Yeobh 4th Gear July 25, 2013 Share July 25, 2013 Oil will bypass the filter check valve only when the oil filter is chock up. The built up back pressure will push open the by-pass valve. This action is necessary so that the engine components will not run dry or suffer from oil starvation - which will result in engine size up. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tianmo Hypersonic July 25, 2013 Share July 25, 2013 just curious. my car manual state 6 litres. when the workshop used the dipstick to check they say 5 litres is enough. am i right to say most likely 5 litre is the minimum and 6 litre is the maximum? i see the dipstick has 2 markings. you can never get exactly the amount the car manual states.............the amount stated in the manual is dry fill from new............after run in some oil will be trap in the engine.............very unlikely to be able to remove all the oil and refill 6L..... my manual states 3.75L.........but in actual i can only drain out 3.5L max.......usually is only about 3.3L.............and that is including the oil in the oil filter...........I suppose only about 90-95% can be drain and refill. so if say this is the case......5.5L mayb the max you can drain out ...........and 5L mayb enough but not max...........which is ok........ not forgetting that WS will charge you for 6L even if they fill 5.5L for you...........there is a different in price to fill 5L and 5.5L......... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tianmo Hypersonic July 25, 2013 Share July 25, 2013 Your mech should ran the engine, one litre will end up in the filter I agree that some oil will end up in the filter..............but one liter in the oil filter is in my opinion too much bah...............to keep one liter of oil in the filter............the filter have to be real big........... normal filter sld take about 200-500ml bah........ Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tianmo Hypersonic July 25, 2013 Share July 25, 2013 oh, so means 6 litre is more likely? basket, inexperienced mechanic. i think the mech who charge you 5L mayb the better one.......... not easy to find one to dare not overfill your engine oil......... [laugh] Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tianmo Hypersonic July 25, 2013 Share July 25, 2013 The Owner Manual is usually accurate. When it states 6L, probably means 6L dry fill. When WS drain the old oil out, they can't possibly drain 6L cos there due to be old oil inside the engine. But 1L difference I think is too much. I suspect is the billing............even if they have just added 200ml from the bottle ............WS will still charge for whole bottle......... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tianmo Hypersonic July 25, 2013 Share July 25, 2013 maybe like what yeobh stated, if run the engine some will be at the filter? it is true that day he didn't run the engine and the filter is brand new. bro.........how big is your filter??.......1L is alot of oil leh...........you need a real big filter to collect 1L of oil hor......... [laugh] Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tianmo Hypersonic July 25, 2013 Share July 25, 2013 that day i didn't take look unfortunately. and this is first time i patronising this workshop. my regular workshop always charge me 6 litres......so i am wondering whether regular workshop overcharge or new workshop is inexperienced. charge you 6L does not mean they use up all 6L mah................last time my car take 4.2L...............the WS open one 1L bottle..............fill up abit and kept the rest.............still bill me 5L..........but I learn lor............ KNN............they kept all the balance............and use to charge other cars......... :angry: Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tianmo Hypersonic July 25, 2013 Share July 25, 2013 Actually my mech also never run engine. He just take out dipstick, wipe it, re-insert and pull out to read the level. And the level is exactly at MAX. I always stand beside him when he does that, so I can be sure he didn't overfill or underfill. when I am lazy and don't feel like DIY............I measure exactly the amount and tell the mech............to pour all inside...........no need to check..........sure swee swee........... [laugh] Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Yeobh 4th Gear July 25, 2013 Share July 25, 2013 If I recall correctly got this info from maker of oil drain hose fitting for paper filter cartridge. Maybe not all the oil in the filter element area, those in the oil gallery will also flow down via the filter drain opening. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Acemundo Supercharged July 25, 2013 Share July 25, 2013 i think the mech who charge you 5L mayb the better one.......... not easy to find one to dare not overfill your engine oil......... [laugh] Haha basket I kena carrot Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Acemundo Supercharged July 25, 2013 Share July 25, 2013 bro.........how big is your filter??.......1L is alot of oil leh...........you need a real big filter to collect 1L of oil hor......... [laugh] Haha don't rub it in la Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Acemundo Supercharged July 25, 2013 Share July 25, 2013 when I am lazy and don't feel like DIY............I measure exactly the amount and tell the mech............to pour all inside...........no need to check..........sure swee swee........... [laugh] So you usually fill to max or min of dip stick ? Hopefully additional I poured in is still within max level. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Airwaver 4th Gear July 25, 2013 Share July 25, 2013 So you usually fill to max or min of dip stick ? Hopefully additional I poured in is still within max level. 3/4 mark is the best. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tianmo Hypersonic July 25, 2013 Share July 25, 2013 So you usually fill to max or min of dip stick ? Hopefully additional I poured in is still within max level. mine is swee swee at the max mark..............but I intend to lower it the next change.......... :D Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Acemundo Supercharged July 26, 2013 Share July 26, 2013 mine is swee swee at the max mark..............but I intend to lower it the next change.......... :D hee ok. if I recall correctly, the mechanic showed me the dipstick should not be near maximum level. probably nearer to half or minimum. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Acemundo Supercharged July 26, 2013 Share July 26, 2013 3/4 mark is the best. thank you. yep seems like experts mostly say 3/4 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tianmo Hypersonic July 26, 2013 Share July 26, 2013 hee ok. if I recall correctly, the mechanic showed me the dipstick should not be near maximum level. probably nearer to half or minimum. like that ok mah...............enough oil to go and no need to pay extra just to fill up to max............that extra from half mark to full mayb only take less than 500ml.............but you will have to pay for 1L............ :D Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tianmo Hypersonic July 26, 2013 Share July 26, 2013 today just check my EO dipstick................cold engine in the morning before start engine..............dipstick read "max"............after driving for half an hour at a temperature of 182oF..............off engine check dipstick..............dipstick read half way between "min" and "max"........ :D ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...