Only way out is to buy a cinavia free player. LG seems the best. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Freestylers09 5th Gear February 1, 2013 Share February 1, 2013 I kana this msg from LG leh lol Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kungfu Clutched February 1, 2013 Author Share February 1, 2013 i brought my unit to the sony care at wisma atrium to ask them to unlock it.....,so wait for their news lor....if cannot....give it up lah....for any good cause....better go get myself a akira blu ray player...nowadays so cheap..........or philips also can.....forget about all these Cinavia.......and other whatever protection nonsense!!!! think akira the best..........whatever craps DVDs or Blu Rays can also play!!!! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Shemmy Clutched February 1, 2013 Share February 1, 2013 I kana this msg from LG leh lol Cos after feb 02 last, it's mandatory for new blu-ray players to have cinavia. LG's list not too bad compared to samsung and sony Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
1fast1 Supersonic February 1, 2013 Share February 1, 2013 Cos after feb 02 last, it's mandatory for new blu-ray players to have cinavia. LG's list not too bad compared to samsung and sony Wow, it's like those greedy idiots are actively driving even their law-abiding, BR buying customers toward torrenting. Torrented files are not just DRM-free, they're literally free. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Beehive3783 Turbocharged February 1, 2013 Share February 1, 2013 Wow, it's like those greedy idiots are actively driving even their law-abiding, BR buying customers toward torrenting. Torrented files are not just DRM-free, they're literally free. Ya lor.. 720p rips are aplenty.. and free.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
1fast1 Supersonic February 1, 2013 Share February 1, 2013 Ya lor.. 720p rips are aplenty.. and free.. For TV, I go for 720p. For movies, it's nothing but full 1080p for me. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kungfu Clutched February 4, 2013 Author Share February 4, 2013 is philips affected...thoght of buying a philips Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jojoman Neutral Newbie February 4, 2013 Share February 4, 2013 i just stop buying blu ray!!!anymore...hahaha Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kungfu Clutched February 22, 2013 Author Share February 22, 2013 let's revive this thread. Cinavia topics are very actively discussed in else overseas thread. Some findings here:- We not talking about original discs If you have or managed to get your Cinavia protected Blu Ray player hacked........great.....then avoid Blu Ray movies under Sxxx Entertainment.....cause not all producers embrace this Cinavia b-------t stuff........Sxxx blu ray movies still have the Cinavia watermark embedded in the discs itself......almost impossible to rip. Managed to got a brand player that have Cinavia removed, but the above type of discs still LLLL, cause the water mark in the disc.......suck thumb. Now will try to get someone at Sxx Lim to hack my Sxxx Blu Ray player Cinavia protection......or I will go back to Sxxx to make a scene and get them to remove the Cinavia mark....I doubt they do it...... Those wanting to buy Blu Ray player graetly avoid Sxxx & Samxxxx.......Pioneer/LG/Palladine/Panasonic should be OK......rule of thumb is to get older model as those not affected by the C bug... I dun believe the whole s'pore no one knows how to crack the Cinavia protection!!!! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kb27 Supersonic February 22, 2013 Share February 22, 2013 Since BR player is getting cheaper by the day, just buy one that don't care about cinavia. The same thing you do when you buy dvd player, ask the salesman if it's region-free. No region-free, forget it. No need to support Sony. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kungfu Clutched February 22, 2013 Author Share February 22, 2013 (edited) Correct.....BD player cheaper and cheaper...but as of Feb 2012....all BD player MUST come with Cinavia protection as Sxxx managed to convince some high motion picture authority to pass the ruling. Now quite hard to get a model Cinavia free....unless older version where the firmware not upgraded yet .......just bought a Pioneer 3D Blu Ray HT system with Receiver....only $249. My set is Cinavia free so can play almost all Blu Ray movies....but just share avoid movies under Sxxx Entertainment as the water mark still in the discs itself, even though your player is free......I tested and fully able to play movies under Paramount etc...... Just community sharing Not all brand embraces Cinavia...............which is total b-------t Edited February 22, 2013 by Kungfu Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Thedream 3rd Gear February 22, 2013 Share February 22, 2013 Wow, it's like those greedy idiots are actively driving even their law-abiding, BR buying customers toward torrenting. Torrented files are not just DRM-free, they're literally free. Cinavia protection survives re-encoding, so torrented files will still have cinavia protection in tact. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
1fast1 Supersonic February 22, 2013 Share February 22, 2013 (edited) Cinavia protection survives re-encoding, so torrented files will still have cinavia protection in tact. You're right. The only way out is to use a media player that doesn't support Cinavia, in which case it won't matter at all. My point was that this sort of behaviour on the part of the media companies makes it easy to rationalise "pirate" behaviour. Edited February 22, 2013 by Turboflat4 ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...