Daihatsu Materia/Toyota bB

Daredarr

Hi, Im on KIDO (Taiwan brand) 4 Pot caliper (30mm piston diameter i think) 286mm Kit with SSBH. Paid 1286 for it 2 years back. Brake pade size is wrx default, so can change pads w/o worries. Fitted in 15 inch rims

Brake kit saved me from many near-misses over the last 2 years, but need to compliment with good tyres if u ask me (Previously on TOYO t1r, now on YKHM ad08).

Problem is finding the best offset rim to clear brake caliper.

Currently now im on 15 X 8 +30mm TE37SL rims from AL TYRE. Cleared caliper w/o worries

Forget to state that this brand is not being brought into SG anymore, so can consider other brand that can customise rotor hat and caliper bracket.

Cheers~

Edited by Acegem84

What luck! Got a slight dent on top of the hatch door this afternoon when reversing. Didn't notice the sign board : BEWARE OF RAILING WHEN REVERSING. HDB should block this single lot as i believe I am not the first one hitting the railing.

wah.. semi active bB Materia Forum [cool]

Hope it remains active tho "semi" lah. Lol

Anyway I can't seem to find a gd workshop to service my Mater, so gotta do it at STS to be sure things are Alrite. Changed 2x engine mounting there couple of months back. So far so good....so likely will continue to patronize there bah.......

Doing my 60k servicing today at STS

For me, I always go back to STS. So far mainly servicing and also at initial period I got the rattling sound from the steering repaired twice. I wasn't sure what was the cause as they did not put this in the repair report. The guy at Kallang told me this is common with Daihatsu.

Came across this thread when surfing. I'm driving a Toyota bB for now and absolutely loving it. Yes a bit noisy I agree but I love the space.

Hi there~ i own a Bb. Not sure if any of the owners here experience clanking sound when driving at low speed on uneven road? Went for many rounds of checks at my workshop and was told it is the front bumper but i doubt so.

and also clicking sound during acceleration (like after you release the accelerator when nearing a red light and stepping on it again to accelerate). sometimes releasing the accelerator also will have the clicking sound.

any good workshop to recommend for our car model?

Hi there~ i own a Bb. Not sure if any of the owners here experience clanking sound when driving at low speed on uneven road? Went for many rounds of checks at my workshop and was told it is the front bumper but i doubt so.

and also clicking sound during acceleration (like after you release the accelerator when nearing a red light and stepping on it again to accelerate). sometimes releasing the accelerator also will have the clicking sound.

any good workshop to recommend for our car model?

I think your clanking sound might be a steering rack wear & tear issue. Used to have such sound on uneven road, after change steering rack liao no more. Mechanic mentioned that this is a common issue with materia/bB.

I experienced the same when mine was still under warranty. Went to Teban Garden worshop and they said nothing wrong; but when I went to Kallang they got the steering rack changed and now no more noise.

Went for car servicing yesterday and the mech recommended an engine mounting change. Glad I did it and now the the car is so much smoother like new. Next change is the aircon compressor. Mech recommend it but told me it was not necessary as the aircon is still functioning well. The reason behind was the noise it created because of the wear and tear on the aircon compressor.

Edited by Zep

Hi all, I am from New Zealand and I drive a Daihatsu Materia too

I also have the noise from the front when driving over bumpy road so it seems it's from the steering rack. After a bit of search on the net, there was a recall re the steering rack issue:

http://dogandlemon.com/content/rj-1951-0-3

and it says one of the joint was not tighten properly. So does it mean tighten up the joint can fix the noise/issue? Has anyone tried it?

Hi all, I am from New Zealand and I drive a Daihatsu Materia too

I also have the noise from the front when driving over bumpy road so it seems it's from the steering rack. After a bit of search on the net, there was a recall re the steering rack issue:

http://dogandlemon.com/content/rj-1951-0-3

and it says one of the joint was not tighten properly. So does it mean tighten up the joint can fix the noise/issue? Has anyone tried it?

I had mine changed on the 1st yr when it was still under warranty. Initially, the mechanic just tighten it but it doesn't help. The noise was very slight when I go over bump, and only myself as driver could feel it, Even the mechanic claimed all was normal until I insist there was noise.