SG conflict with Indo - navy ship name & air space

Darthrevan

Haiz.....highlight and register unhappiness also wrong. If keep quiet then kena accused of sleeping on the job also wrong. Guess it's easier to be God. He just destroy everything and no more problems..... peace forever.

Safe ride

lucky I have been procrastinating with oc about 2 day trip to Batam this Mar holidays.

Indon not on my list to visit. [thumbsdown] [thumbsdown]

This is their election year. Indo have a history of military generals turning politicians who will ultimately try to run for presidency. This naming exercise is just something to score brownie points for the elections.

What name etc is not important, the most important thing is, if the day we need to press the button, our Navy and Airforce can easily outgun them.

PS, it's not difficult given their maintenance (or lack of it) regime.

Edited by Shull

Obviously they attack the establishment so they can gain more power. Care for themselves more likely than care for fellow Singaporean.

Even if I don't like the establishment but at least they do more for the less fortunate and stand up to be counted.

What are we even talking about here? Why drag the oppo into something like this? Is it really their place to be treading publicly on this highly sensitive issue? And if they're misguided enough to do it, I'll tell you what will happen: noone will be grateful. The P@P IB will likely come out and accuse them of exploiting a sensitive issue to win votes. Heck, if they say something that's too strongly worded, they may even be up on sedition charges for inciting disaffection in the population and threatening our stability. A bit of a stretch, but one never knows, based on past history. The point is this: the duly elected state representatives have "permission" and latitude to speak about these issues in an official capacity. Opposition members have no special privilege to speak their minds about this, and it might very well be received badly.

None of them have "attacked" the establishment (or anyone else) over this matter. If anything, you (and some others) are the ones "attacking" them for no good reason. I would understand perfectly if they came out and said something siding with the Indons or even ill-timed about our defence (like TKL). The point is: the figures singled out in this thread have done nothing to earn our ire, so why are we turning on them? There's no justice here.

These Indo have air for brains to be doing something so provocative. Maybe they do think these are their "heroes"? Help them in their disasters is a waste of resources. I heard a lot of $ ended up with the people who had connections to divert these relief funds to their own bank account. I personally know of a indo banker who got wealthy this way.

You do realise that a lot of the wealthy Indons stash their wealth here? This is one of the sore points between the two gahmens - the Indons feel these funds are rightfully theirs as a lot of it is money siphoned off corruptly (they're probably spot-on). By allowing the elite Indons to bank and invest it here, we're complicit in the corruption. I don't agree with this assessment, but one has to understand why they don't exactly have warm feelings toward us.

agree with the TKL thingy, but dun blame blame lah...like our pasttime liddat. That is real hogwash and bad timing

As for the other issue, well, let's leave it as that. They choose to remain silent, so be it. Nothing agst them as well on their decision, but to me the silence is deafening. Period!

For the record, I am not one to pick nor bother abt their antics, but I guess people have noted this aspect in the scheme of the bigger peekture.

Similarly, when we had serious/issues events come up, there was the similar deafening silence from the authorities too, ie, the big honchos

Let's focus on the main issue here and not play with red herrings going forwarD

Bro, don't get the wrong idea on this. The way I look at it, there was no need to have even dragged the oppo figures into this in the first place (unless they opened the door by opening their mouths on the issue in the first place). As it stands, those are the only red herrings in the thread.

Anyway, glad you feel the same way - they're not to blame, and there's no need to drag them into this anymore. Peace!

That having been said, if you want to blame someone, blame Tan Kin Lian. I think his agitating (with a public petition, no less!) to get NS reduced at this time is in very poor judgement.

See: http://sg.news.yahoo.com/former-presidential-candidate-tan-kin-lian-calls-for-ns-to-be-shortened-to-a-year-032428796.html

Clearly, anything but presidential. [rolleyes]

(Not saying he's entirely wrong, but this is simply not the time to be rocking the boat on the issue)

Yap agree with TKL thingy too..... his intentions very clear to see.... he want to sit inside Istana...and not just an invited guest to lim kopi.... [rolleyes] ...... 2 years will do good for your boys..... you and I have been through it..... we can kpkb about it.... but we know its for the good.... cut to 1 year.. then what.... to 3 months....Then what.....pay $$$$ no need serve??? <_<

And till today ppl didnt realise why lky put the crescent and moon over the Indo flag in 1965? [sunny]

On a side note, MFA played the wrong cards when they protested the ship naming. Indo will never retract. Everybody knows that. Now theyre stuck in an uncomfortable position. Theyve sqwaked like chickens but gets no result. They look impotent.

What they should have done is just keep quiet and nobody will notice. If maybe someone brought it up, we should have just said that Indo has every right to name their heroes and everything would have remained dandy.

Looks like LHL and Shanmugan is inept at diplomacy.

That's one angle to look at it...... another angle is..... if the MFA dont say a thing... you know now news fly so fast.... facebook, palmbook, twitter, Stomp etc...... someone just need to pick it up and what happen..... MFA will be blame for sleeping.....

Indo do have the right to name their ship with whatever name.... we still need to let them know that it is insensitive of them to name it after 2 terrorists..... in fact.... by doing so...... it throw the ball back to Indo...... for sure they will not back down... and MFA can tell Singaporean... See....we kpkb, but they wont listen..... [rolleyes] .... they got their arse covered.... [laugh]

Yap agree with TKL thingy too..... his intentions very clear to see.... he want to sit inside Istana...and not just an invited guest to lim kopi.... [rolleyes] ...... 2 years will do good for your boys..... you and I have been through it..... we can kpkb about it.... but we know its for the good.... cut to 1 year.. then what.... to 3 months....Then what.....pay $$$$ no need serve??? <_<

Hold on, I'm not saying he doesn't have a point. There *is* a lot of wasted time in NS, and having gone through it, you and I both know this. They can actually shorten the duration while increasing the intensity and focus of the training. Everyone benefits - in fact, it may improve our operational readiness.

I'm unhappy about the timing of this announcement. There's no hurry to create this petition and air it publicly. Anyone sensible would tell you that you don't rock the boat when there are sharks circling.

Bro, don't get the wrong idea on this. The way I look at it, there was no need to have even dragged the oppo figures into this in the first place (unless they opened the door by opening their mouths on the issue in the first place). As it stands, those are the only red herrings in the thread.

Anyway, glad you feel the same way - they're not to blame, and there's no need to drag them into this anymore. Peace!

no issues buddy! Good to be able to discuss and still be in the same bed.....er, same page [grin] . I leave the bed for u and porker...muahahahahha [gossip][gossip]

Cheers!

no issues buddy! Good to be able to discuss and still be in the same bed.....er, same page [grin] . I leave the bed for u and porker...muahahahahha [gossip][gossip]

Cheers!

Wah kaoz, this kind of serious thread oso wan to talk cock about your fetish. Neber mind, I still lub you deep deep. [laugh]

This is a forum of free expression yeah? So for me I will support what is beneficial to general Singaporeans. There are some opposition who will be empty barrels. Make a lot of noise etc but when it comes to doing things, they are zero. Some pappy are similar. But I guess this is politics. I made these comments in agreement with RadX, cos in my view it is true.

You must be joking about the reason why these Indos don't like Singapore cos they are 95% corrupt and they only reason why they make big hoo har about the rich Indo being here is a smoke screen to cover up their own indiscretions. They don't make these comments about China do they? Why cos China is big, Sg is tiny, so bully lor

This is a forum of free expression yeah? So for me I will support what is beneficial to general Singaporeans. There are some opposition who will be empty barrels. Make a lot of noise etc but when it comes to doing things, they are zero. Some pappy are similar. But I guess this is politics. I made these comments in agreement with RadX, cos in my view it is true.

No objection to your free expression, but any point we make must be defensible. Anyway, I've also "freely" said my piece.

You must be joking about the reason why these Indos don't like Singapore cos they are 95% corrupt and they only reason why they make big hoo har about the rich Indo being here is a smoke screen to cover up their own indiscretions. They don't make these comments about China do they? Why cos China is big, Sg is tiny, so bully lor

Indon will find a thousand reasons to hate us, that's for sure. And Indon has no particular reason to pick on China - they're very far away. But it's not true that they only pick on small fry. They're also agitating against the Aussies, and they're nowhere near small.

... And expect to see more noises as their presidential election is schedule this year - same old stuff you see from north as well.... who else can they hit at? This is why I supported we need to have a strong defence

Be prepared to pay more for gas, utilities, etc.

It does not bode well if our foreign policies get screwed up. Protesting on the ship-naming is futile. No upside, only downside and its beginning soon.

Now can you see why diplomacy needs level heads, something LHL and Shan is not cut out for. Its all about the balance of interests and in this case we truly lost.

Lets call a spade, a spade otherwise you're dumber than what you perceive them Indos to be.

When they want more money, they can chut many patterns. No matter how diplomatic one is, it's still more money they want to flow into their own pockets.

When is money ever enough?

Collect less this time, wayang

and name their car,

aeroplane, building etc over

their terrorists "heroes", they

collect more again.

Diplomacy with this particular country, personally, just

reduce the amount this time

and delay further payments to

another day. They will use dead people.... and they have lots of these to trouble the living....us.

They have every rights to

name whatever they want. We

have every rights to register

our unhappiness over their

insensitivity. It's at most, a

tug of war to see who will

relent. Unfortunately, both

sides will eventually lose out

economically.

The world being smaller due

to advanced technology,

becomes more competitive

and space seems more

cramped.

Hence, prepare for more tit for tac as they wayang to get more money. Treat it as entertainment fee. For entertainment we dun need or like.

Let's hope to discover natural resources with all the new mrt lines digging. And name it "New Gas", "New Petrol" and "New Gold/Diamond".

Just a light sharing....no offence intended and we must remember it's times like this that we stay united and not allow personal views to distort our nose, oops..I

mean eyeSIGH..jialat..eyesight.

Differences in opinion is good. It offers more angles to a topic. Oftentimes, there are many untangibles that we are unaware that we may over simplify problems and say how easy it is to solve this or

that way. How I wish it's that simple too!

Safe ride

Edited by PSP415

Hold on, I'm not saying he doesn't have a point. There *is* a lot of wasted time in NS, and having gone through it, you and I both know this. They can actually shorten the duration while increasing the intensity and focus of the training. Everyone benefits - in fact, it may improve our operational readiness.

I'm unhappy about the timing of this announcement. There's no hurry to create this petition and air it publicly. Anyone sensible would tell you that you don't rock the boat when there are sharks circling.

okie your point noted.... but I still feel 1 year too short..... you put a guy through BMT, then go on for special course.... at least half year gone... by the time he finish his course.... time to ROD or ORD watever..... imagine the tummy from 1 united pc to 6 to 8 pcs and then after just 1 year.... its 1 united pc again...... too drastic change in just 1 year.... [laugh][bigcry]

He is not concern about how long people serve NS..... he is using this to score point lar, hope he can hug the Breasident seat someday.....like you say.... his timing is way off.....

It does not bode well if our foreign policies get screwed up. Protesting on the ship-naming is futile. No upside, only downside and its beginning soon.

Now can you see why diplomacy needs level heads, something LHL and Shan is not cut out for. Its all about the balance of interests and in this case we truly lost.

Lets call a spade, a spade otherwise you're dumber than what you perceive them Indos to be.

LHL a mathematician, Shan a lawyer.

LHL miscalculated and Shan thought he was fighting a court battle (in SG court, no less).

This is international diplomacy and these jokers thought they were playing Facebook... suka suka "unfriend"....

Not if we gonna let them led by our nose just because they supply us gas and in bolehland case water..... all this while, we are friendly to foreign countries.... esp their xmm.... [laugh] ........... we always go for win win...... but they happy happy chute .... pattern..... esp their erection year or time they forget to take medicine..... [hur]