Relagsingh 4th Gear May 3, 2013 Share May 3, 2013 Planning to celebrate my mum's birthday so thinking of bringing her to have Dim Sum this time. So far, I've been to a few (which I am going to list) but would like to gather some opinions or recommendations to good Dim Sum outlets -Tim Ho Wan -Peach Garden -Crystal Jade -Li Bai -Imperial Treasure -East Ocean Most places mentioned so I just add in a couple. Old Hong Kong actually not bad. And Yan Ge at Hong Lim. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jman888 Moderator May 3, 2013 Share May 3, 2013 Most places mentioned so I just add in a couple. Old Hong Kong actually not bad. And Yan Ge at Hong Lim. old Hong Kong at raffles city? I hope not the old Hong Kong at other locations cos those really suck Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
WTF 4th Gear May 3, 2013 Share May 3, 2013 Most places mentioned so I just add in a couple. Old Hong Kong actually not bad. And Yan Ge at Hong Lim. Yes, Yan Court is quite nice to me as well....... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Relagsingh 4th Gear May 3, 2013 Share May 3, 2013 old Hong Kong at raffles city? I hope not the old Hong Kong at other locations cos those really suck Heard of some sub-standard old hong kong outlets so was apprehensive at 1st. But recently tried out the one at chomp chomp myVillage. The soupy xiao long bao is good. My least fave is only the He Ye Fan. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Relagsingh 4th Gear May 3, 2013 Share May 3, 2013 (edited) Yes, Yan Court is quite nice to me as well....... That's the original Yan Ge. The outlet at Warren CC sucks. Good to see lots of Dim sum fans here. Edited May 3, 2013 by Relagsingh Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
LoverofCar 6th Gear May 3, 2013 Share May 3, 2013 Midnight tim sum can try Swee Choon Tried it one hour ago....very normal...won't orgasm me to make a second trip there... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lala81 Hypersonic May 4, 2013 Share May 4, 2013 Tried peach garden at ocbc exec floor but not so impressive, none can beat dim sum in hk hahaha i go there for CNY lunch. not too crowded. that's like saying chicken rice in HK is lousier than chicken rice in SG Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lala81 Hypersonic May 4, 2013 Share May 4, 2013 basically all the chinese restaurants in 5* hotel can do a decent tim sum. more impt question, which one should avoid agree. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lala81 Hypersonic May 4, 2013 Share May 4, 2013 Imperial Treasure, the Taka one is good actually the CJ golden palace? at Taka is also good. better than the normal CJ. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lala81 Hypersonic May 4, 2013 Share May 4, 2013 will wait couple months before trying tim ho wan... the queue is Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Chucky2007 Turbocharged May 4, 2013 Share May 4, 2013 I would go for Mouth restaurant at Cross street on a mothers day. Parking is easy, wouldn't be more crowded than those in town. Some of their specialty like 流沙包 is pretty nice. Overall quite ok for Tim sum. Brought some HK colleagues there for Tim sum lunch last week and they also like it. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lala81 Hypersonic May 4, 2013 Share May 4, 2013 Yeah lor. why waste time and money to those high class ex places? My personal take. cos the food is better? And Red star is actually expensive? If u like the nostalgic feeling, then i would say it's the only reason to go there. Unless the dishes that i don't usually eat are the nice ones. What is actually nice at red star? The time i went there, most of the dimsum is really coffeeshop standard. There was only one dish i thought was restaurant standard. I expected the bill to at reflect the difference in standard, but it's actually more expensive than a comparable meal at most dimsum joints Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
WTF 4th Gear May 4, 2013 Share May 4, 2013 My personal take. cos the food is better? And Red star is actually expensive? If u like the nostalgic feeling, then i would say it's the only reason to go there. Unless the dishes that i don't usually eat are the nice ones. What is actually nice at red star? The time i went there, most of the dimsum is really coffeeshop standard. There was only one dish i thought was restaurant standard. I expected the bill to at reflect the difference in standard, but it's actually more expensive than a comparable meal at most dimsum joints that;s why I only visited Red Star once and that was about 15 yrs ago though it's near my house........ Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Yeshe Turbocharged May 4, 2013 Share May 4, 2013 why not try the latest 1 star restaurant from HK...some tim ho wan restaurant at plaza sing. I had the char siew bun in HK....gotta to admit it absolutely yummy....I have to q for 1.5 hrs in HK to get a seat...not sure how long it will take in Plaza sing everyday i see the queue in plaza sing... scary man. i wonder how these people can wait for that long. easily 1-2hrs Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Yeshe Turbocharged May 4, 2013 Share May 4, 2013 so so dim sum. long long queue. catered for tourist. yum cha no queue lah, which bracnh u go to? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Yeshe Turbocharged May 4, 2013 Share May 4, 2013 old school Tim sum: Red Star restuarant. tat was a good place, but i heard standard dropped Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Yeshe Turbocharged May 4, 2013 Share May 4, 2013 surprised no one mentioned tung lok... i find not bad leh tung lok signature? its decent, so is the price [laugh] Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Yeshe Turbocharged May 4, 2013 Share May 4, 2013 Different lah. The skin of the har gao makes a difference. Of course the fillings do too. Quality goes a long way. of cos lah, u always kiam the best... but dunno why u like ah pui one so much [laugh] ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...