Overheating

R220

I've had enuff of my car! I've tried all kinds of coolants available and flushing the radiator but to no avail! it still overheats! The problem is so bad that whenever i go to work in the morning, my car will overheat! too long Q at traffic lights - Overheat!, go up slope to carparks - overheat! Even stationary also overheat! the obly way the car doesnt overheat is driving when there is no jam and driving at night or during rainy weather. I am thinking of changing the whole head gasket if the problem persists, anyone with the same experience or encounter such problems before? any advice is VERY welcome :) BTW i am driving a 220turbo(rover)

Edited by Admin

Sounds like a seriously clogged radiator to me. Maybe u would wan to check these out. These are from my past experience with old cars

Q :

1. When your car overheat, does the radiator fan comes on? (with aircon off)

2. When your car overheat, try to press the top radiator hose (very hot!!) is it hard?

3. When your car is cold (morning), take out the radiator cap, start the engine, pull the throttle cable slightly, did u see coolant gushing out from the refilling hole?

4. When you go on high speed ie. >120km/h, does it overheat?

A:

1. If No, fan dead or relay dead (smack the relay box if u know where and see if fan comes on)

2. If hose is hard - Thermostat is okie. If hose is soft, thermostat might be jammed

3. If no water gush out, even with full coolant level, u have a weak water pump

4. If overheat - Radiator is choked - sent radiator to radiator shop for flushing.

I suggest u to do a minor cooling system overhaul.

1. Send radiator to clean (ask ur mechanic if u dunno, does the trick everytime)

2. Change a new Thermostat (less than $50 for R220)

3. Fan should not be weak or slow unless your car accident before. Its either dead or working

It sounds like a clogged radiator to me. Nothing fancy, same experience before. Those flushing solution dun work, I suggest u give up. U need radiator specialist to tear out the top and bottom radiator head cover to remove all the rust with special tools.

R220, Sad to say, I think you need to do top overhaul to solve this problem. The cylinder could have been warp a little, so you have got this overheating problem. The cylinder head's water jacket could also be corroded.

Of course you can try cheaper alternative like water pump, radiator, etc....

In your car, I suggest you remove the thermostat (permanantly), then run you car up to operating temperature with the radiator cap removed, get someone to rev you car say 3000rpm, look at the radiator water.

If it over flows, the radiator is choke. Otherwise, the its O.K. and its the cylinder head.

Hi R220

Flushing the radiator with just tap water pressure is difficult to remove the scales and deposits. The best way is via a radiator-flushing machine. A cheaper alternative is to use a compressed air water blasting gun .

Unless you have to keep on filling the radiator or expansion tank daily or weekly and there is steam or white smoke coming out of the exhaust, I do not suspect the cylinder head warp or gasket damage.

Do inspection on the fan belt for wear and tear, coolant colour for rust and overflow, coolant top and bottom hose for lost of rubber tension. Coolant system flow temperature and thermostat condition can be check by using a non-contact infrared thermometer.

Due to aerodynamic in design most of the European cars have very compact space in the engine bay. Due design constraint, most engines are mounted slightly higher then the radiator top hose. This results in air bubbles being trap in the cooling system when refill with coolant. Even with air bleeding point located at the highest point of the cooling system, it is stilling time consuming and difficult to get rid of the trap air bubbles. Trapped air bubbles are poor conductor of heat and that in turns cause overheating.

Sorry for keeps on mentioning the use of specialty tools. Most of the specialty tools are only available in professional shops. What I want to stress is that if the cooling system problem refuse to go away and after DIY on simple replacements it is best to get professional help to save time and money.

HTH

post-8-1011504329_thumb.gif

post-8-1011504330_thumb.gif

Q :

1. When your car overheat, does the radiator fan comes on? (with aircon off)

Yes

2. When your car overheat, try to press the top radiator hose (very hot!!) is it hard?

Will try that when it overheats

3. When your car is cold (morning), take out the radiator cap, start the engine, pull the throttle cable slightly, did u see coolant gushing out from the refilling hole?

Will try that

4. When you go on high speed ie. >120km/h, does it overheat?

No

I have sent my radiator to those radiator specialist and its still the same thing, i will try changing the thermostat, thanks for the info :)

I didnt check the water pump , the last time i told my mechanics bout the problem they seem to check everything and still couldnt find the problem. I will ask them to check the water pump for me.

Remove the thermostat permantly? can meh? then i wouldnt be able to tell the temperature liao. What will the reading inside the car be? Always at C?I will stilll give your method a try :)

Speciality tools are abit too expensive for me at the moment leh:) and i dont really know much bout cars to use them on my car yet. I would rather send the car to a mechanic then trust myself hahaha

I think what he means is to bypass the thermostat when hooking up the fan circuitry so that the fan will be permanently on. My uncle's Rover 416 had a similar problem of the fan not cutting in until the temperature was very high, and it happened even with a new thermostat. So I got the mechanic to bypass the thermostat and leave the fan permanently on....you will still be able to read your temperature gauge inside your car. [cool]

The downside of doing this is that your fan's lifespan is shortened, but its anyday much cheaper than overhauling the engine! [shocked]

I am referring to the mechanical thermostat in the engine block. Its not difficult to remove. Since you got over heating problem, you think after the removal of the thermostat, the temp will stay at C or not ?

I guess you wish it will stay at C rite ! This is only a temporary measure and hopefully go through the last few good years.

If your thermostat is stuck closed than the overheating will definitely occur once engine is warmed up and idling prolonged, try changing the thermostat, it's the cheapest fix for starters. [;)]

suggest u test thermostat for opening b4 changing.

If your thermostat is stuck closed than the overheating will definitely occur once engine is warmed up and idling prolonged, try changing the thermostat, it's the cheapest fix for starters. [;)]

Pot of water, with thermostat.

Dun let your mother/wife/SO see u use the normal cooking pots, flying pots can be hazardous to your health.

how to test? heat with lighter or stove? [:p][laugh][laugh]

Pot of water? how to test? i am not very sure about cars:) sorry. I am just those know how to drive and dunno sxxt about cars type of guy. Actually regretted buying a turbo car, was looking at the 216coupe because i liked the shape and ended buying a 220 haha

If you have tried all the suggestions and does not work, I have only one. Check you radiator fan when it is turning, make sure that the air is blowing in the right direction. that is the air should not be blowing out but into the engine compartment. Had a friend whose alfa, wire was connected wrongly and the fan rotate the opposite direction. only discovered after all the cleaning and leak check.

Edited by Sky8807