Skywalker Neutral Newbie April 21, 2013 Share April 21, 2013 Looking for new LED TV, what are the key criteria for choosing the "right" one? I only know Motion Rate (somehow those 3D mode have higher rate), 3D (good to have but not necessary), built-in WIFI (no need to buy another adaptor). My choice is either 46" or 47", Samsung or LG since I believe they are the leader in LED TV now, <$2K budget. For the same amount of money, which brand is the best choice? From the specs, LG seems to have slightly better specs (on paper) as compared to Samsung of roughly the same price band. Thanks ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nightkids 6th Gear April 21, 2013 Share April 21, 2013 Looking for new LED TV, what are the key criteria for choosing the "right" one? I only know Motion Rate (somehow those 3D mode have higher rate), 3D (good to have but not necessary), built-in WIFI (no need to buy another adaptor). My choice is either 46" or 47", Samsung or LG since I believe they are the leader in LED TV now, <$2K budget. For the same amount of money, which brand is the best choice? From the specs, LG seems to have slightly better specs (on paper) as compared to Samsung of roughly the same price band. Thanks hey bro sky, me looking at smart led tv too! you have any model on mind? l'm looking at this modelz any comments? Samsung 46" tv 46F5500 For LG, wat model you looking at? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Skywalker Neutral Newbie April 21, 2013 Author Share April 21, 2013 hey bro sky, me looking at smart led tv too! you have any model on mind? l'm looking at this modelz any comments? Samsung 46" tv 46F5500 For LG, wat model you looking at? Was at Best Denki today, saw the 46F6400 series selling ~$1800, good specs.... been doing some homework from Samsung SG website, but some different from department store and newspaper leh.... 46F5500 (Samsung website says model is 46ES5500M, I assume is the same) selling $1390, no wireless LAN built-in, motion rate only 100, non-3D. 5 series is their entry range for 46". Think at least 6 series, 7 series overkill (no budget)..... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nightkids 6th Gear April 21, 2013 Share April 21, 2013 bro, i have do research as well..... afaik samsung singapore haven't update the latest tv series on website yet. 46F5500 is a smart tv, selling at $1499 @ courts / best / harvey. its not 3D though, as not looking at that cat... Any recommendation for LG? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Panhard 1st Gear April 21, 2013 Share April 21, 2013 (edited) I got the new samsung smart led - UA40F5500 from best denki in early April Got the 40" because of short viewing distance. Super natural , brilliant pictures & excellent clarity. Totally no regret. If you got longer viewing distance must sure go for the wider one. Advertised price : $1,099. w/free DVD player worth $129,free foldable picnic table, free wall mount bracket & lucky draw coupons End up paying only $970. Cos DVD player no stock, so deduct $128 Note: wall mount bracket supplied when installing not original & a little bulky cos can tilt.End up tv 10cm from wall. Edited April 21, 2013 by Panhard Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Spring Moderator April 21, 2013 Share April 21, 2013 I got the new samsung smart led - UA40F5500 from best denki in early April Got the 40" because of short viewing distance. Super natural , brilliant pictures & excellent clarity. Totally no regret. If you got longer viewing distance must sure go for the wider one. Advertised price : $1,099. w/free DVD player worth $129,free foldable picnic table, free wall mount bracket & lucky draw coupons End up paying only $970. Cos DVD player no stock, so deduct $128 Note: wall mount bracket supplied when installing not original & a little bulky cos can tilt.End up tv 10cm from wall. Is this with 3D? 3 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nightkids 6th Gear April 21, 2013 Share April 21, 2013 I got the new samsung smart led - UA40F5500 from best denki in early April Got the 40" because of short viewing distance. Super natural , brilliant pictures & excellent clarity. Totally no regret. If you got longer viewing distance must sure go for the wider one. Advertised price : $1,099. w/free DVD player worth $129,free foldable picnic table, free wall mount bracket & lucky draw coupons End up paying only $970. Cos DVD player no stock, so deduct $128 Note: wall mount bracket supplied when installing not original & a little bulky cos can tilt.End up tv 10cm from wall. bro, so your 40F5500 is a Smart tv right? thanks for the info for the wall bracket....got to measure the distance berween the sofa and the wall again.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Panhard 1st Gear April 21, 2013 Share April 21, 2013 Is this with 3D? No 3D , with wifi Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Panhard 1st Gear April 21, 2013 Share April 21, 2013 bro, so your 40F5500 is a Smart tv right? thanks for the info for the wall bracket....got to measure the distance berween the sofa and the wall again.... Ya. Wifi, full HD w/out 3D. Heard that there are super slim brackets which is ideal for this set. As HDMI & USB inputs are located side ways on this set(RH). Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Pms 3rd Gear April 21, 2013 Share April 21, 2013 (edited) Look for the true motion rate 50hz, 100hz, 200hz or more if the technology exist. They dont advertise the true rates anymore. Now they are just advertising processor enhanced motion rates like the one you see as 100hz, 200hz, 400hz and even 800hz. Most low-mid end models have 50hz true rates but advertised as 100hz-400hz. Its a marketing gimmick. Best to get 100hz true speed for non-3D and 200hz true speed for 3D(passive or active) Next, it doenst matter what company is best. We have have to take a look on what panels the TV manufacturer is using. Most low-mid end panels are made in china and only some mid end and most high end panels are made in japan. Then comes the technology and grade of the panels and the best panels are manufactured by Sharp and Samsung. Let me warn you, you get what you pay for and most people dont even bother about the panel, they just care about the badge. Some TV manufacturers use different panels from different companies to suit the market. Dont think even though they manufacture great panels means all their tv are the best. Then after, we have to look which company have the best processor to bring out the life from your panel. Sony is highly regarded in this. Samsung and Philips are notable too but this is down to you own preference and it varies by what type of panels is used. So next time when buying a hd tv, look for the true motion rate, panel technology and manufacturer(please do read up on this) and pixel peeping the image quality of the processor at the store. This is just a 2c worth. Read up various sites and forum so that you dont get chopped. Edited April 21, 2013 by Pms Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Dafansu Turbocharged April 22, 2013 Share April 22, 2013 Samsung get 6 series and above if not no 3D Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nightkids 6th Gear April 22, 2013 Share April 22, 2013 Samsung get 6 series and above if not no 3D but not many shows or tv programme are in 3D leh.... so tout of getting HD enough liao... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jman888 Moderator April 22, 2013 Share April 22, 2013 I feel that the truemotion makes the movie look fake, I never turn it on. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Dafansu Turbocharged April 22, 2013 Share April 22, 2013 but not many shows or tv programme are in 3D leh.... so tout of getting HD enough liao... For DVDs. Normally show also can but not as real. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Skywalker Neutral Newbie April 22, 2013 Author Share April 22, 2013 Look for the true motion rate 50hz, 100hz, 200hz or more if the technology exist. They dont advertise the true rates anymore. Now they are just advertising processor enhanced motion rates like the one you see as 100hz, 200hz, 400hz and even 800hz. Most low-mid end models have 50hz true rates but advertised as 100hz-400hz. Its a marketing gimmick. Best to get 100hz true speed for non-3D and 200hz true speed for 3D(passive or active) Next, it doenst matter what company is best. We have have to take a look on what panels the TV manufacturer is using. Most low-mid end panels are made in china and only some mid end and most high end panels are made in japan. Then comes the technology and grade of the panels and the best panels are manufactured by Sharp and Samsung. Let me warn you, you get what you pay for and most people dont even bother about the panel, they just care about the badge. Some TV manufacturers use different panels from different companies to suit the market. Dont think even though they manufacture great panels means all their tv are the best. Then after, we have to look which company have the best processor to bring out the life from your panel. Sony is highly regarded in this. Samsung and Philips are notable too but this is down to you own preference and it varies by what type of panels is used. So next time when buying a hd tv, look for the true motion rate, panel technology and manufacturer(please do read up on this) and pixel peeping the image quality of the processor at the store. This is just a 2c worth. Read up various sites and forum so that you dont get chopped. Does that mean even Samsung may not use their own panel on their own TV? and how to know whether the advertised speed is TRUE or not? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Skywalker Neutral Newbie April 22, 2013 Author Share April 22, 2013 I also heard most of the 3D TV can convert 2D to 3D, i.e. source need not come in 3D Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Dafansu Turbocharged April 22, 2013 Share April 22, 2013 I also heard most of the 3D TV can convert 2D to 3D, i.e. source need not come in 3D yup, but not as real Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Pms 3rd Gear April 22, 2013 Share April 22, 2013 (edited) Does that mean even Samsung may not use their own panel on their own TV? and how to know whether the advertised speed is TRUE or not? Yes. You buy low-mid end models, it may come out from their china factory or some other manufacturers panel. Is the norm anyway. Same like car lah. B&b car outsource to another country. Higher end then come from korean or japanese panels. Popular models are easier to find for reviews where they dig deep to find the true speed, panel type and etc. Edited April 22, 2013 by Pms ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...