coolbluepica 2nd Gear January 7, 2017 Share January 7, 2017 I don't understand the Boeing example bro... I won't say that Europe doesn't drive Continental brands... VW, BMW, Mercedes, Audi, Seat, Renault, Citroen, Peugeot, Fiat, etc are all mainstream brands that sell thousands of cars in Europe... the Japanese and Korean marques sell perhaps in lesser numbers for certain countries... Vauxhall, Ford are mainstream brands in Britain... with Japanese brands like Toyota, Honda and to certain extent Nissan having major presence too... Korean brands are just making inroads into Europe... It's in the US that the major Continental brands do not have substantial presence... Only BMW and Mercedes are more common, while Toyota, Honda, Nissan, Mazda, Hyundai, Kia, are the major car brands outside the US brands like Ford, Chevrolet, GM... with Subaru of late getting a hot streak of sales... Other bros said expensive means quiet ride mah. So aeroplane is ex but still noisy. By the way Ferrari inside cabin also not quiet hor. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Dark_flan 2nd Gear January 7, 2017 Share January 7, 2017 Korean cars already overtaken japs. Just that people choose not to believe. Honda and Toyota have been having major recalls on engines. Kia not even a single recall. I get a lot of praise for my K3. They said that the feel is towards continental. Example the door is very heavy and solid. The plastic used seems to have better scratch resistance. To date my car's interior still looks new just like the day it leaves the factory. One bro mentioned that the mirror have sort of wind noise when reach certain speed. I often travel around 90 - 100km/h but feels nothing out of ordinary. But instead I dun feel like I am travelling 100km/h till I checked my meter. I must say that the K3 is built and design better than any jap comparable cars including the new Civic. Value for $$ with high OMV. Oh I am an ex Altis owner. Drawback think is the F.C which is not fantastic. But since I pump my ride every 2 weeks only thus not a big concern. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
coolbluepica 2nd Gear January 7, 2017 Share January 7, 2017 I get a lot of praise for my K3. They said that the feel is towards continental. Example the door is very heavy and solid. The plastic used seems to have better scratch resistance. To date my car's interior still looks new just like the day it leaves the factory. One bro mentioned that the mirror have sort of wind noise when reach certain speed. I often travel around 90 - 100km/h but feels nothing out of ordinary. But instead I dun feel like I am travelling 100km/h till I checked my meter. I must say that the K3 is built and design better than any jap comparable cars including the new Civic. Value for $$ with high OMV. Oh I am an ex Altis owner. Drawback think is the F.C which is not fantastic. But since I pump my ride every 2 weeks only thus not a big concern. Agree bro our car really feels more towards conti. The acceleration, quiet and powerful braking, steering. The interior is simple yet classy. The new Honda'a interior is lack of detail. Their so called two tier centre console is useless, and the aircon vents of vezel passenger seat is awful. K3 door closing is solid, unlike jap cars doors are hollow closing with the piang sound. Nice sharing. What I noticed is that after afew of the spring in the boot, I think the spring gets stretched and it doesn't open as forcefully as initial. The video is when I first installed. Still slightly faster and more forceful than I preferred. After afew hours, it opens more gently and slower. My springs got loosen up again and boot cannot spring up. I've tightened it 2 times already. Any idea how many more times it will get loose ? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Junjian Neutral Newbie January 7, 2017 Share January 7, 2017 I never agree to buying European cars in sg. Cos I find that it is excessively overpriced just for the brand. Especially VW. VW is a bread and butter brand in Europe. But SG dealers market it like it is a premium brand. The only thing I like about VW is the TSI engine. Small engine cc but with super/turbocharger. Save fuel but powerful. Same like what coolbluepica said, my friend is driving the new civic turbo. He also commented that my car feels very conti. Built quality better than his civic turbo. He made the same comment about the door closing feel also. My first car was a verna 1.4. Ppl tell me Korean cars metal is harder. I didn't really believe until I got my first major accident in it. I read ended a lancer at 90km/h. No braking even until impact. My air bags didn't even need to activate cos my bonnet and front end absorbed all the impact. The only damage was only extended to my radiator. Engine mount etc all no damage. Even my dad(he owns a car repair workshop) also tell me for this type of speed impact, the damage is quite good. If it is a jap car, even the engine will be affected also. (Don't pm me for my dad's workshop. We only do existing customer's car. Lol.) Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
jloh787 Clutched January 8, 2017 Share January 8, 2017 I have been driving the FL SX for more than a month, just did my 1K servicing about 2 weeks ago. Some concerns: 1) Aircon- I normally turn the blower on for a while before turning on the AC compressor. Internal air circulation most of the time is activated. Lately there's been a very musty smell once I turn on the blower, especially in the morning. Is this normal? Ps. The 'Clean air' that's shown on the SX aircon control, works similarly to the Plasmacluster aircon in some cars? 2) FC- only getting 10-11km/l so far with highway:city 60:40, with ECO mode. FC is significantly higher for a brand new engine I believe? 3) Smart trunk release- the boot doesn't seem to 'spring' open. Does Anyone who drive the FL SX face that similar issue? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
coolbluepica 2nd Gear January 8, 2017 Share January 8, 2017 I have been driving the FL SX for more than a month, just did my 1K servicing about 2 weeks ago. Some concerns: 1) Aircon- I normally turn the blower on for a while before turning on the AC compressor. Internal air circulation most of the time is activated. Lately there's been a very musty smell once I turn on the blower, especially in the morning. Is this normal? Ps. The 'Clean air' that's shown on the SX aircon control, works similarly to the Plasmacluster aircon in some cars? 2) FC- only getting 10-11km/l so far with highway:city 60:40, with ECO mode. FC is significantly higher for a brand new engine I believe? 3) Smart trunk release- the boot doesn't seem to 'spring' open. Does Anyone who drive the FL SX face that similar issue? 1. My aircon also I think it's normal as the moisture trapped inside overnight. You have to do chemical cleaning of cooling coil during servicing. 2. FC around there. Depending on highway or city drive. 3. This I not sure for FL. but I guess it doesn't have a spring ? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Whattheheck 2nd Gear January 8, 2017 Share January 8, 2017 I have been driving the FL SX for more than a month, just did my 1K servicing about 2 weeks ago. Some concerns: 1) Aircon- I normally turn the blower on for a while before turning on the AC compressor. Internal air circulation most of the time is activated. Lately there's been a very musty smell once I turn on the blower, especially in the morning. Is this normal? Ps. The 'Clean air' that's shown on the SX aircon control, works similarly to the Plasmacluster aircon in some cars? 2) FC- only getting 10-11km/l so far with highway:city 60:40, with ECO mode. FC is significantly higher for a brand new engine I believe? 3) Smart trunk release- the boot doesn't seem to 'spring' open. Does Anyone who drive the FL SX face that similar issue? Mine is pre-FL. My air con occasionally will have this 3-5sec burst of chemical smell. Maybe like once every 1-2 weeks. Spoke to CC about it. They suspect that it could be due to the rubber from the car mat. Cos I park in the sun everyday. They also heard about this from other pre-FL customers. They already highlight to Kia Korea side. See what they say. FC wise really depends on your driving style. There is too many variable. Even if it is 60:40, but if you kena jam on highway, it also affects FC. This car is not known to be very fuel efficient. But it is also not known to be a fuel guzzler. Average for a 1.6. I can range from 8km/lit to 16km/lit. All depending on how I drive plus where I drive to. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
coolbluepica 2nd Gear January 8, 2017 Share January 8, 2017 Don't worry too much about FC. Normally Low FC cars have lesser power. And higher maintenance. For eg Mazda skyactive , although good FC, but the AGM battery is expensive , and the regenerative braking capacitor is expensive. For cars with good FC due to CVT gear box, my friends ride had overhauled gearbox twice in 5 years, amounting to $4K in total. So what is the point of good FC. Save money on petrol for hefty repairs. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Neutrino Supercharged January 8, 2017 Share January 8, 2017 I have been driving the FL SX for more than a month, just did my 1K servicing about 2 weeks ago. Some concerns: 1) Aircon- I normally turn the blower on for a while before turning on the AC compressor. Internal air circulation most of the time is activated. Lately there's been a very musty smell once I turn on the blower, especially in the morning. Is this normal? Ps. The 'Clean air' that's shown on the SX aircon control, works similarly to the Plasmacluster aircon in some cars? 2) FC- only getting 10-11km/l so far with highway:city 60:40, with ECO mode. FC is significantly higher for a brand new engine I believe? 3) Smart trunk release- the boot doesn't seem to 'spring' open. Does Anyone who drive the FL SX face that similar issue? Just been up to Malacca. Found the noise from tyres very loud on NSH, but what to do. Around Singapore it's acceptable. FC on NSH was 16.8km/l. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Dark_flan 2nd Gear January 8, 2017 Share January 8, 2017 Just been up to Malacca. Found the noise from tyres very loud on NSH, but what to do. Around Singapore it's acceptable. FC on NSH was 16.8km/l. Heard a change of tyre solve the problem as the stock ones is not so good for isolation which otherwise spoiled this car image. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
coolbluepica 2nd Gear January 8, 2017 Share January 8, 2017 Heard a change of tyre solve the problem as the stock ones is not so good for isolation which otherwise spoiled this car image.Changing of tyres do help slightly, need to do soundproofing on wheelarcs too. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kelby 2nd Gear January 8, 2017 Share January 8, 2017 I have been driving the FL SX for more than a month, just did my 1K servicing about 2 weeks ago. Some concerns: 1) Aircon- I normally turn the blower on for a while before turning on the AC compressor. Internal air circulation most of the time is activated. Lately there's been a very musty smell once I turn on the blower, especially in the morning. Is this normal? Ps. The 'Clean air' that's shown on the SX aircon control, works similarly to the Plasmacluster aircon in some cars? 2) FC- only getting 10-11km/l so far with highway:city 60:40, with ECO mode. FC is significantly higher for a brand new engine I believe? 3) Smart trunk release- the boot doesn't seem to 'spring' open. Does Anyone who drive the FL SX face that similar issue? Mine is FL SX, to answer your question based on my own ride. 1. if the circulation light is not on, it is actually extracting the air from outside to the cabin, so there will be a musty smell. Or you put some kind of car perfume in the car, if you on the AC, it will also have a unpleasant smell initially. You can try this, remove the car perfume / when you start your engine, dun on the AC first, drive off, perhaps like 10 sec, then you on the blower...For me i use the circulation most of the time, the AIR from outside is good only when you are travelling at night or early morning. 2. You try to use Normal mode to drive. On small route, try to rev abit harder on the move off, and use more rolling, or engine brake.. i clock around 12.5KM 60 highway 40 city. 3. the release dont spring open, the smart truck release, only OPEN the truck. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
coolbluepica 2nd Gear January 9, 2017 Share January 9, 2017 Mine is FL SX, to answer your question based on my own ride. 1. if the circulation light is not on, it is actually extracting the air from outside to the cabin, so there will be a musty smell. Or you put some kind of car perfume in the car, if you on the AC, it will also have a unpleasant smell initially. You can try this, remove the car perfume / when you start your engine, dun on the AC first, drive off, perhaps like 10 sec, then you on the blower...For me i use the circulation most of the time, the AIR from outside is good only when you are travelling at night or early morning. 2. You try to use Normal mode to drive. On small route, try to rev abit harder on the move off, and use more rolling, or engine brake.. i clock around 12.5KM 60 highway 40 city. 3. the release dont spring open, the smart truck release, only OPEN the truck. Bro why need to rev harder on move off? How to use engine brake on auto transmission? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
scizorsim 3rd Gear January 10, 2017 Share January 10, 2017 Bro why need to rev harder on move off? How to use engine brake on auto transmission? I think he meant not to rev too low i.e. say if u rev below 2k for too long you stay on low efficient gears for too long. Best to get up to efficient speed quick (but not too quick and my best guess is about 2.5k rpm). And engine brake literally means not stepping on gas and not on brake.. just letting the car slow down. I changed my driving style recently and My FC has gotten from 11km/l to 13km/l. Huge difference, even though same routes. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
scizorsim 3rd Gear January 10, 2017 Share January 10, 2017 Yet another case !!!! ouch2.jpg http://www.stomp.com.sg/singapore-seen/drivers-from-hell/stomper-frightened-after-driver-sla7544d-going-against-traffic-flow Saw this in another thread. Which brudder here??? And is anyone a 3417 here? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kelby 2nd Gear January 10, 2017 Share January 10, 2017 I think he meant not to rev too low i.e. say if u rev below 2k for too long you stay on low efficient gears for too long. Best to get up to efficient speed quick (but not too quick and my best guess is about 2.5k rpm). And engine brake literally means not stepping on gas and not on brake.. just letting the car slow down. I changed my driving style recently and My FC has gotten from 11km/l to 13km/l. Huge difference, even though same routes. Yes. You are right. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sotong1977 4th Gear January 10, 2017 Share January 10, 2017 (edited) I have been driving the FL SX for more than a month, just did my 1K servicing about 2 weeks ago. Some concerns: 2) FC- only getting 10-11km/l so far with highway:city 60:40, with ECO mode. FC is significantly higher for a brand new engine I believe? 3) Smart trunk release- the boot doesn't seem to 'spring' open. Does Anyone who drive the FL SX face that similar issue? FL k3 has electric tailgate which means when u press on the boot release button, the boot lid is open by a motor in a control motion. Some high end models can auto close the boot lid. Think FL k3 dont. If im wrong about the auto close, kindly let me know. FC defined by highway/city % is very subjective. Do u define the % by distance or time on the road? I spend more time driving on "city" road but distance wise much much longer distant on "highway" n my FC average 10.6km/l. Edited January 10, 2017 by Sotong1977 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kelby 2nd Gear January 10, 2017 Share January 10, 2017 FL k3 has electric tailgate which means when u press on the boot release button, the boot lid is open by a motor in a control motion. Some high end models can auto close the boot lid. Think FL k3 dont. If im wrong about the auto close, kindly let me know. FC defined by highway/city % is very subjective. Do u define the % by distance or time on the road? I spend more time driving on "city" road but distance wise much much longer distant on "highway" n my FC average 10.6km/l. The boot only release the catch, so the boot is open, i dont think there is control motion that you are referring. Some Higher end SUV will have auto open and auto close features, this will have a motorise control on. To achieve best on FC, is when the car is moving at a rather constant speed and over a period of time(distant) You can try late night, from east to west via PIE, you should achieve a good record on your LCD panel. If you go Malaysia on NSW..you will also achieve good FC. Driving in Expressway it depend on the distant you travelled and if the traffic is smooth.. If always on small road, definitely the FC will sucks. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...