Neighbourhood or Elite Primary School

Caldina

Hey....me too. My chinese suxs. [laugh]

Butttttttttt............it doesnt benefit me doesnt mean it will not benefit my kids.

Why purposely ignoring an advantage when the situation present itself ?

Anyway, i dont id Pei Chin as an elite school. I dont believe in elite schools in the first place. [laugh]

My flat is next to two schools. Left side primary school, right side secondary school and in front is kindergarten. [:p] No worries which school to go to if I have kids. [laugh]

Very wrong knowledge

Nothing is call no worries toking abt sch in Singapore

Even if it's at ur void deck taking cc as eg

Doesn't mean ur kid got vacancy to go in hor

Lol

Pri sch oso hor

Single sex sch easier a bit

"Elite" here does not merely mean academics ok.... ACJS and SCGS are academically abysmal.

And if you send your kids to such schools (assuming they can even get in), be prepared for the classic Singaporean "keeping up with the Joneses", but this time you're playing at the District 9, 10, 11 bungalow level where a swimming pool at home is de rigeur, household income is above $750k, 3 or 4 cars is common, the cheapest one being a BMW, holidays will be to Swiss chalets, Alaskan cruises and London shopping trips.

If you are unable to play the game, your kids will be ostracised.

Correct!

i like that school, i believe it has a very good moral teaching.

I bump into a P1 girl from meetoh (recognised from her t shirt) in a tuition centre (CDAC to be precise), she saw me from far and not knowing who i was (just using their toilet in the building [laugh] [laugh] jk), she bow to me with respect, i almost cry on the spot!! i dun think i would ever met a kid like her in singapore.

U sure she is not Japanese???

Hahaha

Impressive

Correct!

I came across two young boys running around, playing some make-believe military or shoot-em-up game the other day. Think they were cousins. One geeky specky and the other quite muscular, athletic.

Asked them which schools they were from.

The specky geek answered confidently,"ACS Barker!" (He obviously meant ACPS). The other boy muttered under his breath,".......school".

I asked again,"huh? what school?"

The brawny boy answered a little loudly,"***** primary school", apparently somewhere in Punggol or Pasir Ris or something, but not something he was extremely proud of.

The geeky ACS boy said,"It is near his house!" and smiled.

I was amazed at the level of EQ this geeky ACS boy displayed. He managed to graciously let his cousin "down the stage" and not make him feel embarrassed. This is true class, typical of ACS.

Edited by Viceroymenthol

But some are better. And maybe 10 are the best.

Good, better, best. Minister is correct, all are at least good schools.

it should be best, bester...bestest.....so I should say...''All school are best in Singapore''... [laugh]

"Elite" here does not merely mean academics ok.... ACJS and SCGS are academically abysmal.

And if you send your kids to such schools (assuming they can even get in), be prepared for the classic Singaporean "keeping up with the Joneses", but this time you're playing at the District 9, 10, 11 bungalow level where a swimming pool at home is de rigeur, household income is above $750k, 3 or 4 cars is common, the cheapest one being a BMW, holidays will be to Swiss chalets, Alaskan cruises and London shopping trips... on first class no less.... many of the kids have not experienced "cattle class" economy before...

If you are unable to play the game, your kids will be ostracised.

If you can hack it, by all means send your kid there but be prepared to answer any questions he/she will have on your family's economic status.

At MGS, the teachers asked the girls to name the car brands they have at home. Majority were Mercedes Benzes, a few had Bentleys and Porsches, maybe one or two Ferraris. Imagine if you drove a Nissan GTR.

I dun think that is very true.

I was from ACS (pri till JC). There are abt 30% to 50% of the population within the lower or middle class. (incl myself).

However, we never had any issue mixing with the richer crowd. No 'keeping up with the joneses'. I would go to my friends' hses to play and some of them stayed in GCBs. Likewise, they would also sometimes come to my HDB flat.

My dad will pick me up from sch in a beatdown corolla, and i never felt that it was out of place amidst the BMWs and Mercs.

The rich kids who ostracised prob just form 1% of student population and they will just keep to their own exclusive grp. There are plenty more down to earth friends to hang out with.

Which is better?

Well, I did hear neighborhood schools are producing good students too. Elite ones are not accurately good. This also depends child to child. Different child have different level of abilities. If one cannot catch up with most of the good ones, it will result an terrible emotional setback of the child. Only the parents themselves knows best of their children.

I came across two young boys running around, playing some make-believe military or shoot-em-up game the other day. Think they were cousins. One geeky specky and the other quite muscular, athletic.

The specky geek answered confidently,"ACS Barker!" (He obviously meant ACPS). The other boy muttered under his breath,".......school".

The brawny boy answered a little loudly,"***** primary school", apparently somewhere in Punggol or Pasir Ris or something, but not something he was extremely proud of.

I was amazed at the level of EQ this geeky ACS boy displayed. He managed to graciously let his cousin "down the stage" and not make him feel embarrassed. This is true class, typical of ACS.

haha, i can imagine this scene

my wife always thot that acs boys are all the flashy, charming, playboy type.

she was surprised to see most of my ex classmates being a specky geek

Edited by Wyfitms

I dun think that is very true.

I was from ACS (pri till JC). There are abt 30% to 50% of the population within the lower or middle class. (incl myself).

However, we never had any issue mixing with the richer crowd. No 'keeping up with the joneses'. I would go to my friends' hses to play and some of them stayed in GCBs. Likewise, they would also sometimes come to my HDB flat.

My dad will pick me up from sch in a beatdown corolla, and i never felt that it was out of place amidst the BMWs and Mercs.

The rich kids who ostracised prob just form 1% of student population and they will just keep to their own exclusive grp. There are plenty more down to earth friends to hang out with.

That's ancient time bro

Now time has changed

Cocky parents cocky child

Current time sch to me is like

More commercialized

IMO

I Duno u all feel the same

Last x pple more humble

Kids oso gong gong

Hagsha

That's in ancient times bt

I was amazed at the level of EQ this geeky ACS boy displayed. He managed to graciously let his cousin

"down the stage" and not make him feel embarrassed. This is true class, typical of ACS.

50% true sure they r proud to be in acs

50% due to individual n how parents guide him

Most of the case the parents of the 2 of them r cfm different class

Acs kid parents flashy boy proud n flashy

The other maybe parents more quiet or humble

Boy oso will be like that

We r the idol of our kid

They copy wat we do

So we must try our best be positive

Eg last x mcf, I see some c--k bei song I kpo f

Now I see my son at playgrd

His frens fight

He oso go involved

I ask him y he so kpo

Act in my mind f isn't me like tgat

So I Hv to change

Hahaha

No one is perfect ya

I'm not that ancient lah.

My cousin is still in ACS IB. His dad is a CEO and he's still keeping it real.

His sister, in one of the popular gal sch, turned out to be more materialistic.

I hope what u have described is not true for most acs kids

i seen parents kbkb when stopping them from driving in ,then accused said my guards talked v loud,scared kids,i told them, my cctv showed that they were the one kbkb making their kids cried..and only start point fingers without thinking they were the one at fault

i believe more in the upbringing instead of school selection..can see alot characters at my work place ,some are v v humble down to earth yet some like spoilt kids kbkb like their parents..lol

Bavarian,

This year is finally my turn, boy going P1 next year, either neighborhood school St Andrews which is like 5mins walk or our old school, which needs abit of driving, not that far but traffic there is crazy. I am more incline towards convenient for my boy (which is like what some of the bros here said, can sleep till 6.30am)....and mine :)

Btw we still go back every Sunday to play basketball, 3pm. Same old basketball court.

Rgrds

Well, as a parent which of us dun want our kids to get good result in PSLE. As for my case, my perseverance & hard work finally paid off when I was so lucky enuf & managed to get my DD to the Top primary in the East thru Pri 3 transfers which incidentally was Gifted programme year for Pri 3. I have fail to get my DD thru this top Sch 3 years back as I lost out in the balloting and got no choice but to plant her to neighbourhood Sch.

For three years, I nvr fail to turn up to the Sch and full up the waiting list form for Transfer Sch.

Thru my wife hard coaching, my daughter was able to get first in all the early pri Sch classes and the top prospect Sch which is walking distance beside my house after their scrutinize selection, finally call us and accepted my DD application for the transfer. I can tell you that the feeling when receiving the call and being accepted is like the feeling of striking First prize in 4D.

And as my DD is in Pri 6 and preparing for PSLE , I can tell you the teaching and the teacher devotion as well as the notes she bring back cannot really be comparable to those neighbour Sch.

If you guys were thinking which Sch my DD is, well I can tell you is the primary with the poker dot skirt. Hehe..

Edited by Abachee

I'm not that ancient lah.

My cousin is still in ACS IB. His dad is a CEO and he's still keeping it real.

His sister, in one of the popular gal sch, turned out to be more materialistic.

I hope what u have described is not true for most acs kids

Oh no no

Pls dun misunderstood

That bro mentioned acs kid n another kid from other sch

I'm jus guessing from that scenario nia

My nephew is now in acs

Humble like the parents

Ps - I'm not into or against acs pls dun wu hui huh

Hahaha

I'm jus saying how a child act

Is 90% learn from parents