2015 Forester 2.0

subarudreamer

Firstly you can lighten some load to improve FC. First to go is the useless and bulky spare tyre. Keep it in your store room to collect dust.

Secondly try to lighten your foot lah. Dun press so hard, pedal will pain you know?

Last choice, buy new car like Vezel or Prius or Mazda 3 where you can easily hit > 13km/l.  [laugh]  [laugh]

Seriously can consider option 1. Who changes tyres on the SG road nowadays? and with so many kayu drivers in SG, I am not going to take chance with my life to change tyres on road shoulder. <Just ask those motorists in the BKE seeking shelter from the rain>.

I try keeping light feet on pedal but cannot lah [rolleyes], anyway i will try to keep tyre suggestion in mind but i am quite alright with the fun i am getting out of the car (if can save more petrol, it is plus but i knew what i was getting into when i bought it  [sweatdrop] ).

sorry. I see you are a proud owner, not answering to my qns specifically, influencing a few to be like you. While I do see few others replying with a good mind unlike yours. Am I spitting onto your fxt? If you deem as a yes, I had said sorry early in the beginning.

Calm down sir, maybe he didn't gave you direct answer but he was trying to tell you to calculate your sums as it is not going to be cheap. If you are driving 70-80% on highway then you will get optimal fuel usage, if you are driving in city like me then you will see very bad FC.

Thanks everyone, yes I had molested the FXT at showroom and it is mental raping in my mind lately. Just that naysayers are aplenty about FC and parts maintenance. However, these people are not actual owners like you guys which have been using it day in day out, really understand what is going on with this machine, giving real quantitative feedback on it.

Thanks again, cheers.

• Dislike 1

Thanks everyone, yes I had molested the FXT at showroom and it is mental raping in my mind lately. Just that naysayers are aplenty about FC and parts maintenance. However, these people are not actual owners like you guys which have been using it day in day out, really understand what is going on with this machine, giving real quantitative feedback on it.

Thanks again, cheers.

If u wanna own a scubee,.... please dun think of FC.  if people wan FC,... go get a Nissan or a Toyota....

Scubies are for special people... who just wanna be different and enjoy driving,...  [:p]  :D

Edited by Bobucw

That's probably going to cost half a FXT more ...

Or pay for 10 years of Shell VPower..

Actually there's nothing so bad about the fxt consuming more petrol compared to other cars since it's a 2L turbo with awd and heavy body. But ppl still like to compare fc... forgetting that a fxt actually cost significantly lesser than comparable makes.

2000km a month

FC @ 11km/l

182 litres used

RON 95 at $2.09 per litre = $380 before discount or $325 assuming standard 15% discount with cc

if FC is now 8km/l (worst case)

250 litres used

petrol is $444 after discount.

diff: $119 per month or $4 per day. worth it for 240bhp? u decide.

most of the owners get 9+ km/l. so you should be spending less.If you do less mileage, that will be even lesser.

work out your sums ba.

From your calculations, worse case I will end up spending roughly 14k plus more in 10 years for petrol. If I were to buy a harrier instead of my fxt I would have spent close to 30k more up front for a mid tier spec model... and suffer with a 2L an engine lugging a 1.6 ton body...

Guess I made the logical choice when I decided to buy the fxt. It was pretty much a no brainier for me. But then ppl will still worry about higher maintenance cost and insurance cost for fxt over 10 years and things like that. Even all that add up and the fxt eventually cost as much as a barrier to own, I thought getting a fxt is still the logical choice?? Hmmm

Thanks everyone, yes I had molested the FXT at showroom and it is mental raping in my mind lately. Just that naysayers are aplenty about FC and parts maintenance. However, these people are not actual owners like you guys which have been using it day in day out, really understand what is going on with this machine, giving real quantitative feedback on it.

Thanks again, cheers.

After u have test driven the fxt then u will feel like it has raped your mind. U will keep thinking about it until u finally own it. It happened to me... My 1 year old fxt has 31k km on it and so far no problems. I've checked with the Mechanic and he says my wear and tear parts like brake pads, battery, shocks, suspension arms all in very good conditions. Brake pads left with more than 8mm, can tahan beyond 50k no problem. 3mm then need change. Battery is those old school top up water type can last around 3-4 years. Apparantly the parts seem to be pretty lasting.

After I clock 80-100k then I can safely say subaru cars are reliable. Haa. For now, I just continue to enjoy driving my fxt.

Edited by mrhan1982

sorry. I see you are a proud owner, not answering to my qns specifically, influencing a few to be like you. While I do see few others replying with a good mind unlike yours. Am I spitting onto your fxt? If you deem as a yes, I had said sorry early in the beginning.

How clear you want me to answer your question?

I did say FC = 8km/L, parts are expensive.

If you are concern about the above, then you are not ready for Subaru. I didn't say you cannot afford a car and the expenditures that comes with it. You want a 1.6T awd SUV stock dynoed 178 ponies @ wheels and wondering how is the FC?

All these are hard truths about Subaru cars and if your fartbox is sore from what I said, then no one can make you happy if u want to hear only the good news

Edited by Carhorn

Thanks again, cheers.

Honestly, FC is not that bad. My city will get around 7.5 to 10km/l. Highway ranges from 12 to 15km/l. Do remember it's 2.0 awd with 1.6T kerb weight. Vezel for instance is almost 400kg lighter.

You do get a lot for the price. Ride is quite comfortable and quiet. The only bummer is probably the CVT. Either you depress the pedal fully or use S# if you want a quick acceleration.

I also realized today, if i leave the steering wheel FXT start moving to left.

Do all FXT kena this problem? Last time i use to have Mitsubishi and never had this problem.

finally got my coe...

to senior Bros, any idea when MI will contact me? Or I have to contact them myself?

Sorry for the noob question cos first time owning new car...so NO prior experience before.  

finally got my coe...

to senior Bros, any idea when MI will contact me? Or I have to contact them myself?

Sorry for the noob question cos first time owning new car...so NO prior experience before.  

If you can't wait, just msg your SE to get them to check on when you can register and get your car.

The SE will need to be informed by the bidding team on whether you got your COE.

If you can't wait, just msg your SE to get them to check on when you can register and get your car.

The SE will need to be informed by the bidding team on whether you got your COE.

Thank you Sir!

I also realized today, if i leave the steering wheel FXT start moving to left.

Do all FXT kena this problem? Last time i use to have Mitsubishi and never had this problem.

I went to a renown wheel alignment shop in AMK. He told me stock alignment got problem. If he owns a Forester, he will align straight after getting the car. I had align mine and base on my butt feel the car handles better especially in high speed corner.

Edited by Undertaker_s

maybe you should wait for the new harrier turbo 2.0 coming in july, fuel consumption should be better and more reliable.

NA Harrier already 20k more ex than FXT.

Expect the turbo model to cost a lot more.

2000km a month

FC @ 11km/l

182 litres used

RON 95 at $2.09 per litre = $380 before discount or $325 assuming standard 15% discount with cc

if FC is now 8km/l (worst case)

250 litres used

petrol is $444 after discount.

diff: $119 per month or $4 per day. worth it for 240bhp? u decide.

most of the owners get 9+ km/l. so you should be spending less.If you do less mileage, that will be even lesser.

work out your sums ba.

Yah. My average FC for the past 1yr is 9.5km/l.

All others similar power SUV will cost at least $100k more.

Gotten COE as well. And the count down begins. According to SE, registration date and actual handover date will be 2-3 days difference.

Informed SE I will not tolerate anything that is more than 2 days. She says will try her best to meet this.

What is the usual difference that most of you have experience?

Hi Guys,

I just got my COE too :)

I am sourcing for inner door scuff plate for the Forester. 

The ones that I saw at Aliexpress, Tao Bao etc seem to be only the aluminium type which I am not fond of.

I am  wondering if there is there any accessories shop that can so a Wrap ( Carbn fiber perhaps ) on the inner door scuff plate.

The stock cover is made of hard plastic. 

I have heavy traffic on weekday sending Kids to school.

Kids will be kids. No matter how much you try to control, they will still tend to step on the plastic cover and cause permanent scratches.

Any kind advice will be much appreciated.