dannies03 Neutral Newbie January 25, 2017 Share January 25, 2017 That is very good information. Will have praise if I am able to. When you said about alarm system, it is the auto locking thing right? Can't wait to have that. At their release, how do we get the information that it is released? I saw this obd attachment from ezbuy that will make the car autolock at 40 kmph. Any brother tried already? I can't seem to find the obd attachment (for autolock) for forester. It's not as common as in other cars. Any bros tried and can recommend where to buy? ↡ Advertisement 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Littlewhitei 1st Gear January 26, 2017 Share January 26, 2017 S mode is more fuel efficient than I mode, whether highway or city drive as S mode less carbon deposit. Petrol 95 is good enough. Don't need 98. If got jump start, remember to connect the negative to ground via any metal part. They are testing an alarm system. To be released soon. So those looking for the traditional alarm system, it is coming. That's all I can remember off hand. S mode more fuel efficient does that apply to FNA as well? 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Elginlye 1st Gear January 26, 2017 Share January 26, 2017 S mode more fuel efficient does that apply to FNA as well? The same was communicated in the FNA owners' workshop as well. I find S-mode is thirstier when I tested before 5K mileage. I am guessing the carbon build-up takes time to effect? Might repeat the test if I find my fuel economy dipping. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Littlewhitei 1st Gear January 26, 2017 Share January 26, 2017 The same was communicated in the FNA owners' workshop as well. I find S-mode is thirstier when I tested before 5K mileage. I am guessing the carbon build-up takes time to effect? Might repeat the test if I find my fuel economy dipping. Thanks! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Carhorn 5th Gear January 26, 2017 Share January 26, 2017 I'll like to flip the situation here. Is it worth to spend 14k less and give up 1) considerable amount of power from a new engine and much faster acceleration for ease of driving 2) convenience of motorised tailgate with memory 3) nicer wheels 4) the symmetrical look with only 1 exhaust 5) memory seats and trying to find the right position of others or workshop mechanic is driving 6) a premium sounding Harman Kardon system? no right or wrong if you go FXT or FNA or even Vezel I had a FXT. I think only the memory seat and power are godsend. That being said, FXT is the most value for $$ car in ratio to power/$$. The rest not impt whether 1 exhaust or 2 exhausts or motorised tailgate. the motorised tailgate hit the overhanging railing mscp railing when my wife was opening the boot. Of course I blame her, not the railings. Harman Kardon speakers? I show u how farked up the paper cone speakers are. U remove and take a look at them. (1) FXT If dyno stock is 180whp not 247 as advertised (2) Need Ron 98 to give you the max power, Ron 95 gives 150+ whp when stock dynoed (3) Rims can change. Stock 225/55/18 tire is crap. Not easy to find good 225/55/18 tires if you want to maintain similar sizing Now, $14k extra is a misnomer. U need to upgrade the rims to fit big brakes kits, master brake cylinder and brake lines to have better bite in city driving if you say (1) for must faster acceleration and stopping. Rechipping of ECU else no 220whp. Need to have STI sub frame, front strut bar, cusco bars for better handling, engine and CVT coolers for ecu chipping, HKS exhaust, cost of tuning and a host of little parts to replace oem stock parts and etc etc. All in all I spent more than $10k on mods. and lots of downtime at BKS to fix all these So actually there is not much savings. Lol. Watever it is, get the car that ur wallet allows, your wife approves. A car moves us from A to B, just faster or slower. I say go with your wallet, not your heart in these economic times 5 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
shutterbox 3rd Gear January 26, 2017 Share January 26, 2017 no right or wrong if you go FXT or FNA or even Vezel I had a FXT. I think only the memory seat and power are godsend. That being said, FXT is the most value for $$ car in ratio to power/$$. The rest not impt whether 1 exhaust or 2 exhausts or motorised tailgate. the motorised tailgate hit the overhanging railing mscp railing when my wife was opening the boot. Of course I blame her, not the railings. Harman Kardon speakers? I show u how farked up the paper cone speakers are. U remove and take a look at them. (1) FXT If dyno stock is 180whp not 247 as advertised (2) Need Ron 98 to give you the max power, Ron 95 gives 150+ whp when stock dynoed (3) Rims can change. Stock 225/55/18 tire is crap. Not easy to find good 225/55/18 tires if you want to maintain similar sizing Now, $14k extra is a misnomer. U need to upgrade the rims to fit big brakes kits, master brake cylinder and brake lines to have better bite in city driving if you say (1) for must faster acceleration and stopping. Rechipping of ECU else no 220whp. Need to have STI sub frame, front strut bar, cusco bars for better handling, engine and CVT coolers for ecu chipping, HKS exhaust, cost of tuning and a host of little parts to replace oem stock parts and etc etc. All in all I spent more than $10k on mods. and lots of downtime at BKS to fix all these So actually there is not much savings. Lol. Watever it is, get the car that ur wallet allows, your wife approves. A car moves us from A to B, just faster or slower. I say go with your wallet, not your heart in these economic times Good info. too bad I can't plus your points yet. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Qtuneaky 1st Gear January 26, 2017 Share January 26, 2017 no right or wrong if you go FXT or FNA or even Vezel I had a FXT. I think only the memory seat and power are godsend. That being said, FXT is the most value for $$ car in ratio to power/$$. The rest not impt whether 1 exhaust or 2 exhausts or motorised tailgate. the motorised tailgate hit the overhanging railing mscp railing when my wife was opening the boot. Of course I blame her, not the railings. Harman Kardon speakers? I show u how farked up the paper cone speakers are. U remove and take a look at them. (1) FXT If dyno stock is 180whp not 247 as advertised (2) Need Ron 98 to give you the max power, Ron 95 gives 150+ whp when stock dynoed (3) Rims can change. Stock 225/55/18 tire is crap. Not easy to find good 225/55/18 tires if you want to maintain similar sizing Now, $14k extra is a misnomer. U need to upgrade the rims to fit big brakes kits, master brake cylinder and brake lines to have better bite in city driving if you say (1) for must faster acceleration and stopping. Rechipping of ECU else no 220whp. Need to have STI sub frame, front strut bar, cusco bars for better handling, engine and CVT coolers for ecu chipping, HKS exhaust, cost of tuning and a host of little parts to replace oem stock parts and etc etc. All in all I spent more than $10k on mods. and lots of downtime at BKS to fix all these So actually there is not much savings. Lol. Watever it is, get the car that ur wallet allows, your wife approves. A car moves us from A to B, just faster or slower. I say go with your wallet, not your heart in these economic times That is a very good piece of advice. Especially point 2. I was wondering if the fuel consumption for 95 or 98 is the same? Or should I expect fuel consumption to be better for 98? I can't seem to find the obd attachment (for autolock) for forester. It's not as common as in other cars. Any bros tried and can recommend where to buy? Bro Ezbuy got. You go find. I didn't try but very tempted to buy because of my infants. Hopefully someone tried and can feedback on this. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sarion 4th Gear January 26, 2017 Share January 26, 2017 no right or wrong if you go FXT or FNA or even Vezel I had a FXT. I think only the memory seat and power are godsend. That being said, FXT is the most value for $$ car in ratio to power/$$. The rest not impt whether 1 exhaust or 2 exhausts or motorised tailgate. the motorised tailgate hit the overhanging railing mscp railing when my wife was opening the boot. Of course I blame her, not the railings. Harman Kardon speakers? I show u how farked up the paper cone speakers are. U remove and take a look at them. (1) FXT If dyno stock is 180whp not 247 as advertised (2) Need Ron 98 to give you the max power, Ron 95 gives 150+ whp when stock dynoed (3) Rims can change. Stock 225/55/18 tire is crap. Not easy to find good 225/55/18 tires if you want to maintain similar sizing Now, $14k extra is a misnomer. U need to upgrade the rims to fit big brakes kits, master brake cylinder and brake lines to have better bite in city driving if you say (1) for must faster acceleration and stopping. Rechipping of ECU else no 220whp. Need to have STI sub frame, front strut bar, cusco bars for better handling, engine and CVT coolers for ecu chipping, HKS exhaust, cost of tuning and a host of little parts to replace oem stock parts and etc etc. All in all I spent more than $10k on mods. and lots of downtime at BKS to fix all these So actually there is not much savings. Lol. Watever it is, get the car that ur wallet allows, your wife approves. A car moves us from A to B, just faster or slower. I say go with your wallet, not your heart in these economic times every car power is dyno at crank not wheel, that is general knowledge... except maybe electric cars BBK only need rim change. no need brake cylinder or brake line change, those are optional. Forester handling very good already, add too many bars become too firm for most drivers AND passengers. stock power already sufficient for most people normal commute and occasional spirited driving, S# mode only when really wanna chiong else actually dangerous for those not familiar with this power / acceleration / do not have good reaction or know the car well enough (e.g. emergency braking distance, ABS, etc.) so only need like over 3k for rim change and another 3k for used BBK refurbished... else change better pads and tyres with stock rims also can for ~2k done already... 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tohto Hypersonic January 26, 2017 Share January 26, 2017 no right or wrong if you go FXT or FNA or even Vezel I had a FXT. I think only the memory seat and power are godsend. That being said, FXT is the most value for $$ car in ratio to power/$$. The rest not impt whether 1 exhaust or 2 exhausts or motorised tailgate. the motorised tailgate hit the overhanging railing mscp railing when my wife was opening the boot. Of course I blame her, not the railings. Harman Kardon speakers? I show u how farked up the paper cone speakers are. U remove and take a look at them. (1) FXT If dyno stock is 180whp not 247 as advertised (2) Need Ron 98 to give you the max power, Ron 95 gives 150+ whp when stock dynoed (3) Rims can change. Stock 225/55/18 tire is crap. Not easy to find good 225/55/18 tires if you want to maintain similar sizing Now, $14k extra is a misnomer. U need to upgrade the rims to fit big brakes kits, master brake cylinder and brake lines to have better bite in city driving if you say (1) for must faster acceleration and stopping. Rechipping of ECU else no 220whp. Need to have STI sub frame, front strut bar, cusco bars for better handling, engine and CVT coolers for ecu chipping, HKS exhaust, cost of tuning and a host of little parts to replace oem stock parts and etc etc. All in all I spent more than $10k on mods. and lots of downtime at BKS to fix all these So actually there is not much savings. Lol. Watever it is, get the car that ur wallet allows, your wife approves. A car moves us from A to B, just faster or slower. I say go with your wallet, not your heart in these economic times Subaru spec of 240hp is crank hp, power at wheel will easily loss 30%, especially with the CVT gear box. With Ecutek tune will get about 220whp on 98 fuel. So crank power will be about 280hp. 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Qtuneaky 1st Gear January 26, 2017 Share January 26, 2017 Subaru spec of 240hp is crank hp, power at wheel will easily loss 30%, especially with the CVT gear box. With Ecutek tune will get about 220whp on 98 fuel. So crank power will be about 280hp. Sorry. Will fuel 98 give you extra miles against fuel 95? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Theoldjaffa Hypersonic January 27, 2017 Share January 27, 2017 Sorry. Will fuel 98 give you extra miles against fuel 95? its very hard to say and most of the time it doesn't. the function of RON rating is to reduce knocking in engine during detonation. it is not to give higher mileage. mileage is dependent on many factors. city vs highway, how hard you step on the accelerator, how much load your car takes, ambient temperature, whether you switch on air conditioning or not, tyre compound, rim size, engine condition etc.. even aerodynamics. so don't sweat over it. if you are not driving a performance or turbo car that's tuned using RON98, most of the time 95 is good enough. Follow your owner's manual. then once in a while pump v-power to get that shiok vroom feeling haha 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Theoldjaffa Hypersonic January 27, 2017 Share January 27, 2017 no right or wrong if you go FXT or FNA or even Vezel I had a FXT. I think only the memory seat and power are godsend. That being said, FXT is the most value for $$ car in ratio to power/$$. The rest not impt whether 1 exhaust or 2 exhausts or motorised tailgate. the motorised tailgate hit the overhanging railing mscp railing when my wife was opening the boot. Of course I blame her, not the railings. Harman Kardon speakers? I show u how farked up the paper cone speakers are. U remove and take a look at them. (1) FXT If dyno stock is 180whp not 247 as advertised (2) Need Ron 98 to give you the max power, Ron 95 gives 150+ whp when stock dynoed (3) Rims can change. Stock 225/55/18 tire is crap. Not easy to find good 225/55/18 tires if you want to maintain similar sizing Now, $14k extra is a misnomer. U need to upgrade the rims to fit big brakes kits, master brake cylinder and brake lines to have better bite in city driving if you say (1) for must faster acceleration and stopping. Rechipping of ECU else no 220whp. Need to have STI sub frame, front strut bar, cusco bars for better handling, engine and CVT coolers for ecu chipping, HKS exhaust, cost of tuning and a host of little parts to replace oem stock parts and etc etc. All in all I spent more than $10k on mods. and lots of downtime at BKS to fix all these So actually there is not much savings. Lol. Watever it is, get the car that ur wallet allows, your wife approves. A car moves us from A to B, just faster or slower. I say go with your wallet, not your heart in these economic times what is not impt to you, may be impt to them ma. that's why i listed out the specs for consideration. to me, 2 exhaust outlet is impt as it looks damn good motorised tailgate is good because it has memory function. if you had set the right height, the tailgate may not have hit the railing. Also with 1 button press-on to close the tailgate, it's a godsend for shorter folks like my wife who may have to tip toe and use a fair bit of strength just to pull down and close the tailgate. sorry to say but the rest of what you wrote is pretty out of point liao. what you have done to your car has no basis for comparison between FXT and FNA. and i will say go with your heart but think through it rationally. without heart, we would be mere machines. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
mrhan1982 4th Gear January 27, 2017 Share January 27, 2017 every car power is dyno at crank not wheel, that is general knowledge... except maybe electric cars BBK only need rim change. no need brake cylinder or brake line change, those are optional. Forester handling very good already, add too many bars become too firm for most drivers AND passengers. stock power already sufficient for most people normal commute and occasional spirited driving, S# mode only when really wanna chiong else actually dangerous for those not familiar with this power / acceleration / do not have good reaction or know the car well enough (e.g. emergency braking distance, ABS, etc.) so only need like over 3k for rim change and another 3k for used BBK refurbished... else change better pads and tyres with stock rims also can for ~2k done already... yup agreed the handling already very good and power is more than enough. nowadays my wife keeps complaining i drive too fast. i also find more road hoggers on the road. traffic seems slower. or its just me? Even with stock FXT, its already too 'fast' for our local traffic. Maybe should have bought a slower car. haa... 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tohto Hypersonic January 27, 2017 Share January 27, 2017 (edited) Sorry. Will fuel 98 give you extra miles against fuel 95? For me , 1km/like better. I try 3 tank on 95. Edited January 27, 2017 by Tohto Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Alexleech 1st Gear January 27, 2017 Share January 27, 2017 Any Bro. bought the Obd auto lock attachment ? Your feedback is much appreciated. Thanks 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Qtuneaky 1st Gear January 27, 2017 Share January 27, 2017 For me , 1km/like better. I try 3 tank on 95. Thank you for your advice.Price 20% more, mileage 10% more... Hmmmm. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Qtuneaky 1st Gear January 27, 2017 Share January 27, 2017 Any Bro. bought the Obd auto lock attachment ? Your feedback is much appreciated. Thanks I am looking for the same advice. Please share if you have. Thanks in advance. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Qtuneaky 1st Gear January 27, 2017 Share January 27, 2017 Subaru spec of 240hp is crank hp, power at wheel will easily loss 30%, especially with the CVT gear box. With Ecutek tune will get about 220whp on 98 fuel. So crank power will be about 280hp. Bro can share more about Ecutek? Where to do, how much it will cost. Other than more power delivery, what else can it do? Warranty? fuel consumption? Happy CNY to all brothers! Huat Ah!!!! ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...